1992 Toyota Paseo base 1.5 from North America

Summary:

Do unto it as you would want it to do unto you

Faults:

Had a little leak from the side of the oil pump and also the distributor. I ran the car very hard close to red line and blew head gasket or?? next day car smoked terrible. looks like I will need to buy a used engine.

General Comments:

Car drove like it was on rails (straight).i liked the thought of good reliability. but then I goofed up and ran it too hard. now it, s gonna need another engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2006

1992 Toyota Paseo from North America

Summary:

Most fun, reliable, cheap to drive car I've ever owned!

Faults:

180,000 miles had to replace starter.

General Comments:

This car is impossible to kill. It's great on gas, not too expensive to fix, which is something I've very rarely ever had to do. You won't them in the junkyard unless someone has had an accident. This is by far the best car I've ever owned and I will never part with it. Being a '92 with 200,000 miles it's 100% more reliable than my '99 VW Jetta with little over 100,000 miles on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd June, 2006

4th Jun 2006, 00:52

A friend of mine had one of these when we were attending college together, and no matter what we threw at it, it would just keep going. We were students, so we neither had the time nor will to perform routine maintenance, and yet his Paseo just kept on keeping on. Very well built little car. We miss it a lot.

31st Jul 2006, 07:30

I'm from Charlotte N.C. and I have a 92 Toyota Paseo, but I just need the fly wheel to fully fix it, but I don t know where to find that piece? But I think it's a very cool car and I hope I can fix it soon.

24th Dec 2006, 08:37

I have a 1992 Paseo, I bought it for 400 bones. When I bought it, the timing was off, and because of that I blew the engine on the way home. The body looks brand new, no rust, and it's a sporty looking car. I plan to put a body kit on it in the summer, and do a JDM engine conversion.

And to the person looking for a fly wheel, check out www.andysautosport.com; they have lots of performance parts cheap.

1992 Toyota Paseo from North America

Summary:

No regrets for my little blue!

Faults:

Replaced the brakes twice within three months, I believe it was at the fault of the break installation company, not the car itself.

Had to replace the entire air conditioning unit as there was a leak and freon was escaping. It has worked fantastically ever since. I use the air conditioning on a daily basis.

Starter went out at 145,000 miles. Went out again within three months, but was covered by warranty and has worked just fine ever since.

General Comments:

This has been the first car I ever purchased and I have no regrets! It was the perfect vehicle to get me through college- gas is incredibly cheap (I get consistently over 30mpg).

Despite my high miles I've never had a break down, and have felt confident making long road trips.

My only fear is safety in a collision- I barely bumped a cement pillar in a parking structure at work and the front end of my car sustained serious damage. It behaves as though it were made of aluminum foil!

While the car takes a long time to gain speed, it can keep up with the best of them once it gets going.

The seats aren't that comfortable, they aren't cushy and could be described as "stiff".

My taller friends have to fold themselves up like origami to ride along, though the size suits my 5'1" frame quite nicely.

The backseat is a complete joke- no one over 3" tall can sit up straight without hitting their head on the rear glass. Even though they are no good for passengers, an amazing quantity of stuff can be stored both there and in the surprisingly large trunk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2006

17th May 2006, 17:24

A friend of mine also drove this car while we were in college together. I've never seen anyone abuse a car so horribly... and I've never seen such a horribly abused car stay screwed together so well. Absolutely indestructible.

1st Sep 2006, 20:39

I just bought a Paseo and I'm very glad to hear all the good reviews. I've owned several Tercels 91', 92', 97' so I already knew what to expect mechanically. Discovering the rev-happy twin cam engine was a nice bonus! The Paseo has a 4 star frontal and side impact rating F.Y.I. Thanks for the heads up on the fragility of the body. The Tercel is like a bumper car especially in the rear. I was rear ended at a red light on a patch of ice and sustained no damage except a stiff neck for a couple of days. You should have seen the other car! A Mazda 323 the whole front end.