2009 Toyota Corolla Reviews - Page 8 of 9

2009 Toyota Corolla CE 1.8 from North America

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired30 kilometres
Most recent distance6700 kilometres

Summary:

Unreliable

Faults:

Transmission started lagging after 4500kms.

Started stalling intermittently after 6000kms.

Intermittent unresponsiveness to throttle (push pedal down and motor rpm's don't increase for about 5 seconds, then the rpms jump and transmission engages), after 6000kms.

Rough idle after 6000kms.

Car has been to dealer for repair 4 times and is currently in for repair. Attempts to repair car so far has been unsuccessful.

General Comments:

I enjoyed the car until it turned into a lemon. Now it is a nightmare and consumes too much of my time (taking in for repairs).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th June, 2009

19th Jun 2009, 03:11

Same thing happen to my Corolla. I think the new Corolla is a junk!

26th Jul 2009, 22:16

There is a probability that you have contaminated fuel.. It does not burn and that is why the response is delayed. Try using higher octane fuel and add a fuel injection cleaner. See if it will work. Then replace spark plugs. That should be the cheapest approach that I can suggest.

AC.

2009 Toyota Corolla LE 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance6600 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

Junk! It's a Toyota? Still junk :(

Faults:

I don't say the car does not run. It still takes me to wherever I wanna go, and also it takes me once a week to the dealer shop to fix something here or there. The other thing that you do not realize in just 30 minutes of a test drive, is how uncomfortable the car is. I guess this car is for driving from home to work, as long as it's less than 10 miles!

I don't want to compare the cheap plastic made Corolla with my old Buick, but believe me that I guess I will be in the shop during the first year of this car more than what I had to go through during 9 years of driving the Buick. Funny thing is the people still believe Japanese cars are more reliable than domestics!

My next car will be a domestic, if any of them stays in business; period!

General Comments:

No reliability, no comfort, no fun of drive, just saving a few bucks on gas price! That's all a Corolla offers. Oh, and for sure the look and smell of cheap plastic everywhere.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th April, 2009

5th Apr 2009, 20:18

My thoughts exactly...

6th Apr 2009, 16:10

I recently traded in my 1998 Chevy Cavalier for a new Corolla and must agree with the reviewer that the Corolla is junk. I should have bought a Chevy Cobalt.

7th Apr 2009, 23:50

You say the car is junk, but you never said what made it so bad besides the ride.

2009 Toyota Corolla S 1.8 DOHC i-Vtec from North America

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.8 DOHC i-Vtec Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6 kilometres
Most recent distance8000 kilometres
Previous carHonda del Sol

Summary:

Go Toyota!! Whoooaaa!!

Faults:

One small problem with the car so far, common problem according to Toyota is the front tie-rod boot came loose, and dirt and water got in, and well let's say there was some creaking sounds from the front left (driver's side).

It's a small problem, no serious damage or problem, the dealer was very nice and courteous and took the car in right away, had it fixed in no time... LOL by the time I got home actually LOL. Then I had to go back to the dealer, all they did was replace it under warranty. Easy, other than that, no problem.

OH! According to Toyota, your car will warm up faster if your heater fan is only on one or two. If you go three or four while warming up, your engine light will come on, costs nothing for the dealer to check it out.

General Comments:

The car is amazing, it's got room, is comfy on long trips, great on gas, handling is nothing less than expected, it's a Toyota!! They rock.

The new brake system is awesome, works great on ice, all season's or winter's, love it!!

Got love the Japanese for their i-Vtec motors, awesome, kicks in about 4,500 - 5,000, it'll set you back in your seat... passed two semi's with trailers in no time flat. I was impressed that day.

For a factory car it's way better than the Focus or Cobalt, and it's about the same price, plus you'll love the standard features!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th March, 2009

5th Apr 2009, 17:29

Hmmm, my 2007 Cobalt has had NO problems, not a one, and I've yet to see the dealer for any kind of service except complimentary oil changes.

Nothing falls off, no check engine lights activate if I run the heater fan too high and I don't even hear any rattles. Ohh, and my Cobalt only cost $12,500 brand new - how much was the Corolla?

The glory days of vaunted Japanese reliability are over, I'm afraid...

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 22 reviews