2005 Toyota Corolla Reviews - Page 9 of 10

2005 Toyota Corolla LE 1.8-liter DOHC 16-valve VVT-I from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8-liter DOHC 16-valve VVT-I Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired24 miles
Most recent distance4300 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Great Car minus the LOUD WHISTLING

Faults:

Everything was flawless except for one thing. After about 4 months of owning this car and everything is working great... at about 70+ mph... I would get a loud whistling that sounded like it was coming from the top of my windshield or my sunroof... so I opened the sunroof and the sound was still there... so I determined it must be coming from the top of my windshield... I never reported it, but other than this minor problem I'd buy this car again and again.

General Comments:

Great car, the LE looks very luxurious for its VERY economical price. The engine is a normal engine... no thrills, but I'm definitely not embarrassed to pop my hood. Has a lot of custom potential... If I wanted to change anything (lights, etc...) there's parts everywhere.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2006

2005 Toyota Corolla S 1.8L from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired19 miles
Most recent distance4000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Good Honda Civic Replacement

Faults:

Nothing so far, but the car is still very young. Though the interior quality seems high, I've noticed the moulding doesn't like to make a snug fit in a few areas. No rattles yet, but this may lead to rattles eventually??

General Comments:

After owning a 2001 Honda Civic lemon and putting up with a very callous dealer, I have vowed never to trust another auto manufacturer again. I am trying to find things wrong with my 2005 Corolla and so far, it's been a real challenge.

Very easy to change the oil since oil filter is located at the very front of the car.

5th gear actually behaves like an overdrive. You can cruise at 60mph in 4th without burdening the motor much. Clutch and shift action is very smooth too.

Smooth and quiet unlike the very harsh ride of my 2001 Civic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th December, 2005

9th Jun 2006, 08:28

I agree with you on the way that the interior molding dosent quite line up on these cars. I guess its no big deal unless it causes problems down the line, but I would have expected a bit more from toyota.

2005 Toyota Corolla 1.4 D4D from Italy

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.4 D4D Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2 kilometres
Most recent distance2500 kilometres
Previous carLand Rover Freelander

Summary:

SUPERB!!!

Faults:

I've only had it 3 weeks, so nothing.

General Comments:

We are so pleased with this car. It feels like something far more expensive - you just know it is going to last.

We get 58mpg (around 5.2lr/100km). Performance is good, not great, but comfort and economy are very good. You just can't tell it's a diesel, only when outside, it's so quiet.

I went into the garage to buy a Yaris, but hated the interior - the Corolla is a completely different level. We just love driving it. Forget A2 and C class for nearly twice as much money - this does it all - better. And with 5 years guarantee!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2005

5th Nov 2005, 09:42

I was about to yell at you saying a gas powered corolla doesn't get 50mpg when you said diesel. Good choice dude. ;)

Wish we had those corollas as deisels over here...

18th Apr 2006, 13:31

Had this car since October now and it has been faultless. If you are thinking of buying a focus, Astra... Don't BOTHER. I have done 25,000km in 5 months and it is a brilliant car in its class.

2005 Toyota Corolla CE from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance350 miles
Previous carGeo Geo Prizm

Summary:

I couldn't be more pleased!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong so far!

General Comments:

I love my new Corolla. It gets great gas mileage on the highway (39 mpg for me).

The air conditioning is ice cold and gets cold quickly when starting the car.

The CD player is perfect for me. I'm not a music buff, but the sound and overall quality seems good. I can clearly hear my music while driving on the freeway.

The interior is simple, but relaxing. Its easy to use.

My only criticism so far is how easily the wind on the highway can be felt. I'm sure the lightness of the car factors into the good gas mileage, but it does get blown around a bit.

Overall, I love this car and hope it lives up to its Toyota name and lasts me forever!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2005

11th Nov 2005, 05:23

We just put a deposit on a 2006 corolla sport. We drove a CE model and then a sport on a windy day and there was a big difference on the freeway. The sport held the road much better than the CE, I guess the suspension is firmer. Can't wait to get it!

4th Feb 2006, 14:57

I just bought a 2006 February 3 it's only a CE, but it is a great handling car, comfortable for me to sit in and I am 6'3".It's my first new car and I think I made a great choice. I have only heard good things about Toyota's. I was actually wanting the Scion XB only to find out they don't sell them in Canada oh well I'm still excited about this car.

10th May 2006, 12:49

Actually the S handles windy conditions better because of the lower body cladding. They (cladding panels) provide better resistance against cross winds. All Corolla models (sans XRS) have the same suspension.

I am looking to get a new Corolla very soon. I was looking at the S, but I don't like the way said body cladding looks. I'll probably go LE. The fake wood trim can always be replaced *L*.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 33 reviews