2004 Toyota Solara SLE V6 3.0 from North America


Low pressure tyre light lit always. (Never fixed by dealer)

Tyre sensors and tyre pressure system is not working fine since I bought the car. (Never fixed by dealer)

There was sound coming from engine whenever you change the gear or when you start or stop the engine of car (fixed and replaced)

Pop sound start coming from left door and moon roof when you open or close it (Fixed)

Fog start appearing in right head light (replaced)

I would have love this car if I would't have dealt with these problems.

General Comments:

I like the car but i am not satisfied

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd October, 2005

2nd Jun 2009, 18:47

Interesting. My girlfriend has the same car. The popping sound with the door can be fixed with a philips head screwdriver. Between the two hinges there is a black plate held in with two screws. There is a flat metal rod that goes from the door into the plate. If you tighten up the two screws it should eliminate the popping.

Hope this helps.

2004 Toyota Solara SLE 3.3 from North America


Don't Buy One


The caster angle was outside manufacturer specifications. The minimum was supposed to be 2.1 degrees. Toyota dealers measured it at 1.9 to 2.0 I went to arbitration twice and the dealer and manufacturer lied (they stated it was inside spec) while I submitted proof from Toyota that it was outside spec.

General Comments:

If you have ever driven a car with very little caster you won't forget it. It is like driving on black ice! The angle is so shallow that wind, a passing car, or any slope to the rode will send you into the ditch.

By the way this is not unusual. Look on the internet and type in "left pull toyota"

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th October, 2005

21st Oct 2006, 18:52

This is a fixable (read hackable) problem.

Strut is spot welded to tower.

Mechanic will loosen bolts holding strut, take chisel to break spot welds.

Adjust to right spec.

Tighten bolts.

End of problem.

2004 Toyota Solara SLE V6 from North America


Doesn't get worse than this


I have a 2004 Solara convertible.

A stain had to be removed from the paint.

The leather shifter had to be replaced due to the leather peeling.

I had to have the entire top replaced, including all bars, belts, etc. The explanation from the CT dealer was the alignment was off, which caused the fabric to rub against the molding and the fabric to tear.

It was supposed to be completed in 3 days, and my car was in service for 35 days! All the parts were on back order from overseas!

I also had problems with the windows leaking water, and had to bring it in 3 times. Finally I took pictures of the leaks in order for the dealer to fix it... what a waste of my time. My convertible is now starting to vibrate and rattle again, which is how I found the problem the 1st time!

I am currently gathering my information to file this vehicle under the Lemon Law.

General Comments:

I love my heated seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th June, 2005

26th Aug 2005, 08:16

Question, regarding your Lemon Law filing. How did/has that process been working? Or how did you start it?

Did they say the rattling on your car was something that happened a lot, or was it your individual car?

21st Mar 2006, 23:52

Trust me... it gets a lot worse than this. A whole lot worse. These things are mere nuisances compared to what some cars give you.

18th Aug 2008, 15:10

I agree. Take a look at the terrible problems other Toyota owners are experiencing:


You might want to sell your Solara and any other Toyota you have while it is still running.

2004 Toyota Solara SLE 3.3L V6 from North America


Car has a lot going for it, great coupe



General Comments:

This car has good power for metro driving, the five speed sequential automatic (you can shift manually also) works well.

I have vehicle stability control on this car, it does work, cuts engine throttle and starts applying ABS if it senses body roll.

It looks more expensive than it is, I have the special pearl paint.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 2005