1994 Toyota Pickup Reviews - Page 5 of 7

1994 Toyota Pickup 4x4 Extra Cab 3.0 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Liter Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired1500 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles
Previous carIsuzu Pickup

Summary:

Great truck!

Faults:

Key ignition locked. I had to call a lock smith to help me out.

Driver seat torn on bottom next to the hinge.

Factory paint job is wearing bad at 95,000 miles.

I got a fix it ticket for large tires and no mud flaps.

My high beam lights don't work (95,000 miles)

General Comments:

My truck has been very dependable. I only wish it was not an IFS. I'm thinking about converting my front end to a straight axle.

Good for hauling hay, wood and other hauling.

Compared to other trucks I have purchased, this is the most reliable truck I have had. It's great off road and very fun to drive.

Only problem I have, there is blind spot dividing the front window that almost caused me to another car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2004

1994 Toyota Pickup DX 22rei from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 22rei Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance137000 miles

Summary:

Great and reliable

Faults:

Needed a clutch due to learning on it.

Timing chain guides needed to be replaced at 100,000 miles.

Started needed to be replaced at 135,000 milies.

Seatbelts are horrible at retracting and needed to replace passenger, high cost to replace just one.

General Comments:

This truck is a great truck is very good in the snow and offroad as well as on road.

The cab is a little small for a standard cab. I would advise that a bigger person not buy a standard cab.

I Swtiched the bench seat out and put in buckets and they gave more room inside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th February, 2004

29th Apr 2004, 19:25

I was wondering what it would take to have the bench seats removed and to install bucket seats instead in a std Toyota pick up. Would any body shop be able to do that? And are bucket seats very expensive?

18th Feb 2005, 12:01

I too have a 94 pickup, and my seatbelts won't retract either. It it expensive to replace just the retractor mechanism? I figure those at the junkyard would be just as weak.

8th May 2005, 20:41

The local dealership replaced both passenger and driver seat belts at no charge in Memphis, TN.

1994 Toyota Pickup from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired127000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carToyota Pickup

Summary:

Great truck and its all what is said about it in the public eye

Faults:

The alternator was replaced at 130000. The fluid windshield pump was replaced. Small valve cover leak, had to replaced the gasket to prevent the small oil leak that was wetting my spark plugs, but the truck runs the same before or after leak. PERFECT.

General Comments:

Great truck to have. Its awesome on the snow. Mines have MEYER snow plow hooked up and never had any problem pushing full amount of snow on the plow even tho I have a 4 banger. Fun to drive and very reliable. gas mileage is also good for its age and being a truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2003

28th Nov 2003, 10:10

What all was involved with replacing the gasket to fix the oil leak, and how costly was it?

1994 Toyota Pickup from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance168000 miles
Previous carNissan 2 X 4 Truck

Summary:

This is the best value for the money I could every imagine!

Faults:

My original clutch is just going out at 160,000 miles. Since I purchased it from the dealer, I have replaced the thermostat (which was my fault) There has been no major part failure with the exception of basic maintenance and service, i.e. brakes, tires, etc...

General Comments:

My Toyota has been an exceptional vehicle in all aspects of performance.

I would buy another Toyota without question.

This truck has done everything I needed it to do and lasted thoughout tremendous abuse such as excessively high speeds for long distance and 5 years of stop and go pizza delivery!

My Nissan truck's fuel injection system failed at 70,000 miles. This truck (the Toyota) was all systems go on original everything at 140,000!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 2003

20th Oct 2004, 10:21

Hello.

I agree with your view on a Toyota truck. I have a 1994 Toyota 2wd myself. I have to say it is and exceptional truck. I drive it back and forth to work 140 miles round trip and have never had any problems with it besides basic mantainace. I am at 189k.

Pete.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 27 reviews