2009 Toyota Corolla LE 1.8 from North America


Junk! It's a Toyota? Still junk :(


I don't say the car does not run. It still takes me to wherever I wanna go, and also it takes me once a week to the dealer shop to fix something here or there. The other thing that you do not realize in just 30 minutes of a test drive, is how uncomfortable the car is. I guess this car is for driving from home to work, as long as it's less than 10 miles!

I don't want to compare the cheap plastic made Corolla with my old Buick, but believe me that I guess I will be in the shop during the first year of this car more than what I had to go through during 9 years of driving the Buick. Funny thing is the people still believe Japanese cars are more reliable than domestics!

My next car will be a domestic, if any of them stays in business; period!

General Comments:

No reliability, no comfort, no fun of drive, just saving a few bucks on gas price! That's all a Corolla offers. Oh, and for sure the look and smell of cheap plastic everywhere.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th April, 2009

5th Apr 2009, 20:18

My thoughts exactly...

6th Apr 2009, 16:10

I recently traded in my 1998 Chevy Cavalier for a new Corolla and must agree with the reviewer that the Corolla is junk. I should have bought a Chevy Cobalt.

7th Apr 2009, 23:50

You say the car is junk, but you never said what made it so bad besides the ride.

2009 Toyota Corolla S 1.8 DOHC i-Vtec from North America


Go Toyota!! Whoooaaa!!


One small problem with the car so far, common problem according to Toyota is the front tie-rod boot came loose, and dirt and water got in, and well let's say there was some creaking sounds from the front left (driver's side).

It's a small problem, no serious damage or problem, the dealer was very nice and courteous and took the car in right away, had it fixed in no time... LOL by the time I got home actually LOL. Then I had to go back to the dealer, all they did was replace it under warranty. Easy, other than that, no problem.

OH! According to Toyota, your car will warm up faster if your heater fan is only on one or two. If you go three or four while warming up, your engine light will come on, costs nothing for the dealer to check it out.

General Comments:

The car is amazing, it's got room, is comfy on long trips, great on gas, handling is nothing less than expected, it's a Toyota!! They rock.

The new brake system is awesome, works great on ice, all season's or winter's, love it!!

Got love the Japanese for their i-Vtec motors, awesome, kicks in about 4,500 - 5,000, it'll set you back in your seat... passed two semi's with trailers in no time flat. I was impressed that day.

For a factory car it's way better than the Focus or Cobalt, and it's about the same price, plus you'll love the standard features!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th March, 2009

5th Apr 2009, 17:29

Hmmm, my 2007 Cobalt has had NO problems, not a one, and I've yet to see the dealer for any kind of service except complimentary oil changes.

Nothing falls off, no check engine lights activate if I run the heater fan too high and I don't even hear any rattles. Ohh, and my Cobalt only cost $12,500 brand new - how much was the Corolla?

The glory days of vaunted Japanese reliability are over, I'm afraid...

2009 Toyota Corolla 1.6 from Egypt


It really takes the fun out of driving


I just bought a Toyota Corolla made in South Africa. I believe they should recall this model or fix this problem.

Because when it is in automatic and when the engine shifts from 1st to 2nd, the engine chocks up for a while and then it is released (every time). I spoke to Toyota engineers and they informed me that this problem is common in the 2009 model, and that they are waiting for instructions from Japan.

I have driven BMW, VW Mazda and Honda and never have I seen such a problem. And never would I have believed that Toyota with the reputation of high quality performance would release such a problem, even if it is made in South Africa.

I will be filling a complaint with the consumer protection agency. If anyone wants to ask me anything my e-mail is noble_varieties@yahoo.com. My mobile number is +20122150578, my name is Tamer Mesharafa.

Best Regards.

General Comments:

I have no problem with the interior, it is very spacious. But the color of the seats is very boring.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th March, 2009

28th Apr 2009, 07:38

Dear Tamer,

Like Ali pointed out, the gearbox's idea is new in Egypt, so we get a bit confused. I have the car BTW with the MMT, & I have to tell you that I ENJOY driving. As a Mechatronics engineer, I read A LOT about the car before buying it, and I was also comparing it to the Honda Civic (if I went back in time, I would buy the Corolla again).

Believe me Mr. Tamer, the car has nothing wrong.

I have had the car since July, and I have done 7000 Kms with (not much because I have another car).

To ALI, the braking system is made by BOSCH as you can see on the master when you open the hood or when you remove the front tire. http://www.4shared.com/file/102201335/f8747a01/IMG_1782.html (this is MY car & I removed the tire to check on the brakes & see how much was left)

The brakes are EXTREMELY powerful, but what confuses people is the BA (Brake Assist system).

You guys need to understand that you should remove your foot from the gas pedal when the car is shifting (because you cannot press the gas pedal while shifting in a MANUAL car), so it's the same concept.

BTW ya Ali, the Corolla has a much powerful engine than the Mazda (122 hp vs 108 hp), but the Mazda has a better chassis.

If you guys need any help with the car, I would be glad to offer my help and meet any of you if you want. My name is Chadi Mamdouh & my number is 0125827412.