1998 Toyota Corolla from North America


I like the affordability of this car


I have had to replace the brake pads once. Other than that I just change the oil and change/rotate the tires.

General Comments:

This car is very reliable and fuel effiecent. I would recommend it to anyone with long commutes who is interested in value.

I wish it were sportier, but that's going to have to be a different car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2006

1998 Toyota Corolla LE 1.8 ltr 4 cylinder from North America




Some of the dash lights work intermittently.

General Comments:

I test drove several cars before purchasing my 98 Corolla. It was used, but in very good shape as the previous owner kept it really clean and maintained.

I originally wanted a Honda Civic, but could not find one that could compare to the Corolla.

This Corolla was quick, very comfortable, very quiet, loaded with luxury extras, and has been getting very good mileage.

It is a perfect commuter car- economical without feeling cheap and noisy.

I'm particularly impressed with the ride and quietness- much nicer than some larger more expensive cars I've driven.

I'm looking forward to it being a reliable, enjoyable vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2006

2nd Aug 2006, 07:44

Are you sure you have reviewed a Corolla above? Good ride and quiet, are you serious? I agree on your reliability comments (almost), but this is hardly a luxury sedan. The previous generation Corolla is something of the crudest auto I have driven (a rental for a weekend, plus a neighbour owns one). With 4 adults and luggage it becomes dangerous at high speeds. Try to do an evasive maneuver at 70 mph with this car loaded, and you'll see what I mean. Absolutely scaring.

24th Dec 2007, 03:09

Who does "evasive maneuvers" at 70MPH? Are you trying to kill yourself? At those speeds on the highway, safe driving should leave you at least 3 seconds to slow down or safely get out of the way of harm. At least in a Corolla you were able to walk away (probably drive away unharmed) and live to complain about it, have you tried any kind of "evasive maneuvers" at 70MPH in a loaded Ford Explorer, or any medium or large SUV? Or even sharp turns? You'll be lucky if you only roll over once and are not thrown out the window.

22nd May 2008, 02:29

The corolla is none of the above things. It's small, cheap and for the most part, uncomfortable. It is however, reliable and very efficient. I'm sure you love your car and you should considering how much time is spent in them. But lets not pretend that it's something, that it clearly isn't. Put bluntly, the car is for commuters or those that put practicality over style. It's a no-frills, generic form of transport. Not that it's a bad thing, I bought it for that reason.

1998 Toyota Corolla GLX class 1.6lt from Israel


Very reliable and economic car


The rubber dust covers on shock absorbers dried and torn away. But this is not a serious problem. A joint rubber cover on the front stabilizer rod was torn.

General Comments:

Very reliable car. All the mechanical problems I had are really minor for a car with 97000km mileage. Very quite and comfortable ride, also pretty good handling.

Also very economic on fuel, it takes 7liters per 100km.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2006

1998 Toyota Corolla LX from North America


A Corolla is inexpensive to drive and will last until you buy a new one.


The only complaint I have ever had with Toyota's are the brakes. For some reason I am forever replacing the brakes.

General Comments:

The last 4 vehicles I bought were Toyota's.

I had a 1992 Corolla before this one and I traded it in with 284,000 on it.

At that time the only major money put into this car was maintenance.

I put brakes on it and 2 timing belts.

This Corolla was a manual transmission and I traded it in with the original clutch.

The newer '98 has 178000 miles and I have never had to replace anything other than a battery and the brakes. I.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2005

4th Aug 2007, 19:37

Hi, I don't recall the 1998 being available in an "LX". There was the VE, the CE (which I have), and the LE. Never heard of "LX". Might have to push the "inappropriate" button here!