1994 Toyota Pickup Reviews

1994 Toyota Pickup 22re 4x2 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 22re 4x2 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance208000 miles
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Unbelievable

Faults:

The timing chain started giving telltale signs at 194k, and I had it replaced. That is a very good lifetime.

Front brake rotors replaced at 194k when they couldn't be shaved any more.

Radiator replaced at 194k when overheating became a problem.

Starter contacts replaced at 194k. Thankfully, the mechanics didn't try to tell me the whole starter needed replacing.

General Comments:

I bought this little truck brand new the day after Christmas in 1993. It's a 1994 model. No frills. No A/C. No power anything. The rear bumper was extra. I installed the passenger side mirror, cigarette lighter, and radio. I put a custom topper over the back, which has withstood the years well. I was hoping to get at least 20 years out of this truck.

Almost 20 years later, I am very pleased. My little truck runs like brand new after 208k miles. I have topped 40 MPG at times on the road. Never below 30 MPG. The 22RE is peppy enough for me as I have never had to haul anything or haul loads. It does OK in the snow, especially with a set of chains on hand.

The paint is still unblemished after 20 years. For a Fremont made Yota, I am totally impressed. I'll drive this little truck until it dies.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2013

19th Jun 2013, 08:27

If you "never had to haul anything", why would you have bought a truck in the first place?

20th Jun 2013, 11:07

You could probably ask the same question to the tons of guys driving around in huge full sized trucks every day, who also never haul anything either...

21st Jun 2013, 06:08

Umm, maybe because of the convenience of having a truck where you can chuck whatever tools etc you want in the back, without having to worry about getting the interior or boot damaged/dirty, because that's the whole purpose of a ute/pick up truck. Also being able to strap large/long items to the tray; should I go on?

21st Jun 2013, 14:31

I bought my full size just to tow my Fountain 27 on weekends. It's empty.

1994 Toyota Pickup DLX 3.0 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 3.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired190000 miles
Most recent distance230000 miles
Previous carAudi allroad quattro

Summary:

I wouldn't trade it for a brand new truck

Faults:

Starter and clutch went within a week of buying it. The latter attributable to the previous owner.

Valve covers leaked until I replaced them.

General Comments:

Seems to be unbreakable.

Inexplicably fun to drive: outrageously wide turning radius and a slow engine, but somehow it's just a delight to drive around. Feels responsive, and seems to handle better as the driving conditions get worse.

As everyone knows, these trucks are very reliable, and mine is no exception. I have plenty of stories about this thing plugging away in very adverse circumstances.

I'm 6'4" and the seats are by far the most comfortable of any car I've driven long distances. This is the xtra-cab, though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2012

1994 Toyota Pickup 2.4L R22E from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.4L R22E Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance202000 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Tough, and does what it promised - a good friend

Faults:

It's the bare-bones, basic PU with no optional extras - 2.4L R22E motor with 5 speed.

At 104K - timing chain (this is VERY normal)... they go a tiny bit after 100K usually. At 199.5K - timing chain & starter. Front seal let go (in a big way) at 192K - fairly easy to replace. O2 sensor went at 195K.

NOTE: It is NOT NECESSARY to pull the head, in order to change the timing chain! Turn the wheels to the FAR LEFT to remove the pan without dropping tie-rods or cross members.

General Comments:

Very reliable, handles surprisingly well, and is easy to work on. The bench-seat was a poor choice, but holds up. Change the oil & fluids and it'll go a very long time - mine has 202,000 miles and has the ORIGINAL clutch!... and yes, I drive a lot of city miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2010

1994 Toyota Pickup DX 2.4L 22-RE from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.4L 22-RE Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired167000 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles
Previous carNissan Pathfinder

Summary:

It is what it is, and I never want one again

Faults:

Wiring harness shorts at 175,000 miles.

Cab interior crumbling and cheaply built.

General Comments:

I owned this car for about 9 months. In that short span of time, I went from loving its practicality, to hating most everything about it.

Let me say this: know what you're buying. If you want a sturdy hauler that will never, ever stop running, no matter what you throw at it, get this truck. If you want a car that's actually enjoyable to drive, look elsewhere. A reliable and well-built drivetrain does NOT necessarily mean you'll like the car, or ever want to drive it.

I like to think of this car like a shopping cart. Built for a single purpose, lightweight, usually cheap, with very few parts. Want to know why it's so reliable? There's nothing on it to break. Most vehicles have parts that wear out, plastic bits that become brittle and snap, and lots and lots of little things that go bad over time. This vehicle is steel, rubber, and some bolts holding it together. A damn good design... if you want to drive a shopping cart.

Gas mileage was average. Seat wasn't too uncomfortable. It handled like a box on wheels. Always started. Always ran. Nothing spectacular. Nothing awful.

Until the wiring harness went to pieces. Shorts, cracked wires, problems in the rain... all of these things left me with no exterior lights, and no heart to fix it. I wasn't going to put money into a car that I didn't even care about.

Honestly, if all you want is a truck to beat up hauling anything you want from point A to point B, this truck will never fail you. If you want something that's made for a human to drive on a daily basis... get a real car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2010

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 27 reviews