2004 Toyota Sienna from North America

Summary:

Best car we ever had

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

Best car we have ever had.

Run flat tires offer a great deal of security on the road. The original tires went for 48,000 miles. The second set seem to be doing about the same.

Most of our driving is highway. The car is serviced at regular intervals per service manual. Never had any problem with the tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 2010

2004 Toyota Sienna LE from North America

Summary:

Good, reliable family mover

Faults:

Had to replace the electric motor for side door recently (May 2010) at 145,000 km... for $1700! We think this is basically a design flaw on Toyota's part, so not impressed with that. Otherwise, the van has been excellent.

General Comments:

First new vehicle we have ever bought. Immediately after purchasing we loaded up kids, dog, bikes, and drove from BC to Saskatchewan. No problems. Have driven to Edmonton, all over BC, and too many skiing destinations. Have never had a problem apart from the electric door issue; we have been pleased with the overall performance.

Also, we are a tall family, at this point all 6 feet or taller,and this is one vehicle in which we can all sit with comfort for both head room and leg room.

Finally, we have had this van consistently serviced at a local car clinic, not the dealer as we find the dealership overpriced and inconvenient. Our mechanic can do everything that the dealer can, but for less money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2010

2004 Toyota Sienna LE 3.3 from North America

Summary:

The very worst by far, I feel like I was robbed

Faults:

3 sets of tires (incredible road noise since it was new).

Passenger door problems.

Wind noise from right passenger door.

Seat belt sticks.

Recall for seat belts and liftgate.

Intermediate steering shaft.

Main fuse link.

General Comments:

I am (was) a big Toyota fan, I also own a Tundra. But this car is a piece of junk! Nothing but problems from the start, and parts and maintenance are ridiculous.

Luckily I am semi-literate at mechanical issues. I have 4 kids who all drive + my wife and I. And in my entire driving career of all cars old or new that we have ever owned, this is by far the worst.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th April, 2010

2004 Toyota Sienna LE from North America

Summary:

The first and last Toyota that I'll ever own!

Faults:

Allows too much road noise in.

The transmission doesn't shift smoothly.

The radiator seam split.

The driver's door had to be fixed (recall).

Tire wear is terrible, even though they have been rotated and kept properly inflated.

A/C replaced at a cost of $2,400 (the A/C is seldom used).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th October, 2009

2004 Toyota Sienna LXE AWD gas from North America

Summary:

The best car I have ever driven (from Chicago to Orlando)

Faults:

Run flat tires went flat too often (3 times) and wore down in the second year.

Hatchback repair (opened on its own).

General Comments:

Great car! I had some problems getting straight with the recall on the run flat tires (rough Flintstone like feel to ride on these tires). Toyota was suppose to send me a check for $600.00 dollars. They sent $550.00.

I paid $850.00 for 4 Continental all season tires. Now my car is near perfect, and I travel through 7 states during a rain storm through Look out Mountain and Smokey Mountain!

Mike

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2009

2004 Toyota Sienna XLE 6 cylinder from North America

Summary:

Reliable, but disappointing

Faults:

I have no spare tire, and I don't have any place to mount one. I tried to figure out where I could put it, and there is no room other than precious cargo space.

General Comments:

I am amazed that I purchased a vehicle used with 23000 miles that has no spare tire. I was neither made aware that I did not have a spare, but I do have a jack, which seems kind of crazy considering that if I get a flat, I have nothing to replace it with.

The real kicker is my Sienna did not have run flat tires on it when purchased because it was used. I never really knew the vehicle came with run flats, and I refused to spend in excess of $1000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th January, 2009

4th Feb 2009, 08:24

When I purchased my 2004 Toyota Sienna, I had no idea that the car came with run-flat tires either, and was disappointed at the dealer for not informing me of this.

In addition, the run-flat tires drove horribly on the snow despite having AWD. So, I was left with 2 choices, spend tons of money on run flat snow tires or just put regular tires on the van and suffer without having a spare tire.

I ended up putting normal snow tires on my van and decided to suffer with no spare tire. Rather than purchasing a spare tire kit and taking up valuable cargo space, I decided instead to get a AAA membership.

The van drives fantastic in the snow now, and with the AAA membership I feel that I will be covered if for whatever reason I end up with a flat tire. It's a small price to pay for such a fantastic van.

I love everything about my van except for two things.

One - the lack of a spare tire.

Two - the fact that the battery dies quickly. If an interior light is left on for even 1/2 an hour the battery will die. So my solution to that was a portable jump-starter from Walmart that cost $39. So AAA will save me if I get a flat, I can jump start my car whenever the battery dies, and other than that, I'd say that I love everything about my van.

I did learn some lessons though. There are a lot of things a dealer won't tell you just to sell a car. I probably should have researched it a bit more, because there is a lot of info on-line where people complain about the run-flat tires and the battery dying quickly.