1994 Toyota Pickup Reviews - Page 7 of 7

1994 Toyota Pickup 4x4 Extended Cab V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Not worthy of the hero worship it often receives

Faults:

Starter (plunger and contacts) failed at 80k miles.

Timing chain went at 83k miles.

Left and right directional lights have separate malfunctions.

Air conditioning needs recharging already.

Bed already showing rust.

Orange tab on gear selector sticks at random, requiring close attention to what gear the truck is really in.

Passenger window won't roll down completely.

Passenger door handle and locking mechanism are temperamental.

General Comments:

I bought this truck with good faith in Toyota's reputation for making reliable trucks. In addition, the previous owner provided full service history, including regular oil changes and factory engine replacement.

Sure, I may have received a rare lemon. But let this serve as a heads- up to anyone zeroing in on a used Toyota Pickup. These trucks are not perfect, and definitely not worthy of the hero worship they often receive.

Aside from my perhaps atypical reliability issues, this truck has universal faults as well. The lack of an adjustable steering column, weakly supported seats and fixed, raised headrests make for an uncomfortable driving position. The armrest is an arbitrary little cushion that cannot be rested upon naturally.

Look around before committing to this truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th June, 2003

18th Dec 2003, 07:44

I bought a 1994 Toyota 4x4 new in 1994. It is a 6 cylinder 5 speed. I have never had any problems with this truck. It has no rust, and aside from routine maintenance (oil changes, greasing, etc.) I would have to say that my truck has turned out to be a good experience with the Toyota Motor Company. I would recommend buying a Toyota truck to anyone looking for a new vehicle.

1994 Toyota Pickup 22-re from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 22-re Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired104000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carToyota MR2

Summary:

The best work truck on the market

Faults:

Alternator

General Comments:

I work for directv as a installer so I drive between 100 to 200 miles a day and this truck has been perfect. I still get 25mpg and unlike other cars I've owned it doesn't matter how you drive it, it still gets good gas mileage.

I have a ladder rack with a 28 foot and a 15 foot ladder on it not counting all the cable, even with all that weight the truck still outruns my friends 2002 ford ranger.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2003

1994 Toyota Pickup Standard Cab 2.4L I4 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4L I4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired84500 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carPontiac 6000

Summary:

Overall this is a great daily driver or off-road truck

Faults:

The only time I have had to take the truck into the shop was to replace the exhaust manifold gasket - a cheap fix.

The only major problem with the engine is the timing chain, which, between 100,000 and 150,000 miles, tends to wear down the cheap plastic guides. I am making a preemptive move and am fixing this before it develops into a problem. This costs only about $60-$100 for a kit on e-bay. Otherwise it's $200+ from a dealer.

Other than those two relatively cheap problems - that also occurred on relatively high mileage - the truck runs fine.

General Comments:

Very reliable, however the 4 cylinder seems a little underpowered. I am going to get a new exhaust header, which should give a one-gear performance increase, according to the many reviews I have read.

The gas mileage is also very good for where I drive (at an elevation of 8500 feet), and considering it is a truck. I can get about 24 miles per gallon out of the mountains.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd February, 2003

1994 Toyota Pickup 22R from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 22R Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance143000 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

It's a true workhorse.

Faults:

The starter was replaced at around 70,000 miles.

The clutch was replaced at around 70,000 miles.

Brake pads have been replaced as needed. new cap and rotor, spark plugs around 80,000 miles. Coolant was finally changed at 100,000 miles, new air filters every other oil change, oil changed every 3,000. Has never been serviced by a dealer, has never needed it.

General Comments:

Slow, especially with the A/C on. Uncomfortable seats. Rides like the truck it is, you feel ever little bump in the road.

I fully expect to make it to at least 500,000 miles before it dies.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2003

1994 Toyota Pickup Pick-up 2.4L from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles

Summary:

Very reliable for little money

Faults:

At about 80000 the starter went out, but it was cheap and easy to replace. I Finally had to change my timing chain at 110000 miles. because the plastic guides were disintegrating into my oil pan. At the same time I replaced all of the gaskets on the valve cover because it leaked on the exhaust side of the engine.

General Comments:

Over all this truck has been great! I replaced the bench with bucket seats for added comfort. The fuel mileage is a bit high, but I've made modifications (tonno cover, intake, exhaust) to bump it up some.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2002

9th Dec 2002, 10:39

I have a 1993 Toyota Extra Pickup Truck, it appears that the starter has gone out. Please advise on how to replace it. I am a novice when it comes to repairing autos. However, I am broke and cannot afford to have it professionally done. I am an intelligent guy, therefore if given the proper instruction, I am confident I will have no problems.

Thank you.

4th Jun 2004, 13:36

Have a 1990 4x4 toy truck ex. cab v6 want to put buckets in it with rigging? anyone whom could give me some advice?

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 27 reviews