2009 Toyota Corolla LE from North America - Comments

12th Nov 2011, 09:23

Well then you are one of the few that continue to base their opinions solely on ratings sources, and not on actual experience.

12th Nov 2011, 12:00

Reread my comment, I stated that ratings don't bother me; that means that I don't judge a car by them. And yes, I DO go by experience; domestics have worked for me for over 18 years now, no matter what these ratings claim.

13th Nov 2011, 12:43

One of the main criteria I use in buying a used car is the reliability rating (such as Consumer Reports). I choose cars that have BAD reliability ratings because people actually believe these silly "ratings" and it drives the price of these cars down. Two of my last cars had "much worse than average" reliability ratings. Both were absolutely perfect and never had a single problem.

My current GM has a "much worse than average" rating. It just passed 100,000 miles without one single repair, not even a brake job. If that's "much worse than average", my top-rated Ford should go a million miles!!

14th Nov 2011, 06:33

Good Gosh! These Import vs. Domestic arguments never seem to stop. All the more comical, since many of the "imports" are built here in the USA, and many of the "domestics" are built in Canada & Mexico, and from parts made all over the world.

Pointless. Totally pointless!

14th Nov 2011, 11:53

You know what else is pointless? The argument of where a specific car brand is built, it's still the same car, the same company, and the same tooling... Pointless.

5th Dec 2012, 14:21

Wow, I came here because of a rattle under my 2009 Corolla, and found the heat shield is sitting on the converter. I simply wanted to find out if it was bolted on or could be welded. I sure did not expect a barrage of complaints back and forth about foreign cars vs domestic.

Did someone along the way forget the purpose of this forum?

Never did get my answer, so I guess up on the hoist it goes, and I'll trust those in the know not to screw me over. :)

6th Dec 2012, 14:57

It's also pointless as the big profits go to Corporate. Content is pointless. Who cashes the really big check in? Japan does.

7th Dec 2012, 15:31

Not sure how many times this has to be repeated, but you CANNOT run a closed economy. Many countries during the Cold War tried this and failed. In order for an economy to succeed, regardless of what they make and do, you have to have incoming and outgoing cash. Try and find a single period in the history of civilization where people did not trade with other countries, tribes, or nationalities. You won't. Even since ancient times, there has been a form of international trade.

Why should cars be ANY different? If you buy a Japanese car, well first of all there's a very good chance it's made in the USA. Most of the best-selling Japanese cars are heavily American, as in 80%+ American made content.

Guess what happens to the money you pay for a American made Japanese car? It goes to setting up new plants - including those in the US. It goes to pay those American employees. It also goes to the salespeople, mechanics, and parts manufactures who make the parts for them - again - many being American companies. And then of course some of the profits goes to Japan and what does that mean? It means that workers in their country then use that cash to do what? Why they use it to buy American, Asian, European and other products and services from around the world. If no money came into their country, then they wouldn't buy anything from us would they?

So sorry - but global trade is absolutely necessary and crucial. This is basic economics 101.

7th Dec 2012, 19:14

Sorry you never got an answer about the heat shield on your Corolla. Like most of the car, the shield is basically flimsy tin foil. You can just bend it up off the converter. My friend had the same issue (along with countless other problems) on his 2009 Corolla. He finally tired of the continual problems with the car and recently traded it for a much better built 2013 Chevy Sonic. It's twice the car the flimsy Corolla was, and gets better gas mileage. I'd recommend trading yours before it totally falls apart.

10th Dec 2012, 15:38

Being downsized twice in manufacturing, I would at least encourage buying on this side of the globe. It beats unemployment checks.

11th Dec 2012, 17:45

I totally agree with 15:38. It's amazing how unconcerned American citizens are about supporting American industry. If it's not made by an American company, it's not going in my driveway or in my home.

12th Dec 2012, 11:48

Somehow previous comments were ignored: To state that if you don't buy an American car, means you're not supporting Americans, totally ignores a couple of basic, key facts:

1: Most American cars have either some or in some cases a LOT of foreign made parts. So in reality - you ARE supporting the economies of other countries even if you buy "American".

2: Just because you buy a Japanese brand car, doesn't mean you are not supporting Americans. I would really like those making these arguments to please answer the following: If a Japanese car is designed, engineered, and then assembled in an American plant by American workers, then would you agree that the thousands of Americans who made that car are getting a paycheck? If so, are they in fact benefiting as a result?

3: As mentioned now for a third time - sorry but the world economy doesn't function as a closed economy. If that were the case, then we would be in a severe, permanent recession.

Either way, this is how the world works.

12th Dec 2012, 13:24

Well you are deluding yourself if you think that is the way the economy works.

12th Dec 2012, 17:16

Here's an example of what you are saying that presents no conflict in my mind. Buy products, to use your free trade example, such as bananas, pineapples, coffee or the like. And in turn we ship our products totally unique to us. An extreme example, but one that doesn't put all of us out of work! However import cars sold here, and then only receiving a very small cut and the big profit shipped overseas, is not growth.

13th Dec 2012, 09:26

Protectionism doesn't work and is harmful in the long run. Seeing as how Germany is underwriting bailouts to Greece, Italy, and Spain and is the major player in the EU, I find that it is in my own best interest and that of America if my next car is a Mercedes-Benz made in Germany. Wall Street shudders on reports that Germany's manufacturing and economy are slowing, and if Germany goes down, then the EU goes down and the US will follow. Thus, it's time to buy Mercedes, because we all need a strong German economy right now. You can thank me later for my selfless efforts to save the world.

13th Dec 2012, 11:40

I bought 2 Mercedes during the all about me 80s decade. I thought having imports had cachet and satisfied my ego during my mid life crisis. I am driving domestics today, and have adjusted since.

13th Dec 2012, 13:17

All I can say is perhaps some people need to really read up on basic economics 101.

13th Dec 2012, 20:37

I suspect the folks arguing on the other side either -

A) Don't get it.

B) Don't want to get it

C) Like to see their comments in print

Otherwise why would they (or he) keep beating the same dead horse with unbelievably biased opinions & half-truths?

In any case, they sure seem to have some kind of all consuming "interest" in bashing imports and building up domestics to the point of proclaiming the less than stellar Ford Fusion (a 4 cylinder Fusion at that) a "world class" automobile.

Wasn't this a car that was originally based on a so/so Mazda 6, and was manufactured in Mexico.

14th Dec 2012, 07:52

So supporting American business is "beating a dead horse?". My God, no wonder we are becoming a third world country!!

14th Dec 2012, 08:04

It's less so import bashing. More so job preservation and reinvesting all the big profits back in the USA. Not a few plants and then sending the biggest piece of the pie back to corporate overseas. In a robust strong economy, buy everything in sight. You are going to pay more in the long run.

Add another comment

Note: A Comments RSS Feed is available. New comments appear in the Members Area before the main site