2009 Toyota Corolla Reviews - Page 5 of 9

2009 Toyota Corolla LE 1.8L VVT-i from North America

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.8L VVT-i Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Great value and no surprise econobox

Faults:

No known problems thus far.

General Comments:

The car has been reliable both in the city and the highway -- I have yet to experience any of the problems many people have complained about.

It is not either a luxury car or a sports car. It is a simple economy subcompact.

Compared to my previous Sentra (GXE-2002), the Corolla is more sedate in terms of performance -- suspension, engine response, and braking all performing less precise, but all are adequate.

It has more safety features than Sentra, quieter, and has about 2 to 3 mpg better on the highway -- Sentra gets 33mpg vs Corolla around 37mpg. City mpg figures are similar between the two.

Fit and finish seems to have degraded from the previous generation in the interior -- noting cheaper material than previous generation for LE model. About $3K more than the Sentra, but holds better resale value than most domestic vehicles.

Oil change is much is simpler to do with the Corolla -- much easier to get to the drain plug and the filter than the Sentra or any other vehicles I know.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th November, 2009

30th Nov 2009, 19:21

Thanks for an honest review. It is refreshing to read a review of an economy car where the owner does not make outlandish claims, about its power, speed, luxury or (worst of all) racing prowess.

Thanks again!

1st Dec 2009, 15:26

Lots of luck. The only two times my wife and I have ever been stranded on trips was once in a still-in-warranty Corolla and once in a still-in-warranty Camry. The dealers did fix them, but standing on the side of the road waiting for a tow truck was no fun.

23rd Dec 2009, 00:03

Original poster for this thread... update.

Just completed 1 year with the car and odometer has 18K miles on it. No problems to report. No warranty work performed. Changed oil 3 times (once by the dealer that was free and last couple of times by myself). MPG has settled to 37mpg on the highway and 30 in the city.

Not too much to brag about anything other than this vehicle has yet to let me down.

For the last poster who was stranded by two Toyota's, can you please share what caused the vehicle to fail you? It would be helpful and beneficial for others.

24th Dec 2009, 15:30

He won't answer. Although if he was stranded in a Toyota, 1 of 2 things could have happened:

1. He got a flat tire.

2. He ran out of gas.

25th Dec 2009, 11:32

Or sludging. Engine failure or trans issue.

26th Dec 2009, 19:07

"Or sludging. Engine failure or trans issue."

Ha ha, yeah, I remember when I was left stranded due to an engine failure. Lost the cylinder 4 connecting rod. Shot right out the bottom of the engine. Oh but wait, that was in my Chevy Lumina... I guess I can't blame it however, it did have an excess of 43,000 miles on it already.

2009 Toyota Corolla S 1.8L from North America

Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.8L Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance8000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Once you have a Corolla, you never go back

Faults:

Nothing yet, will keep you guys updated.

General Comments:

I think that the 2009 Toyota Corolla is a great car. This car seems to be a winner with great gas mileage and a great ride. The five speed brings a lot of fun out in the Corolla. When looking at other cars of its class, this seems to have a way better build quality (sorry Honda & Nissan). I would suggest this car to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th October, 2009

22nd Oct 2009, 05:48

Corollas are very nice little cars and I'm glad that you like yours, but a 10 in both comfort and performance? I think that might be a little over enthusiastic.

My personal experience would give a Corolla a six (or seven at best) in those categories.

22nd Oct 2009, 19:43

Original reviewer, well this is my second Corolla and to me they have a good comfort level. As for the performance, no it's not a race car or sports car, but once again for its class it performs great compared to some other economy cars, cause that's what it is.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 22 reviews