1997 Toyota Corolla Reviews - Page 7 of 11

1997 Toyota Corolla DX 1.8 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance172000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Mediocre

Faults:

A good little car, but with baffling check engine light problems. Diagnostics on mine show an EGR problem, although the valve and sensors have been replaced.

In a state (Missouri) where emissions are tested every two years, I wouldn't recommend owning any Toyota products.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th February, 2006

1997 Toyota Corolla Si 1.6 4A-FE from Estonia

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 4A-FE Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired167000 kilometres
Most recent distance198000 kilometres

Summary:

Reliable, but when you get a lemon, write it off or sell to the next victim, parts cost millions

Faults:

Leaking power-steering, too expensive to fix.

Burns a lot of oil, engine rebuild too expensive to consider.

Rear brakes stuck, due to faulty regulator, too expensive to even consider.

Clutch failed at 180000km.

Rust, rust and more rust, the body just fades away.

Wheel bearings whine, unable to replace due to enormous cost.

General Comments:

Although I got a lemon, I must say it is reliable. The main problem is, that when the car gets about 8 years old, every two or three failing components cost a total of the cars current value, so you can't fix it, just wait and see how long it will last. I believe this is different in Japan for example, but here in former USSR it is really impossible to deal with this car when it starts loosing pieces, the money numbers just aren't realistic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd February, 2006

24th Feb 2006, 19:35

Don't be too hard on the guy from Estonia. He apparently doesn't have the luxury of walking into Advance Auto Parts and buying a wheel bearing, one of thousands in stock, for a '97 Corolla for $23.95. Maybe he could at least repack the bearings with grease, and that might extend their life, and it wouldn't cost anything, but the time to take the wheels off. True, maybe a hose is leaking from the power steering pump, and that could be replaced cheaply with just a piece of high-pressure hose and a couple of clamps. But if it's the seal, then again, apparently it isn't so easy to just shell out a couple hundred bucks to buy a new pump. Yes, the only real choice is to absolutely baby this car to coax it into lasting as long as possible. It would be a shame to lose the use of a car because of some ancillary failure like a frozen brake pad.

15th Nov 2006, 03:14

Just bought one. Some problems with rust, some problems with burning to much oil, but that's because of the previous owners fault. On this week I'll change some parts in engine and everything is gonna be alright. Costs of repair is not so low as VW, but you have to pay for pleasure :)

6th Nov 2007, 17:01

I agree; Corolla forever.

5th Jan 2008, 13:08

Does anyone know what the capacity of this car's oil tank size is? thank you.

6th Jul 2011, 11:19

I don't care about burning oil. I had one, they're class. I beat a Celica 1.8 with one, and I knocked 130 mph out of it. Oh yeah, and I crashed it into a tree and survived :)

1997 Toyota Corolla CSi 1.6 4AFR 16v from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 4AFR 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired191000 kilometres
Most recent distance196000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

I love my little Corolla!

Faults:

Flat battery.

Problem with O2 sensor wiring degrading, practically free to fix though.

Disappointed with the factory speakers deteriorating. Although they could have been over driven by the after market CD player someone put in it.

General Comments:

Bought the car based mainly on its reputed reliability and fuel economy. This has proven to be the case. I haven't owned it that long, but it's been doing some hard kilometres, and it never skips a beat.

I'm also very pleased with its performance. It's no race car, but it's got plenty of pickup when you need it. Mine got a 2" exhaust treatment, which gives it a little more kick, and people look at you funny when they hear it growl.

I think our model is quite different from others around the world??

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2006

1997 Toyota Corolla XLI 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired109000 miles
Most recent distance138000 miles

Summary:

Never again

Faults:

This car just couldn't stay on the road, I got my car checked over almost every two months, but it slid around so many bends at 40mph was unreal.

General Comments:

This would have been a completely ideal car, if the handling wasn't so dreadful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th January, 2006

6th Jan 2006, 03:29

Try slower cornering...

3rd Dec 2008, 23:38

I've had one for 4 years and it's the best car I've ever had. It's going to kill me when I have to sell it, if I ever do!!

18th May 2010, 16:38

Lovely car, handles well.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 42 reviews