1993 Toyota MR2 Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1993 Toyota MR2 GT T-Bar 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance29800 miles
Previous carMazda MX3

Summary:

Best value fun on the road experience

Faults:

Power steering servo failed during very cold winter.

Exhaust cat shield rusted.

New battery at 27,000 miles.

General Comments:

Ideal, all weather open top car if, like me, you don't like convertibles.

Best driving experience ever since giving up motorbikes.

Totally reliable.

Survived some seriously scary moments in the wet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2001

1993 Toyota MR2 T-Bar (UK car) 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carNissan Primera

Summary:

Very disappointing

Faults:

Plenty went wrong in only 1.5 years of ownership (thought Toyotas were supposed to be reliable?).

Both times it needed new pads, the discs were 'scored' (400 quid) and a seized calipper made it 700.

Rusted heat shield on the catalyst.

Holed radiator - known design flaw (radiator grille is exposed).

Last straw was leaking power steering fluid - whole new steering rack - 1100 to fix.

Servicing costs OK (small 100/big 260) but only 6,000 mile intervals.

General Comments:

Basically a deeply disappointing ownership experience.

Very expensive to insure (group 18) and run (rear tyres 150 each - and they last 5 minutes).

Didn't feel 'fast' - no torque below 4,000rpm and didn't feel safe when I drove it fast - handling always felt 'twitchy'.

Noisy and unrelaxed on motorways.

Great fun for first couple of months - then the hard ride, noise, vibrations and cramped interior become a pain.

The leather seats felt great but gave me a bad back (bad driving position?)

Awful in winter - seals in the roof and doors go so the whole thing freezes solid, (including the locks) then it freezes up again while driving as the heat from the engine is lost from the rear of the car.

Was this a dodgy import? No! One owner, full history, sourced from a main dealer (Octagon, Bracknell) always serviced/repaired at a main dealer (Coxon, Henley).

I have repaced it with a Mondeo - the Ford is SO MUCH nicer to drive (honestly), quiet, smooth, as fast, reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th November, 2000

20th Feb 2001, 08:42

Very shocked to hear of such low reliability.

The cramped cockpit, noise, and hard ride etc are to be expected from a mid-engined sports car, they're designed like that! Sports cars are supposed to be like that because they are about driving, rather than comfort.

Your happiness with the Mondeo (a fine car for what it is designed for), suggests that maybe you are more suited to this type of car than a sports car?

1993 Toyota MR2 Turbo 2.0L turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0L turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance133000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

The Pocket Rocket that will never stop!

Faults:

Nothing other than the normal things, this car is great. I think my only thing I don't like about the car is how much I love it :) Oh and like all turbos you have to change the oil a lot!

General Comments:

Well after seeing one at a car show, and drooling on it for a bit, I decided it was time for a change. I got my 1993 MR2 Turbo and man does it kick butt! Now when I go out I have people drooling at me in my car. I love it. My girlfriend also loves it.

You really have not driven a fast car until you get into a MR2 Turbo. I now am starting to upgrade the car to make it even faster. I dynoed it at the weekend at 314HP!! Oh and best of all there are clubs called IMOCs in almost every state and all over the world. We do fun things like meets and rallies, and best of all tech help!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2000

6th Apr 2001, 20:47

What kinds of mods did you do to the car to get it up to 314hp?

10th Jul 2001, 19:18

From what have seen with turbo twos (MR2), he probably did the usual mods (exhaust, etc.) but most notably a larger turbo (probably HKS) and cranked-up boost.

1993 Toyota MR2 Turbo 2.0 Turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 2.0 Turbo
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong. I also own a 1993 MR2 normally aspirated. It has much more instant torque. If I fault the turbo anywhere it's in its turbo lag. But when it kicks, you know it.

General Comments:

I think MR2's are the best cars available for the money today. I highly reccommend buying used MR2's. There is no acceptable replacement yet. Best bang for the buck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 1999

5th Jan 2001, 10:08

I aquired my 93 with 123K on it, and it's a monster. Perhaps the previous owner didn't know how to maintain a turbo. Oil changes should be at 2000 MAX, and regardless of weather conditions, you can never get in a turbo and take off, or shut it down immediately. They must me gradually warmed up and cooled down to prevent damage to the turbo. At that mileage, if the car wasn't operated properly, this would describe the type of sub-par performance your turbo had. Try one in perfect working order, you'll sell that VW tomorrow!

17th Nov 2003, 05:46

The Mr2 Turbos also have a memory system built in which means the car won't boost up unless temperature within the engine is correct. E. g on a cold winter morning or when starting the car from car.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 15 reviews