1998 Toyota Corolla Reviews - Page 8 of 12

1998 Toyota Corolla LE 1.8L from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance73500 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A Camry like ride...1.8L adequate.. but USA roads demand a 2.0L

Faults:

I've only owned the car for 3 months. I inherited a couple burned out instrument panel lights.

General Comments:

Previously, I owned a 1997 Corolla, and the 1998 is a completely different model. Upholstery is much softer in this year compared to the Gulag type potato sack cloth in the 97, MUCH better performance, and amazingly better gas mileage! My 97 got 24-27mpg..this gets 30-35.. remember it has a bigger engine!

The bottom end acceleration is much better in this model, and the handling tempts you to do things you really shouldn't do in a Corolla.

These cars are known to be 'noise boxes' on the highway, so don't expect a Lexus type ride on the highway.

I just did the brake pads and rotors on this.. very easy and the parts are dirt cheap. Change the fluids regularly and keep the body in good repair, and these cars will last! Lowest cost of ownership!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2006

21st Jan 2007, 00:46

I agree with you the 1.8 litter is very peppy, but a 2.0 would help. Or a more powerful 1.8 litter engine like the 2ZZ-FE engine instead of the 1ZZ-FE engine like in the corolla.

15th Dec 2011, 03:53

Never expect much in cars under 2.0L with a standard automatic transmission. I never understand why autos seem to be the norm in the US; a manual transmission wouldn't have sucked the power, and would have improved your fuel economy.

1998 Toyota Corolla from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carGeo Prizm

Summary:

I like the affordability of this car

Faults:

I have had to replace the brake pads once. Other than that I just change the oil and change/rotate the tires.

General Comments:

This car is very reliable and fuel effiecent. I would recommend it to anyone with long commutes who is interested in value.

I wish it were sportier, but that's going to have to be a different car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2006

1998 Toyota Corolla LE 1.8 ltr 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 ltr 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carVolvo 240

Summary:

LuxuryEconomy

Faults:

Some of the dash lights work intermittently.

General Comments:

I test drove several cars before purchasing my 98 Corolla. It was used, but in very good shape as the previous owner kept it really clean and maintained.

I originally wanted a Honda Civic, but could not find one that could compare to the Corolla.

This Corolla was quick, very comfortable, very quiet, loaded with luxury extras, and has been getting very good mileage.

It is a perfect commuter car- economical without feeling cheap and noisy.

I'm particularly impressed with the ride and quietness- much nicer than some larger more expensive cars I've driven.

I'm looking forward to it being a reliable, enjoyable vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2006

2nd Aug 2006, 07:44

Are you sure you have reviewed a Corolla above? Good ride and quiet, are you serious? I agree on your reliability comments (almost), but this is hardly a luxury sedan. The previous generation Corolla is something of the crudest auto I have driven (a rental for a weekend, plus a neighbour owns one). With 4 adults and luggage it becomes dangerous at high speeds. Try to do an evasive maneuver at 70 mph with this car loaded, and you'll see what I mean. Absolutely scaring.

24th Dec 2007, 03:09

Who does "evasive maneuvers" at 70MPH? Are you trying to kill yourself? At those speeds on the highway, safe driving should leave you at least 3 seconds to slow down or safely get out of the way of harm. At least in a Corolla you were able to walk away (probably drive away unharmed) and live to complain about it, have you tried any kind of "evasive maneuvers" at 70MPH in a loaded Ford Explorer, or any medium or large SUV? Or even sharp turns? You'll be lucky if you only roll over once and are not thrown out the window.

22nd May 2008, 02:29

The corolla is none of the above things. It's small, cheap and for the most part, uncomfortable. It is however, reliable and very efficient. I'm sure you love your car and you should considering how much time is spent in them. But lets not pretend that it's something, that it clearly isn't. Put bluntly, the car is for commuters or those that put practicality over style. It's a no-frills, generic form of transport. Not that it's a bad thing, I bought it for that reason.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 41 reviews