2005 Toyota Corolla Reviews - Page 8 of 10

2005 Toyota Corolla Accent 1.8 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 kilometres
Most recent distance22000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 929

Summary:

Solid buy for a small family

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car. It performed exactly how you would expect a Toyota should.

General Comments:

This car is an Automatic and is not near as good as the manual.

I had an accident in it and was surprised to see that there was very little damage to it.

Finish is not anywhere near as good as the Japanese version of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2006

26th Oct 2006, 04:07

But your car was built in Japan. Corolla's haven't been built in Australia/New Zealand since the late 1990's.

29th Feb 2008, 05:33

Some people just haven't got no clue about cars.

24th Mar 2009, 23:44

Aren't most of the Australian one's built in South Africa?

2005 Toyota Corolla LS 1.8L from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance21200 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Excellent buy, Value for your money

Faults:

There is absolutely nothing wrong with the car. I have had the car for almost 2 years now and there has not been a single problem.

General Comments:

All I have done is to make sure that I get the oil change done every 3 months or 300 miles, which ever comes earlier.

I have also gotten the tires rotated every 15000 miles.

Other than the regular oil change, the car is running smooth as ever and in-fact I am getting a better gas mileage now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th September, 2006

2005 Toyota Corolla 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Previous carCitroen Xantia

Summary:

In general quite a bland car which doesn't have much to boast about

General Comments:

I only had this car for about 6 weeks as a hire car until my company fiesta arrives (now driving a Honda Civic).

Although I can't give anything detailed about the car I thought I would at least share my thoughts.

The looks of the car on the outside are quite plain, but the front end isn't too bad, inside its very bland and basic (I had the mid range model), things seemed very cheap and tacky including the silly location of the steering wheel controls for the CD Player.

The car at speed (over 70) is quite scary and actually starts to wobble slightly, in doesn't hold the road to well also.

Unfortuantely it was a petrol Automatic with just under 20,000 on the clock (I added about 2,500) and it absolutely guzzles petrol, 350miles for the light to come on compared to my 550miles Xantia.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th April, 2006

30th Sep 2006, 16:12

That's too bad that you got yourself a Corolla with some computer problems, because every other Corolla I've ridden in is quite good. You also stated the car has a 1.6 liter engine... since when. I have never seen a late model Corolla with anything other than a 1.8 liter, and they run very strong. My '05 Corolla with an automatic has gotten as high as 43 miles per gallon with the A/C on, and averages 31 around town. I do have a question, what is a Citroen? Is that a bicycle or one of those 3-wheeled motorcycles with two wheels in the front and one in the rear with a two-stroke 125cc engine that so many UK people drive? Just curious.

13th Jan 2007, 19:17

A Citroen is a french car.

14th Jan 2007, 09:47

I think the poster may also be referring to a Robin Reliant, although the wheel configuration is reversed (one up front, two in back).

2005 Toyota Corolla from North America

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Good car, but scary on wind.

Faults:

Car is unsafe in rain or wind, and is not good in snow.

General Comments:

I highly recommend this car. It is much better than my previous car Ford Escort 97.

- Very nice looking.

- Good gas mileage.

- Reliable car

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2006

13th May 2006, 22:15

I live in one of the prairie provinces in Canada. We get quite a bit of snow in the winter, rain in the spring, and there are a lot of gravel in the country back roads.

I own a 2005 Toyota Corolla CE & found that the handling is comparable to other vehicles during our snowy Canadian winters. We had a heavy dumping this past winter and my car performed on par with any other vehicles that I have owned in the past. The Corolla performs alright in the rain, but the gravel is something to be desired - at reduced speeds, it's handling is decent.

In addition to this, I found that the Corolla to be very reliable - even when I forgot to plug in the block heater overnight when the temperature drops to -25 degrees Celcius. The car started with no hesitation - whereas my previous ones did not.

It doesn't have very many bells and whistles - it's a very practical car, very reliable. Overall I am happy with it.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 33 reviews