1991 Toyota Pickup Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1991 Toyota Pickup SR5 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles

Summary:

This is NO doubt the best truck i've ever had..

Faults:

Maintenance, that's it.

General Comments:

It's a daily driver, that climbs, tows, & cruises on the freeway, smooth & comfortable.

I gave it a 10 all around, because it deserves it.

I can't say that for the new trucks I've owned & driven.

It's Feb. of 2008, its b-day was Aug. of 1990. I'm 5' 10" & very comfortable. The seats are still in excellent condition. Everything works & works well.

The A/C is ice cold when I need it, here in the S California desert.

Its reliability is impressive, comparing once again to those new trucks. No, it doesnt drive like a car, as some trucks do. When you're in it, you know you're in a truck. No, it's not 8 ft. to the top of the cab. But good things do come in small packages.

P.S. I checked previous auto as N/A because I've owned (you wont believe it) over 200. No, it's not a Lexus, that's my other car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2008

1991 Toyota Pickup 2 x4 exd cab 22RE from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 22RE Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance183455 miles
Previous carFord F250

Summary:

Great investment

Faults:

Replaced the radiator, starter, water pump, alternator, mostly regular maintenance type stuff. Also had rear wheel bearing replace, gas tank, and one side of brake lines replaces. Some rust on the doors.

General Comments:

Motor runs perfect, burns no oil and is mostly clean when changing oil at 3,000 miles. I still drive it everwhere with complete confidience.

This truck just won't die!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2007

1991 Toyota Pickup Short Bed Regular Cab from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Utter and complete reliability

Faults:

Absolutely nothing, the previous owner took very good care of the vehicle, I changed the plugs and wires, cap and rotor when I first got it, not that it needed it, but I always do the tune up basics when I get a new car.

General Comments:

The truck has paid for itself several times over, it has been used as a daily driver/work truck for the past 2 years and has not complained once.

I bought the truck for $2500 2 years ago and have been offered that and more at least a couple times a month.

The truck gets 23mpg in the city and over 25 on the highway. The A/C blows colder than any vehicle I have ever owned (and that's a lot).

I would drive it from south carolina to california tonight if I had to.

The only gripe was the uncomfortable bench seat, but I remedied that with some 4-runner bucket seats.

I will keep this truck until I grow old and can no longer drive a stick, lol.

Kudos to Toyota for building such a wonderful and useful vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd March, 2007

24th Mar 2008, 01:37

To sell it, is to regret it!!!

27th Mar 2008, 23:16

I was offered $3700.00 as a trade in for my 1991 pickup, but was offered more than double that by a private party. Kelly BB values are a joke... Some folks would have you believe, a crappy Dodge Ram, Ford D-150, or Chevy S-10 is worth more just because it's newer. Well the blue book might say those trucks are worth more, then you can tell that to the TOW TRUCK driver, after you sell your toyo for a dog Ram.

1991 Toyota Pickup 4x4 2.4 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 kilometres
Most recent distance250000 kilometres
Previous carJeep CJ7

Summary:

Best vehicleI have ever owned

Faults:

I replaced the original shocks, ball joints and brake system at 220000 kilometers

General Comments:

Great truck.

Easy on fuel.

Cheap body parts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2005

1991 Toyota Pickup stanard cab pickup 2.4 liter r.e. from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 liter r.e. Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired57000 miles
Most recent distance354000 miles

Summary:

Rock solid reliable vehicle

Faults:

120,000 miles. Timing chain broke. Got lucky because the cylinder head is non-interference, which meant no broken valves.

150,000 miles. Clutch went out.

Between 150,000 miles and 200,000 miles, had starter go out, also water pump, heater switch broke, and blew out a head gasket. After replacing head gasket, it blew out again after 20,000 miles. I almost hauled the truck out to the gun range and used it for target practice at this point, but I'm glad I didn't. I had the cylinder head rebuilt and resurfaced, and used a copper spray adhesive on the head gasket prior to installation. I also torqued the head bolts down to 75 ft.lbs., versus the manufacturers recommendation of 58 ft. lbs. No more problems with the head gasket.

Another clutch at 200,000.

Another starter at 200,000.

Radiator had to be replaced at 225,000.

Chewed up my differential gears at 300,000. This was my fault, because I got stuck in the snow and had one tire spinning at 95 m.p.h. trying to get out. Never do this, unless you want to replace the rear end.

Finally at 350,000 miles, this truck is starting to fall apart. The speedometer cable howls like a banshee when the weather gets cold, and there are rattles and clunking sounds to numerous to mention. The engine makes a loud "thak thak thak" noise at idle. Probably the camshaft.

Other than the noise, the engine runs great, still gets 25 m.p.g. and still passes emissions.

Truly, the best, and most reliable vehicle I've ever owned.

I have no doubt the engine will make it to 400,000 miles, and at that point, I'll have to decide if I still want to keep it or not.

General Comments:

Toyota did their homework when they built these trucks. Very cheap to operate and maintain, and very reliable. They are also very small. I guess that's one price you have to pay to get the fuel economy.

I decided to buy an American vehicle for my next purchase, a Dodge Dakota.

I am cautiously optimistic after reading some of the negative reviews.

If my Dodge truck turns out to be half the truck my Toyota is, I'll be satisfied.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th October, 2004

14th May 2006, 17:19

Are you sure you're not driving my truck... LOL I love my truck as well. If I could only get the speedometer noise to go away... what's cheaper a new radio or fix the speedometer?

26th Sep 2006, 22:10

Well I'm SURE YOU WILL BE VERY HAPPY THEN...

BECAUSE a Dodge Dakota is just that, a brand new hunk of metal, that is half the truck of my 1991 Sr5 V6 Xtra Cab, slurp..

I made this MISTAKE, I bought a brand new Dakota Quad Cab. The guy who took my cashiers check said I wuote "It's yours now". I never thought about it til later. Then his voice would ring in my ears!

At 1600 miles the brakes were squealing (GRINDING). The dealer tried to get 800 bucks. Then after their embarrassing antics, resurfaced rotors & put on correct pads.

At 4500 miles the tranny would slam into gear. Dealer said "working as designed". Exactly that. I'm sure mechanics that care would love to fix em, if they could. But working as designed, is all I ever heard.

Whistling wind noise through front windshield, & drivers left rear. OHHHH, do I have to go on... in the end for me, 30k miles in 2 years & very happy to get $18,800 of 24,600 back.

Oh yeah, took off sheepskin seat covers & seats were sagging already, I'm 5'10 175lbs. The buyer loved it, it was still clean... & under warranty. Then I bought my 1991 TOYOTA V6 4X4 Xtra Cab.. Reliable of course, working as designed here means, well balanced, do I have to go on..

6th May 2007, 22:02

Final update. This truck finally keeled out at 407,000 miles. The engine is still mechanically sound, but something electronic in the computer failed, and at this point the vehicle is in such poor condition, that it is not worth the money required to fix it. Still, it was a great truck.

1st Apr 2009, 13:29

My 1991 Toyota Pickup is the best, most reliable vehicle I've ever owned in my life (not the nicest or option laden but the BEST).

Cheap to maintain, great gas mileage, 165k miles and still runs like it did the day I bought it.

It runs perfectly as my driver to work and back, which is most of my driving, while a 98 Dodge Ram Extended Cab fell apart on me with not even half the driving miles. 3 water pumps and a transmission later I sold that piece of crap and bought another Toyota. Wonder why American auto companies are in the toilet? hmm.

31st Mar 2010, 23:53

To the above comment, what is the gearing in your truck? Meaning, at cruising speed, for example 60-65, what is your engine speed?

30th Nov 2010, 11:17

I have a 1991 Toyota pick up. My daddy bought it for me when I was 15 and now I am 19.

It has been the best truck ever. He bought it for 2500 dollars and I turned down 6000 for it, it recently blew a head gasket. This was the first thing ever wrong with it :(

They are the best trucks ever!

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 12 reviews