2006 Toyota Corolla Reviews - Page 9 of 9

2006 Toyota Corolla S 4-cylinder from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4-cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance5230 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Alero

Summary:

Very reliable and fun to drive :)

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this car. It is still very new (I purchased it in October 2005) but from what I have read, I have purchased a very dependable and reliable car.

General Comments:

I purchased the "S" model because the "CE" and "LE" trims just were not that appealing to me (I really like the underbody spoilers and side rocker panels). I think the car is very well built and it handles very well in all weather conditions - the wind does push the car around a bit, but this is to be expected since the car is so small. The interior controls are large and very easy to use. This car is also very fuel efficient - I average about 29 MPG in town and close to 40 MPG on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th March, 2006

2006 Toyota Corolla S from North America

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired13 miles

Summary:

Best car I'll ever buy

Faults:

A creaking sound comes from the door can get annoying. Other than that nothing has gone wrong with this car.

General Comments:

This is my first new car and I love it. I have always wanted a corolla S because of its sporty look and its great gas mileage. I love the interior of this car it makes everything look even more sportier than it already is. For a four cylinder engine its pretty quick at accilerating and passing cars. I would highly recommend this car to anyone who wants a car that not only looks nice, but saves you $ in gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2006

27th Feb 2006, 17:36

That's nice that you love your car; I want to get a corolla too I'll be getting the red corolla S.

28th Feb 2006, 19:02

Well I would reconsider ever getting a RED car of any kind. They are Police magnets. Seriously RED cars get pulled over more than any other color.

1st Mar 2006, 19:14

I will take bland & boring & reliablility over that Jetta anyday. They have way too many problems.

2006 Toyota Corolla LE 1.8 Liter from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance200000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Faults:

Even though they "Say" you can order a Leather Trim package. It is not avaiable. This was most frustrating.

General Comments:

I just ordered a Corolla LE 2006. I am waiting for this car to be made. Since they didn't have hardly any of the options I wanted up here in Michigan. Like Traction control, Vehicle stability control, Leather Trim, JBL sound system. Very annoying. the dealership says that no one orders these things. Traction control?? In Michigan?? Come on...that is a gimmie.

I will give you more on this car after I receive it. I am really looking forward to seeing if it stacks up to what others say about the Corolla.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th February, 2006

14th Mar 2006, 23:28

Traction control in a corolla--you ask and expect too much! consider the price you're paying for the vehicle and then thank your lucky stars for what you get. Toyota makes the Corolla as a vehicle accessible and suitable for the general public. If it's that bad where you live, get a 4x4.

15th Mar 2006, 13:44

I suggest the above poster look at what comes standard on a Scion xB, a car CHEAPER than the Corolla. You'll find lots of things like ABS, VSC, and others.

15th Mar 2006, 20:04

Traction control, Vehicle Stability control are options on the Corolla. Yes they are worth the extra money. I have them on my Buicks... why not a Toyota?

What annoyed me was that they didn't have them on cars already on the lot. Why? So you buy up to a Camry. As for Scions... no way. I don't want a hip-hop car.

21st Apr 2006, 12:48

I not too sure you'd want brake actuated traction control on a Corolla or any small car for that matter. There's no benefit in paying a premium for an option that actually hinders vehicle response regardless of how much snow.

Scions are "Kiddie Cars" and Toyota may offer traction control on these vehicles to entice those who think this option will give them better acceleration off the line. In truth, it pulses the brakes only in situations where the drive wheel slips which hinders acceleration. These systems are not differential lock up or limited slip devices associated with conventional rear wheel drive.

The better choice may be a good set of ice & snow tires and common sense driving techniques.

17th Oct 2006, 15:20

Traction control is as easy as having a light foot on the accelerator. It HINDERS performance, and on a car as puny and underpowered as a Corolla you DON'T want it. It needs all the help it can get just to pull itself along at highway speed.

2006 Toyota Corolla S 1.6 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired16 kilometres
Most recent distance10000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Toyota has once again made a wonderful car

Faults:

The car is still new, but hasn't had any problems so far.

General Comments:

This car drives beautiful. We drove it up north along the trans Canada highway in January and it held the road well. It has the wonderful Toyota seats that kept us comfortable on our trip. The gas mileage was also terrific even though it is still in it's break-in period.

This car is quick and it handles very well in any road/weather conditions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2006

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 25 reviews