1997 Toyota Corolla Reviews - Page 11 of 11

1997 Toyota Corolla CE 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carSAAB 900

Summary:

Slow, automatic piece of junk

Faults:

Sway bar bushings.

Valve cover gasket leak.

General Comments:

This is the cheapest car I have ever seen. The original owner bought the base model and spent $500 extra to get the three speed automatic.

The Transmission is the downfall of the whole car. If it had the five speed manual it would get better gas mileage and be quieter on the freeway.

If anyone is thinking about getting this car or a Toyota in general get the manual transmission.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th May, 2002

10th Apr 2006, 19:25

Agreed, the manual gearbox is a must for these small engines. If you can't drive a stick, learn or else buy a v6 Camry.

10th Apr 2006, 20:58

3 speed autos in 1997? I think they only had 4 speed autos and 5 speed sticks.

11th Apr 2006, 09:53

Toyota, Chrysler and GM must have all had warehouses full of 3-speeds on through the nineties, because that's what they foisted upon consumers of their cheapest products.

At least Toyota offered a 4-speed, in a Neon you got a 3-speed based on the one from the K-Car!!!Why, Chrysler, why?

GM finally saw fit to invent a 4-speed for it's small car line in about 2000, there was one for the 2.4 four since '97 but that was not a standard engine.

Ford, with the Mazda-based Escort series had a 4-speed auto wayyyyyy back in 94.

Don't despair, your toyota probably still gets 30mpg everywhere.

10th Jun 2008, 06:18

The comments about GM's automatic offerings for their small cars is mostly true -- except that you could upgrade to a 4-speed on Cavaliers & Sunfires as early as 1996 on LS models equipped with the base engine. Also, a 4-speed was the only auto trans available as an option with both engines in the Saturn S series cars as early as 1991. Regards...

15th Feb 2013, 08:53

Never get an auto on any engine under 2.3L unless it's a CVT, it will be mediocre to drive at best, weigh more, use more fuel, kill any kind of performance you had, and more than likely cost you more in the long run in service and repairs. CVTs however are a different kettle of fish, with their infinitely variable ratios.

1997 Toyota Corolla XLi 'Indigo' 1.3i from Belgium

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 kilometres
Most recent distance60000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Good value, highly reliable, low cost and build quality that keeps for years

Faults:

Nothing so far, no troubles at all.

General Comments:

Excellent car overall, in looks, quality, finish, ride andsafety. Really very happy with this car and looking forward to buying my 3rd Toyota.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th December, 2000

1997 Toyota Corolla G6 1.3 16 valve twin cam from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 1.3 16 valve twin cam
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10

Faults:

Electrical problems, tracking went off twice, engine stuttering and refusing to rev higher than 3500 rpm several times, rubbers around head lights fell off.

General Comments:

A good all round car, despite pityful performance from the 1.3 4EFE engine the car is fairly nippy due to the 6 speed box with intelligently selected ratios, great handling particularly with wider rubber, parts are almost unbeliveably expensive and really dreadful dealer back up (caught service mechanics speeding in my car).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 1999

9th Jul 2003, 13:42

I think the G6 is the most reliable car I have ever driver. (i own 1 myself) I think its 1.3 engine is very nippiy, with its 6 speed gear box. hold the road like a go-cart and has all the mod cons. I am finding hard to get a kit for my car thou. but other than that, I think it is a good all round car.

Thanx Paul May

Runcorn.

8th Oct 2007, 13:09

I drive a '98 Toyota Corolla 1.3 G6 and have never had a better car; no problems at all. The rubber that lies around the headlights can be a little tricky, but you only have to keep an eye out for that.

It always starts, from -28 degrees Celsius to +40 degrees Celsius. No problem!!

9th Oct 2008, 10:49

How expensive are parts for the car? How much are we talking in relation to an alfa?

10th Nov 2008, 14:57

I own a 1997 G6, and I have had no major problems other than the gearbox has just started to syncromesh when selecting third gear. The car has 95000 miles now and apparently syncromesh is a common problem for this particular model. Other than that, it's well equipped, fun to drive and well built.

1997 Toyota Corolla GS Liftback 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

Bought new August 1997.

After having owned a Fiat Tipo, it is a refreshing change to own a car that is totally reliable. Nothing has fallen off. Apart from the first service I have not had to return to the dealer.

At this stage in the life of the Fiat, it had been returned with faults so often that I was on first name terms with most of the service staff.

While it is still early in the life of the Toyota, I have never previously owned any new vehicle with such high build quality.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd November, 1997

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 42 reviews