1995 Toyota Corolla XL 2.0 diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Thrash proof, but dull

Faults:

Just a flat battery.

General Comments:

My dad gave me this last year as my first car.

It is very boring and very slow, but seen as it was free who am I to complain?!

It has never let me down even though I thrash it like crazy down country lanes and trying (!) to win at the lights.

It seems to be built like a tank, no matter how many times i've driven into things it still won't dent, but the bumpers are very poor as they seem to scuff easily.

The insurance is very high for young people (but I guess that's the whole point!).

Plus the police never expect to see a speeding Corolla where I live so there's another plus point!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2002

1995 Toyota Corolla GLi 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A family car which can take abuse

Faults:

Steering vibrated at high speed because the tracking was off.

General Comments:

This car has been thrashed in the last few months with no problems. Lack of torque in fourth and fifth mean you often have to drop from fifth to third to get the revs high enough for overtaking. I can get 61mph in second and 87mph in third. Will hit 112mph at 7,000rpm in fifth.

As a saloon car it handles well over jumps and corners. It is quite easy to get the back of her out for "fish tailing" around corners, but with 175 tyres you have to be cautious.

This is a very dull looking car but has reasonable performance and excellent fuel economy (even with the taco needle spending most of it's time in the red).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2001

1995 Toyota Corolla DX 1.8 from North America

Summary:

A comfortable cruiser

Faults:

Timing belt normal replacement at 60000.

General Comments:

The car is a pleasant car to cruise.

I have driven this car in over 20 states and 5 provinces of Canada.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2001

1995 Toyota Corolla XLi 1.3 petrol from Greece

Summary:

Reliability - 100 percent

Faults:

Mechanic parts - NOTHING.

The problems I have had in five years were the electric windows. Both of them. If the mechanism breaks down, you need a new one, but if you know some things, you can fix it by yourself (I did).

Oh, the alarm too. It began to sound for no reason. But I found out that these two parts, and the A/C, were not installed at the factory, but here in Greece.

General Comments:

As known, Toyotas are some of the most reliable cars worldwide. I haven't done a service for 30.000km, and it was still running without any problems at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2000

7th Jul 2002, 12:37

Toyotas are great cars, but as the son of a Toyota master-tech, I'd recommend getting it serviced more frequently to extend the life. My '85 Corolla was running strong at just under 300,000 miles.

1995 Toyota Corolla 1.6 from North America

Summary:

I got a lemon this time

Faults:

Radiator after radiator, I don't know why but the car just goes through them constantly.

Axles keep wearing out.

Transmission acts crazy in cold weather.

A/C is weak and kills the engine.

General Comments:

I had a 86 Corolla that got extreme high mileage on it with no problems, but I must have gotten the one bad Corolla because this one is a heap of trash, I can't wait to trade this sucker off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th August, 2000

11th Oct 2006, 05:22

Don't blame the car. It was mistreated at some point in its life. You should get reliable mechanics to work on your car! Don't be stingy when it comes to maintenance and your Corolla will serve you well.

11th Oct 2006, 08:44

It appears that the reviewer purchased the car new.

There are "lemons" out there. Very rare with a Corolla, but apparently possible.

15th Nov 2006, 20:51

If you were to keep the car I would try changing the antifreeze and the have the tranny fluid changed, that might help if you keep the car, or for the next person to own it.

1995 Toyota Corolla SE Limited (Jap Import) 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Faults:

Nothing at all!

Corolla has come top 4 years out of 5 in JD Power Survey.

My dad's 1991 Corolla did 89,000 miles with no problems whatsoever.

My uncle's 1988 Corolla has just had its first exhaust changed at 112,000 miles with no other problems.

Only problem with the UK cars is that they are a little bland - that's why I go for the imports ....

General Comments:

This is my 3rd 'SE Limited'. All were personal imports from Tokyo. My friends keep persuading me to sell them my cars - but this one is staying !

This is the ultimate 'standard' Corolla. Similar to UK Executive model, but with AirCon, Climate Control, Alloys, CD Player, Air Purifier, Better Seats, Anti-car-jacking remote locking, Better heater controls, etc etc...

Service parts are the same as UK 1995 1.6Gli, as are most other parts. Really obscure parts may need to be imported - but I'm not expecting to need any for a while as my car has a mere 12,000 miles on it.

Can't even hear it on tickover ....

I'd recommend an imported SE Limited over the equivalent UK spec. Mine cost about £6,500 all in - similar UK car with 10k on the clock would be £7,500+ without the air-con etc.... go figure ..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st December, 1998

16th Mar 2001, 01:34

Yes, strongly agree with you. I hate this worldwide production of Corolla. Now the worst thing is they have different looks in different places. The Japanese Home Version of Corolla is the perfect Corolla, I think. Although I do not like the current cheap looking Corolla Model. I think Toyota is now slowly destroying Corolla's Image, by producing poor quality Corolla.