1997 Toyota Corolla Reviews - Page 4 of 11

1997 Toyota Corolla DX 1.8L from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired114000 kilometres
Most recent distance125863 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi N/A

Summary:

B-u-l-l-e-t-p-r-o-o-f

Faults:

Just the started blew on me once with ample warning signs. It has been an angel otherwise.

General Comments:

Extremely rugged and well built in its class for the year 1997. good paint job and strong suspension. I have had it for 2 years now and have absoltely no complains - handles all seasons well and has a sober appeal! Well Done ToYoTa!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2008

1997 Toyota Corolla SE.G 1.6 efi petrol from Japan

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1997
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.6 efi petrol Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Most recent distance124200 kilometres

Summary:

It is OK

Faults:

The brakes started to wear out at about 90000.

General Comments:

The car handles very well. It is very reliable, the interior is OK for a 12 year old car, the acceleration and economy is good, and the economy is about 12.3km/l. It has a good driving experience.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2008

1997 Toyota Corolla CE from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired98104 miles
Most recent distance139200 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Highly recommend this car

Faults:

Had to replace headlights & tail lights.

The light in the dashboard has gone out.

Nothing beyond the norm!

General Comments:

Absolutely love this car. My only issue is the growing family doesn't all fit anymore.

I am looking forward to giving this car to my daughter when she gets her license, knowing she won't have a piece of crap on her hands!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2008

1997 Toyota Corolla SD 1.6 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 kilometres
Most recent distance145000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

Exceptional

Faults:

I still have trouble with the water pump (but not a big deal, I can survive... I don't change it, no need).

I changed the washer pump (20$) and I fixed it myself.

General Comments:

It's an excellent car, I never had the problems with the cars like Toyota (my first car in Canada - I'm European - was a Dodge Caravan... a lemon, after I bought a Toyota Tercel, not only one problem and I used it one year).

With my Corolla, I know that I have to put the gas and do not forget to change the oil. It have a standard transmission... it's not a very strong car, it's a little and inexpensive car.

Two words for you, if you prefer the reliability to the comfort : TRY IT!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2008

1997 Toyota Corolla SD 1.6L 4 cylinder (4A-FE) from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.6L 4 cylinder (4A-FE) Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

At least as reliable as an anvil!!!

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong with this car.

General Comments:

If you are looking for a car that will get you from A to B, stop looking. The older Corolla's (pre-1998) are the absolute most reliable cars you will ever find.

We bought my mom's 97 Corolla a couple years ago and it has been nothing but great. The car is solid like a tank (no rattles, play in the suspension, etc.), super reliable and cheap to run.

The 1.6liter engine mated to the 3speed automatic transmission is pretty slow, but extremely reliable and shifts amazingly smooth. So far I have only done basic maintenance on this car (changed spark plugs and oil & filter and air filter). The engine does not burn or leak one drop of oil.

Personally I would recommend buying a 5 speed model though since the gas mileage is drastically better, and it has a lot more pep than the automatic. I've owned a couple Toyota's already and I will never ever buy anything else... ever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st April, 2008

1997 Toyota Corolla DX 1.8L Gasoline from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.8L Gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired126000 miles
Most recent distance148000 miles

Summary:

Toyota = Reliability!

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

This car is incredible, its reliability is amazing.

Pro's for this vehicle:

As long as you keep it maintained (oil changes, transmission fluids, other fluids), the car will run without any problems. On average I get 34/38 mpg which is awesome.

Cons:

I have found this vehicle to be a bit conservative on space.

Another negative thing, which scares me to death, is merging on to highways; it has no pickup speed. After a while I get used to the fear of death when enter a highway entrance ramp. I will drive my baby till she dies :' (

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th March, 2008

1997 Toyota Corolla XL 2.0 diesel from Belgium

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 kilometres
Most recent distance215000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Kadett

Summary:

Marvellous

Faults:

Until now, i have NO PROBLEMS with this car.

General Comments:

This car is very reliable. However, parts that have to be removed because they are used (my car has more than 200000 km) are not cheap. On the other hand, these parts are very strong and they do not fall apart before their time has come.

It is not a very quick car, but it does not need very much diesel. I need only 6 litres of diesel for 100 km.

It is also a very comfortable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2008

4th Feb 2009, 17:35

I agree with you. I have 2.0D GX 1997 which has covered 145.000 km and is in very good condition. Imported from Holland in 2002.

Had few minor repairs such as thermo sensor and semi-rings. It uses around 7l of diesel in the city, and around 6l on the open road. It is not a fast car but it is reliable and strong enough. Engine sounds nice and not too loud for a 12 year old diesel. Suspension is a bit stiff but the grip is exellent. It is still nice looking car too.

Previously I had Mitsubishi Lancer 1.5 petrol. It was good and fast but I would never go back to it. Toyota rules!

7th Sep 2010, 04:17

I totally agree! I have one also a Toyota Corolla XL which we bought from new around 1998 not 1997.

So far it has covered 207,000 km. I agree parts are a bit expensive. Mine is a 4 door saloon and a luggage boot lid costs around 300 euro! :S

I need to change it as it was rear ended :S.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 42 reviews