2006 Toyota Corolla Reviews - Page 8 of 9

2006 Toyota Corolla CE/SE II 1.8 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired24 kilometres
Most recent distance350 kilometres
Previous carDodge Caravan

Faults:

None it's new.

General Comments:

4 Years ago we test drove the new 03 Corolla's and loved them. Then we went out and got a brand new Cavalier. For 3 1/2 of those four years we regretted the decision. Well we just purchased an 06 Corolla CE with the SE II package which gives in addition to power locks and Air--A power moon-roof, and power windows and mags. It is metallic black and it has a manual shift. Sporty for a Corolla.

I am writing not because I have a big history with this car, but I am writing from the viewpoint of a recent purchaser.

I chose Toyota for the following reasons:

GM built a substandard automobile that I was unhappy with for 4 years. It was in the shop no less than 12 times in 20 months. At less than 80,000 km the dashboard literally shook going over bumps and the car creaked and rattled all the time. The seats put my legs to sleep.

GM was going to give me the world to get me back... I didn't want to get sucked in again.

In comparison to the Mazda 3 and Civic the Corolla lacked the pizazz, but seemed to be a better value. It offered more bang for the buck.

I am pleased with the purchase and hope I will enjoy many years of trouble free motoring and excellent resale.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2006

8th Oct 2007, 20:11

Update on this review. I wrote the above review. The car now has 43000 klm. on it. We have had no trouble with it whatsoever.

A month ago we were rear ended by an SUV doing about 50 kph. It did $7500 in damage. Amazingly the doors still opened and the car remains tight. The car is repaired, but today we traded it for a new Matrix. Toyota has another loyal customer.

7th Feb 2008, 15:38

We bought our 2006 Corolla Sport new and it now has almost 90,000 very hard run km's on it, it runs like a champ and we love it to death. The only thing we need more is cargo room, I was thinking of trading the Corolla for a Matrix so I ask you do you think you did the right thing by trading to the Matrix? Is the gas mileage the same? do you feel as comfortable in the Matrix as the Corolla? Thanks, Tim.

27th May 2010, 19:51

We did purchase the Matrix, but only kept it for one year. It had rattles in the rear during cold weather that drove me nuts. The gas mileage was a good 6-8 mpg less than the Corolla on the highway and it rode terrible. I do long highway commutes constantly. It was just a little too busy and harsh a ride for my liking.

We now have a Toyota Highlander. Much happier with it.

2006 Toyota Corolla S from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance475 miles

Summary:

Excellent for the money

General Comments:

Just purchased a 2006 "S" silver. I must say I very impressed with car. I never thought I would decide on a Corolla, but the "S" really caught my eye. For a four cylinder this car can move. Sure its not performance vehicle, but it looks pretty sweet. With price of gas these days you can't go wrong. I did over four hundred miles on its first tank of gas. The interior is very attractive. The charcoal black is a nice touch. I am six feet and the leg room is fine. Sunroof is a must!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 2006

20th Jul 2006, 11:49

Nice car. Love the ground effects. Quality stero system. Paint looks goods except it scratches and chips to easy. Otherwise a reliable auto.

17th Aug 2006, 10:39

With gas 3.25 to 3.75 a gallon you can't go wrong with this car. Nice eye candy also for the price.

31st Oct 2006, 16:40

My '06 "S" is a great deal for the $$. It is a shame the American car makers can't make this kind of quality vehicle. I also have the silver mica. I will take your advise and tint out the windows. I laugh at the gas pumps when I see the suv drivers almost have apply for a loan to fill up the tank. Did an easy 400+ miles on a full tank. As for the comments on mazdas, they look great, but will never outlast the Toyota's. Crap mechanical designs.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 25 reviews