1997 Toyota Corolla Reviews - Page 5 of 11

1997 Toyota Corolla DX from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Basic Transportation

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

This is a very economical car.

It looks plain, but it does its job right the first time.

It actually handles quite nicely.

It is comfortable and there is plenty of room.

The trunk is reasonably sized, though it would be nice if it were a bit bigger.

I truly like this car and I recommend it to anyone who does not want anything with frills or fancy gadgets, just a simple type of car to get in and out of traffic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2007

4th Jan 2008, 20:58

I am the initial reviewer. I have bad news. Just recently I was hit on the highway. The car suffered more than its worth in damage. Even though it was not my fault, if I chose to use the money to fix it, the car would never be the same so I sold it one day after New Years Day. I was sad to see it go. It was my first new car.

1997 Toyota Corolla CE from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carDodge Stratus

Summary:

Perfect for the Practical! Corolla equals no worries

Faults:

Needed tire replacement and standard maintenance.

General Comments:

Low repairs, great gas mileage, dependable, etc...

For those of us who are looking for performance, reliability, and just getting from point A to B; this is the car!

If you want a lot of comfort and extras, don't bother.

We have no reservations about passing this car to our daughter next year.

I love Corollas and am staying with them!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd May, 2007

1997 Toyota Corolla XL 1.3 from Philippines

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 kilometres
Most recent distance75000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Van

Summary:

Good!

Faults:

The secondary clutch and the clutch master easily gets worn out. The electrical wires especially on the auxiliary fan for the air-conditioner easily get damaged.

General Comments:

This car, probably,has the most quiet engine I've ever had. Though it is not a power steering car, the steering wheel is soft. It is fast and very reliable on long distance driving. However, the windows and door mechanism must be improved.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2006

1997 Toyota Corolla DX 1.8L from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8L Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Nova

Summary:

Perfect reliable, low-cost commuter

Faults:

Only routine maintenance items like brakes, tires, and oil changes.

General Comments:

The upside - Bought this Corolla DX brand new and it has been absolutely reliable for 9 years. Outside of routine maintenance, I've never had it in the shop.

The ride is comfortable, seats are good, and noise levels pretty low for an economy car.

Gas mileage is excellent, I get 33 in city and 40 on the highway - with a 4-speed automatic!

Near perfect about town and commuter car. Everyday operating costs are about as low as any car could be.

Performance wise, it is fairly mediocre, but it has a bit of spunk. In '97 Toyota was putting in a sway bar, which improved handling over earlier models.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th August, 2006

1997 Toyota Corolla CE from Japan

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

" The car for 16 year olds who are just starting to drive, or the perfect college student car!"

Faults:

Not one thing at all!!

General Comments:

When I got this car back in 2003, it belonged to my 81 year old grandfather who drove it gingerly. It's white, and the body still looks like it did when he got it back in 1997, which is like new! Even the blue interior still looks like brand new!

The reason for buying the car? Well, my 1991 Corolla had 185,000 miles on it, and the motor went, so I got my grandfather's car. Before he went into a nursing home, he sold me the car for just $6000.

I still have the car, and not one thing is wrong with the car. It runs great, handles great, and is great on gas!

So if you are in the market for a great car that's great for a first time driver, or as a car for the kids that are just starting to drive, or just need a second car that can easily be used as a commuter car for city driving, look no further! You cannot go wrong with these cars! And they are very dependable and long lasting vehicles!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2006

1997 Toyota Corolla CE 1.6L from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6L Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Reliable as a HAMMER.. if you can forgive the small things

Faults:

Let's see, burned out instrument panel light.

AC condensor developed a hole.

Gas tank lid lost its spring thing that pops it open.

General Comments:

I got a great deal on this CE model. It has a 3 speed automatic, which was just OK, but really cried for a larger engine.

The 1.6L just doesn't cut it in USA, especially with an automatic trans & 4 doors! That is the only reason I sold the car..

This car is a reliable as a HAMMER! Always started, never died out. Change oil & fluids and filters and these cars will go 200K miles easily. I upgraded to a 1998 1.8L Corolla because it has more power and actually gets BETTER MPG than the 1997! Even with the bigger engine!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2006

21st Jun 2006, 17:26

Hammers have no moving parts.

2nd Sep 2006, 16:30

To the person who added "hammers have no moving parts":

Hence the reference, reliable as a HAMMER. *ROLLS EYES*

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 42 reviews