9th Jan 2019, 19:00

Thank you for the running report on a great built truck... Hope you still have it, and don't sell it as it's worth more in memory, and will be a classic in a few years. I still own several Toyota trucks, from 83 up to 2003. As well as old Corollas and Celicas, the best years for Toyota, quality starting to lack as of 2005-2008 depending on model. Anyway, nice to see a honest review that involved a guy and his truck.

10th Jan 2019, 16:35

You change your oil at 15,000 miles? Every mile your air cleaner passes some dust in the engine. The day and evening condensation builds up water in your oil pan. Oil warms up and cools when you start out. Then if you are in heavy traffic on hot days. Even using Mobil 1, it’s under $100 to change. I don’t get it. And if you have a frayed fan belt, why not be proactive and fix. Same with swollen hoses left on too long.

10th Jan 2019, 20:40

You are talking about a 16 year old, mass-produced, dime a dozen, economy pick up. Highly unlikely it will be considered a classic anytime soon.

11th Jan 2019, 22:49

Uh... have you seen how much vintage 80s Toyota 4X4s are going for these days? One in good cosmetic and mechanical shape is going for as much as $25-$30,000. So yeah... a 2003 Tacoma could easily become a future classic. Heck - I've had offers from people trying to buy my 1996 Tacoma. Part of the reason these are going up in value is because ALL of the new trucks are so enormous and oversized that there's now a growing demand for actual small to medium sized trucks.

12th Jan 2019, 12:33

If you are driving well over 100 miles a day, why not go for a far more comfortable car? That’s a lot of time behind the wheel. If I am driving that far to work, it would certainly have to pay very well. Depreciation and fuel, stress in traffic etc would be only a part of the higher income expectation. If it takes a 2 hour drive in traffic to buy a bigger home, only to spend less time in it, it isn’t worth it. My opinion.

12th Jan 2019, 13:04

Well, the Ford Courier and Chevrolet LUV pickups from the 1970s were hardly considered to be timeless designs back when they were readily available. Now, the few that are still around in decent condition seem to be fetching premium prices, far higher than when they were considered just crappy old mini-pickups. Does this mean they are "classics"? Or are there just a lot of people with disposable income, who don't know any better, who are now buying them?

12th Jan 2019, 20:29

The Chevrolet’s that are no doubt whatsoever classic trucks are the mid 50s Cameo. Or the late 60s CST. I don’t ever see a Tacoma in that category. It’s a daily driver truck with thrift in mind. Maybe an old Land Cruiser, but not the trucks.

12th Jan 2019, 20:51

I didn't post the comment, but 22:49 and 13:04 seemed to have missed the point.

First off, on this site alone there are way too many definitions of the term "classic" ranging from a '57 T-bird to (in this case) a Tacoma that is not even 20 years old yet. Or a brand that is no longer manufactured to a body on frame rear drive set up that is no longer used on a fullsize passenger car. It goes on and on, again; many definitions.

22:49, The '80s Toyota truck you mention compared to the Ranger or S-10 of the time were produced in very low numbers for the North American market. The domestic compacts outsold them at a steady pace. The Toyota was so unpopular that it didn't even use a model name until the Tacoma debut in 1996. So yeah those '80s Yota pickups that are still on the road with lower mileage are gaining value.

Also I've seen, you post many comments and updates on your '96 Tacoma. What kind of offers are you getting on a 300,000 mile truck?

13:04, Chevy LUV, was imported from Isuzu, and the Ford Courier, was imported from Mazda in low production numbers at a time when there wasn't much demand for compact pickups. These early '70s models are pushing 50 years old, so yes they are classics. Give the Tacoma on topic another 25 years before it is appealing to a collector. As far as LUVs and Couriers, in my opinion they're non timeless designs from back then that have aged pretty well today.

13th Jan 2019, 17:23

Just because a vehicle is 20 years or even 50 does not automatically make it a “classic car”. I think age in itself isn’t what qualifies it as such. Antique or Vintage labels would more apply. An example might be a 51 Plymouth 4 door running antique exempt plates. Is it a classic? How about a 77 Pontiac Phoenix? So age alone isn’t making it a classic car.

13th Jan 2019, 22:19

"ALL of the new trucks are so enormous and oversized"?

Not for long. The new FWD Ford Courier is expected to arrive in 2021, and will only be about 10 inches longer than a 70s era mini-pickup. Better sell that '96 Tacoma to somebody while you can...

14th Jan 2019, 19:50

Why pay insurance on a undersized tiny truck? Or an El Camino type vehicle. You can own a crossover type vehicle vs a truck to carry home 6 bags of mulch. Put a tarp down if you are bringing home a potted flower. A full size truck, even a V6 one or a hatchback type car are my thoughts. I had a S-10 and it was underpowered and too small for many practical uses. And I was afraid of missing out on Craig’s List and estate sale finds and also overloading it. A Tacoma wouldn’t have been any better. And insurance isn’t cheap on a truck class vehicle, large or small.

14th Jan 2019, 20:11

How about a '55 Mercury 4 door, what's your opinion on that one?

14th Jan 2019, 22:34

The way most cars or trucks become "classic" is when there is a growing and sustained demand for XXX make or model. I'm in my 40s and distinctly recall with nostalgia many of the 1980s cars and trucks, which was all during the period in which I grew up. People at my age are likely also now approaching an age and place in their career where they tend to earn decent incomes, meaning disposable incomes.

So just like every other generation that came before, we are doing the same thing: Trying to buy the nostalgic items of our youth and that means yes - stuff that just a few years ago was almost worthless (boom boxes, Atari game consoles, and Toyota 4X4s) has shot up dramatically in value.

It's no different than what happened with Chevy Belairs and now 1970s muscle cars. And it comes and goes in waves: My own old car, which is a '55 Mercury Monterey has gone DOWN in value. Why? Because the generation of folks who collected them for the same reasons are either passing away or getting too old to use them anymore.

So a 90s or early 2000s era Tacoma has just as much of a chance to become a classic as any other vehicle. It's an iconic vehicle well regarded for its durability and reliability. And an entire generation grew up with them and so at some point that generation will one day want to buy a piece of their past - just like my generation is starting to do now.

Oh - and even though I have a small 1996 Tacoma, I've been offered $3,500 for it on the spot.

15th Jan 2019, 15:47

The common theme of a classic is a 20 plus year older car with enough historical interest to be collectable and worth preserving or restoring rather than scrapping. Like a first gen Mustang, 55-57 Thunderbird. In other words, if a just a few parts with added labor or a repaint exceeds the fixed up value all done, it’s not.