2000 Toyota Tacoma SR5 V6 from North America


Best deal out there!


Nothing is wrong with this truck.

It tears the dirt up!

4Runner was awesome, but I flipped it and lived, so I thought I would give the Tacoma a try. I am glad I did!

General Comments:

Great truck.

Plenty of power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2003

2000 Toyota Tacoma SR5 ext. Cab 2.7 4cyli. from North America


Very strong and powerful


Some occasional rattling in the dash, but nothing major other than that.

General Comments:

2.7 liter engine is strong enough to handle anything you can throw at it.

Seats truly suck for long distance trips.

Has no problem getting up to speed quickly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2003

2000 Toyota Tacoma SR5 GAS EFI from North America


A simple yet dependable kind of car


I gave my Bettle to my younger brother.

Never had a major problem on it though.

General Comments:

It wasn't the best car, but very dependable and cheap on maintenance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th November, 2002

2000 Toyota Tacoma SR5 XCAB Prerunner 2.7 from North America


Stock, right out of the box, this is the best truck on the market hands down.


My differential gasket started leaking at approx. 30,000.

Also too much fading has occurred in the headlight lens plastic, however hardly any to the rubber trim i.e. around windows.

Bumpers too week for "parking by touch" in a tight situation. The front bumper bends down to easy, the chrome rear bumper dents, with no damage to any other vehicle encountered. (I live in San Francisco).

The seats are a joke, new ones on order at 55,000 miles; not from Toyota this time!

General Comments:

After some after market seats this truck is awesome! Really, I've owned plenty of vehicles and the quality of the working parts is much better than expected; even for a Toyota!

I am very happy with my purchase, which was a dealer demo (highly recommended).

The engine, (2.7) is better than I even need. Acceleration is always there when I need it, and with an exahst its sublime.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2002

5th Apr 2005, 19:02

Just curious, from where did you order ythe replacement seats for your Tacoma? Thanks!

25th May 2008, 19:00

Parking by feel? Are you serious... and that's a bad point? Wow.

26th May 2008, 20:33

Imagine if you added some non stock performance upgrades on a new domestic instead of a Toyota... and you could keep the stock seats and have a better ride with the domestics as well.

2000 Toyota Tacoma PRERUNNER 2.7L from North America


What good is the truck if you can`t get it fixed when it brakes


The truck shakes badly in the steering wheel.

I have had the truck to the dealer, And they refuse to fix the problem, By saying they can`t find anything wrong.

General Comments:

I like the trucks reliability.

However the dealer service has left a sour taste in my mouth.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th May, 2002

2000 Toyota Tacoma 4x4 TRD 3.4 from North America


You get what you pay for


Trim pieces fall off. Engine doesn't always start on first crank.

General Comments:

Can't fit 31" tires under the tacoma like you could on the old p/u.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st May, 2002

30th May 2002, 23:48

I was told 31" tires would fit on a 98 4x4 trd tacoma. The guy I contacted said I would get a better ride. Either me or you spoke with the wrong person.

24th Aug 2002, 00:03

If 31" tires won't fit try letting some air out or try 30" tires.

1st May 2004, 12:49

My toyota tacoma is a 2000 and it doesn't start on the first crank, she is still a champ.

26th Jan 2009, 07:05

I have a 2000 Tacoma xtracab 4WD with a leveling kit installed. What would be the largest wheel/tire combo I can put on it without any more suspension/body lift?

2000 Toyota Tacoma PreRunner X-Tra Cab V6 from North America


Poor workmanship


The dash rattle when the weather is cold. The transmission or drive-shaft making a clunking noise when start, after a stop.

General Comments:

Both problems were brought to the dealer, which claimed nothing wrong with the truck. Please disappointed with the dealer. Definitely not buying another Toyota.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th April, 2002

28th Jun 2002, 22:53

What did you expect from going from a sports car to a pick-up? They weren't really built for luxury, but rather reliability. I don't know, maybe you just had the misfortune of getting one of the bad apples in the bunch.

24th Aug 2002, 00:09

The dash rattling when it is cold out should not be much of a problem since the cab will warm up anyway.

The clunking noise is the free play in the drive train (transmission gears, splines and differential. Don't worry about that, the drive train will outlast the rest of the truck. I really don't think you have much to complain about, you just expect too much.

2000 Toyota Tacoma V6 4x4 3.4 V6 from North America


Best mid-size truck on the planet


Clicking noise when I push the brake, will get it fixed when the second service is required.

General Comments:

Paid 32,000.00 Canadian, should come with power windows and locks as standard, other than that I could not ask for more.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th May, 2001