1991 Toyota Supra Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1991 Toyota Supra 7M GE from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 7M GE Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired112500 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles

Summary:

A tank with power

Faults:

When I bought my car in June of 2003, it was running perfectly. Two months later, it refused to start immediately. My Supra would make these annoying clicking noises when I would try starting it. It was pretty obvious that it was the starter, which it was. I had it replaced and it starts up fine now. About one week ago, I let my brother borrow the car, he told me that he had been downshifting on my automatic transmission and that it had an impressive jump of power. I told him not to do it again because I don't want him messing with it. Anyways, the next day my Supra started making a very loud knocking noise...loud...louder than my radio, my exhaust, and I'm pretty lost to what it is. I thought it was a piston, but everyone is telling that its not. My car runs, but I don't really want to use much because it sounds like my engine is about to fall out. So it's in my driveway until I get it to the shop. Anyone got any advise?

General Comments:

The comfort level is very good. The bucket seats are comfortable with the lumbar controls which squeeze you into the chair or loosens it up. Its low to the ground, a very nice ride. Electronic chair movement, digital air conditioner which tells you what specific degree you'd like to set it at, I don't think there's really a difference between 67 or 68 degrees. The suspension is a little stiff, I'm not sure if I need new ones or not. The handling is great, even though it weighs like a tank. I had a new exhaust installed for christmas, a nice big fat one, it creates a nice deep tone. The body is perfect... well it was... it was raining one night and I stopped for a dog and a pick-up truck behind me rammed me. Took off going over medians, red lights, almost crashed again. Well it left three identical dents on my bumper because it had a grille. It is an all-around great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th March, 2004

30th Mar 2004, 10:08

Sounds like rod knock, my friend... common problem on Mk3 Supras. I'm afraid the news goes from bad to worse... if it is indeed rod knock, youre looking at a complete bottom end rebuild, or a new motor.

Look at the bright side... you could always swap your 7mGE got a 7mGTE :-)

13th Nov 2012, 11:13

Check your spark plug wires. First look for cracks. This thing happened to my car too, and I mistakenly replaced the engine.

1991 Toyota Supra Turbo 3.0 i turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 i turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

This car will empty your pants as quick as your wallet

Faults:

So far, all that has gone wrong is a leaking rocker cover gasket. This was due to the car having only covered 4000 miles in the past 6 years.

General Comments:

The turbo supra is basically a gt tourer with a kick. It oozes quality of build and you feel encased in a solid cocoon. This though is probably its only downfall as the weight of the car impairs the performance. Having said that, mine is the auto version so you cannot get the revs up before you go, you are always pulling from 800 rpm.

The only upside of the auto is that the engine is not put under as much stress as the manual.

Normal round town running is around 22 to the gallon and a good run at a constant 80ish will give you around 250 miles to a tank. (around 45 quid).

Handling wise, the car is very agile for its size, you do feel the weight and length around tight and bendy lanes, but all in all it marries comfort and sports like handling very well.

Before departing, a note. BEWARE! the supra does make you complacent and you forget that you have 230 bhp at the wheels, there should be a big sign on the dash saying THIS CAR DOES NOT COME WITH TRACTION CONTROL! Just when you think youve got it tamed it likes to remind you that along with a healthy budget for petrol, youll need a hefty clothing allowance for underwear!

Oh and by the way... usually the head gasket blowing is as a result of the coolant pipes corroding and therefore leaking coolant, air gets in there and bye bye head gasket so it pays to keep up the service history.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2003

21st Dec 2003, 16:57

Excellent review, funny and very helpful.

22nd Jun 2004, 22:40

I own a 91 Toyota Supra. I bought it at 69,000miles and it now has 139,000. Overall, it has been a wonderful vehicle. I started having problems when I replaced the Radiator (at 137,000) and had an engine flush. The mechanic said that my radiator had a lot of rust in it and needed to be flushed and replaced. I personally believe that the rust was holding my car together because now, it has been overheating and I have to add approx. 2 gallons of water a day. The head gasket is also cracked and will cost about 1,500-2,000 to replace. I will miss this car dearly when I trade it in, but Que Sara Sara!

5th Jul 2004, 23:27

It might be worth trying to fix a head gasket yourself. I blew my SW20 MR2 turbo head gasket, and I'm certainly not paying an arm and a leg to fix it, invest in a torque wrench and a manual and a weekend or two of play, and you know, if once you fail, you can only try again, as head gasket kits cost nothing right?

19th Sep 2006, 19:43

I own a Supra Turbo and it is an amazing vehicle. I have two vehicles, which are the Supra and a Dodge Stealth R/T. Out of the two, the Supra has more power, but overall I would still pick the Stealth.

I've had the gasket go.

When I start the Supra, it always revs to 3 or 4 thousands revs and stays there.

The sound system is sounding crappy, but honestly it's an amazing car. I have not taken very good care of it since I bought it with around 75k, but I wish I had kept it nice from the start.

Mind you, the stereo is quite old, but I do not play it very loud.

I've got a problem, second gear always grinds for about 3 or 4 seconds before shifting, and it leaves a huge cloud of smoke when idling. Any comments?

13th May 2007, 17:46

Usually if a gear grinds, it's because its out of sync. They tell you to let the res down a bit and it should slide in better. Bottom line; eventually you have to drop the tranny to replace the gear, as that gear will have to be replaced. Very expensive if that is what is happening.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 13 reviews