2001 Toyota Highlander Limited from North America - Comments

7th Dec 2006, 21:03

Judging from the comments on most of the Highlander reviews I'd say the people who think it is better than other SUV's have never driven another SUV. I HAVE driven the Highlander. I can't think of a WORSE one!

10th Dec 2006, 09:33

You can't name a worse one? I can name a few; the Chevy Blazer, undoubtedly one of the biggest pieces of crap on the road for many years running; a disgrace. The Dodge Durango, a fine mixture of ugliness, bad transmissions, bad motors, and bad gas mileage. ANYTHING made by Ford. The "Escape" is a fitting name for a so-called SUV that is basically a Ford car that looks a little worse and rolls over a little easier. "Escape" is exactly what you should do if you find yourself on a Ford sales lot for any reason. Did I mention how bad the Trailblazer sucks? Saying it once isn't enough. A family member of mine made the mistake of buying one of these because the warranty lured her in, and it's a damn good thing it's still covered. The thing is, you can't drive your warranty to work when your Blazer inevitably winds up in the shop. It's an '06, the paint began peeling off of the bumpers after the FIRST wash, the fan squeals and sounds like it's going to fly out from under the hood and take the radiator with it, the steering has play in it, the pads and rotors were scrap after 19,000 miles, (a problem she never has had before), the heater sucks, the doors are mis-aligned. Typical GM workmanship, which is why she will be selling it to anyone foolish enough to buy it, and hopes to buy a Honda CR-V, or a RAV-4, which are about 900% better vehicles. So is the Highlander.

11th Dec 2006, 10:24

Our family has a Trailblazer with over 100,000 miles on it. It has never had any problems of any kind. We test drove a Highlander in '03 and it was slow, rode rough, and had a very cheap feel, as well as very poor interior fit and finish. In recent months, as we've read about the numerous recalls on Toyota products for life-threatening safety issues, as well as major brake and transmission problems with the Highlander, and we've been very glad we opted not to buy one. Toyota quality is not what the ad hype makes it out to be.

11th Dec 2006, 10:35

In test driving a number of SUV's and cross-overs (the Highlander is NOT an SUV, it is a Camry-based, front drive vehicle) we found the Highlander V-6 to be dangerously underpowered (couldn't achieve highway speed on a freeway entry ramp), and to have very poor handling compared to the other cross-overs and real SUV's we drove. It was the only vehicle out of 8 we test drove that could not reach 65mph on a typical freeway entry ramp. Even the other car-based cross over vehicles we drove (Saturn Vue and Ford Escape) could easily outperform the Highlander without breathing hard.

11th Dec 2006, 10:58

Trailblazer is one of the most unsafe vehicles on the road today and you're complaining about Toyota?

Just look at the Trailblazer's roll over record for starters.

Geez!

11th Dec 2006, 11:00

We bought a 2003 Highlander in May of 2003 and it has been one if the most unreliable vehicles we've ever owned. It has been in the shop more than on the road. We are trying to sell it now so we can buy something more reliable. It WON'T be a Toyota.

11th Dec 2006, 13:13

Sounds like the Trailblazer description were pre 2002 and it was elements perhaps read off other older reviews. I have had excellent luck with my brand new GM Trailblazer and have a 100,000 mile warranty. Funny my weekly car wash has only made my black Trailblazer stay like new. There is absolutely no comparison on the 2 models. The GM far exceeds Toyota and I bought one on the spot. I have to watch mine on the interstate easily loping at 80 mph and feeling like I am at the speed limit. I have owned Hondas/Acuras, Toyotas and 2 Mercedes which only got a bit overpriced for my liking. Although the Mercedes are excellent as well with no other fault other than recent pricing. The others have slipped in quality since 2000 based on my repair incidents. I switch manufacturers no loyalty to any of them just based on what is most effective.

13th Dec 2006, 10:04

It was an educated decision... based on experience with imports.

13th Dec 2006, 10:17

I have owned a very broad cross representation of vehicles and look at both imports and domestics. My son owns an import Range Rover and has had problems even with that. One pothole he lost a air suspension solenoid last month. the entire system has to be fixed. The new Trailblazer is great... I love mine. I am not settling for an anemic powered vehicle (Toyota) at all.

13th Dec 2006, 10:33

My experience with imports was 300,000 miles and no problems. I had so much money that I wanted to burn so I bought an American car cause I saved so much on the import. Now I am broke and live in the poor house. Thank you to the people who told me I should buy an American car. The UAW workers are living fancy while I am in the poor house till I save enought money to buy my beloved Toyota back from the rich guy down the street. Thanks a lot!

13th Dec 2006, 16:08

Do rich guys buy a Toyota with 300,000 miles??? Maybe Mercedes, BMW's also imports. The average individual buys any # of domestic vehicles and many now have 100,000 mile warranties. I do not have any issue with auto workers that are working and paying taxes etc... so that we can have many services, pay for public schools etc.

13th Dec 2006, 19:43

Well, sorry you had to learn the hard way NOT to buy domestic cars. It's sad to say, but they suck. At least, unlike some people that make comments here, you actually ADMIT that it sucks and you know that your Toyota was much better, instead of being rock-headed and not willing to admit that you made a mistake. I hope you get another Toyota soon, so that you can enjoy driving something reliable and worth the money you spend.

13th Dec 2006, 23:19

If the Toyota Highlander is a "quality vehicle", my cat is a mountain lion. Anything with as many problems as the Highlander shouldn't even be considered when buying something that your family's safety depends on. Bad brakes, bad airbags, accelerators that stick on the floor and transmissions that shift erratically are NOT characteristics of a "quality vehicle".

14th Dec 2006, 05:12

Why would the writer of this review rush out and buy another Toyota? All anyone has to do is read it. I bought mostly imports up until 4 years ago. I refuse to get burned again and will share any info of my own experience as much as possible. Maybe I will cool down after a while, but for now I lost a lot of money.

14th Dec 2006, 17:57

Virtually no one keeps a car (or truck) more than 150,000 to 200,000 miles tops unless they are a company (and 99% of all companies use American cars and trucks). Any GM, Ford or Chrysler made today will easily go 150,000 miles with no problems. I don't see how you can argue that any car has better "quality" than that. Now that I'm no longer in poverty I wouldn't dream of keeping a car over 100,000 miles, and they're all under warranty for that length of time now anyway. For me to buy a car based on the myth that it might last 300,000 miles doesn't make any sense. As for resale value, that's another myth. The two imports we owned brought a lower percentage of their purchase price than our domestics did.