1995 Toyota Corolla DX Station Wagon 1.8 liter from North America

Summary:

I will continue to buy Toyota vehicles because of the quality and longevity of their cars

Faults:

Radio knob came loose and was lost recently.

Some rust on rear fender wells and rocker panels in 2004.

Rear windshield washer repaired under warranty.

General Comments:

Interior and exterior are very good quality for the price.

Very good to excellent gas mileage.

Good heat, defrost and traction for cold Maine winters.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2005

1995 Toyota Corolla DX 1.8 from North America

Summary:

Most reliable car on the road

Faults:

First 200,000 miles were flawless!

Starter at 200,000 miles.

CV joints, half-shafts at 330,000 miles.

Transmission fluid leak from main seal at 350,000 miles. I have not repaired the leak, so add about a pint of transmission fluid per week.

General Comments:

This is the most dependable car I have ever owned. Just routine maintenance performed and it runs flawlessly on a 100 mile drive every day. I will buy another Toyota, either Corolla or Camry, though I don't think any new car will be as good as this old Corolla.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2005

29th Jun 2005, 19:18

Some think 1994 is not so old. I like 1987 model years.

1995 Toyota Corolla 2.0 SRD Liftback 2.0 diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A surprisingly pleasant and very clever car to own, which I could warmly recommend to anyone.

Faults:

Transmission-box brace was rusted off at the beginning, causing the transmission to sag (the car was bought in Scotland and had been parked on a main road for two years without being driven at all before I bought it).

The CD-player sometimes doesn't like CD's and spits them back out.

Other than that, this car has been remarkably trouble free.

General Comments:

This is my first Japanese car. I have driven mainly German and American cars in the past, and was attracted to the Corolla by the very positive reputation it has as a reliable commuter car. I found it to be precisely that, and a lot more pleasant to drive than I had anticipated. I have owned BMWs and Cadillacs, but I can say that I feel perfectly well accommodated in my little Toyota, which even seems to have a faint similarity with American cars in that it offers the same, American-style, overpowered power steering and light, sensitive controls.

The materials used inside do seem a bit tacky and "pachydermal" in style, and the ride manages to be both wallowy and bumpy at the same time - but then, this isn't a Cadillac after all.

It certainly is an interesting choice for an enthusiast of the obscure, individualistic car, when such a person needs a reliable commuter car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2005

1995 Toyota Corolla 1.6 Gasoline from North America

Summary:

Didn't get what I paid for!

Faults:

Exhaust manifold blew just after purchase.

Rattling in drivers door, can't find it.

Rear view mirror rattles.

Water pump leaks.

Key won't open trunk.

General Comments:

Handles great, steering is near flawless.

Comfortable, but can be a little noisy at high speeds (70+)

Smooth ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd February, 2005

4th Feb 2005, 18:25

Well, what DID you pay for?

18th Mar 2009, 17:52

My boyfriend's 1995 Toyota Corolla has similar problems... the car is loud, the key does not open the trunk, and he has spent hundreds of dollars repairing the exhaust and it is still loud... the paint is bad... etc.

Different places give us different stories... the latest one is that the Toyota dealer service center feels the transmission is on its way out, but he only diagnosed this based on a noise it makes... and he seems all to eager to help us get rid of it. .. so we don't know what to think, who to believe, or what to do.

1995 Toyota Corolla GLI Limited 4A-FE, 1.6L 16v EFI from Pakistan

Summary:

Power, Luxury, Reliability all in one

Faults:

Driver Side Electric Power Window failed at 60,000.

Rattling Noises from the interior at 60,000, which happened to be missing/broken door upholstery clips.

Muffler assembly at 70,000.

General Comments:

Very Reliable.

Never left me en-route.

Asks itself for any wearing out part/ service, well in time provided you understand its language.

Very economical, besides being powerful.

Comfortable in its class of vehicles.

Fit for driving in my country's road and tracks conditions. I call it jeecar (jeep cum car).

I love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st February, 2005

1995 Toyota Corolla Sportif 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

I can only but say that for reliability you cannot go wrong with this car

Faults:

Rear stabilizer rod bush.

General Comments:

This car has offered me total reliability. I have been travelling 130 miles a day through a combination of city traffic and motorway miles for the last 3 years in this car, and have never once had it fail on me in any shape or form.

I have a small noise coming from the back attributed to the aforementioned bush, which I need to replace, but it's not a concern.

Maintain a regular oil change and you will not go wrong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2004