Toyota TownAce Reviews

1999 Toyota TownAce NOAH Super Extra 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2013
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired33600 miles
Most recent distance34900 miles
Previous carMazda 5

Summary:

Absolutely brilliant

Faults:

CD player not working. Have replaced unit.

Parking pole broken. Importer promised to repair/replace.

General Comments:

Very comfortable, reliable, versatile, home from home.

Engine and gearbox are smooth and powerful when required.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2013

1995 Toyota TownAce Royal Lounge LTD 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10

Summary:

Fabulous... best car/van ever had!!

Faults:

Interior room light blew, and the replacement blew after a few months.

The electric curtains were broken when we got it.

General Comments:

I've had my Town Ace five years. It's never let me down. The only thing I've spent on it is for new tyres and a new battery, and a bulb for the interior room.

This is the best car/van I've ever had. Superb wheelbase for turning. The interior room seats swivel, and naughtily we have used this to load our disabled friend into the car. He is about 28 stone too! His parents, my husband and I are friends, and we are all big people, yet this vehicle has happily pulled us all plus shopping for long trips out without complaint. We have even had a three piece suite in there, and it's done us proud on several house moves for relatives and pals.

It's not the cheapest car to run, but for its age, not bad at all. The insurance can be a bit high too. The radio has been a bit of a let down, as it is limited to receiving Radio 2 or Radio 5 Live. It is very light bodied, and so it's not great in wind, but it's not unsafe at all in my opinion.

I've had lots of cars, and this has been the best. It looks like I just lost it though as someone ran into it while it was parked up, and as it is almost fifteen years old, sadly I anticipate it will have to be scrapped. I'm bracing myself, because it will tear my heart out to part with it. Whatever its 'faults', it's been worthy every penny.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2010

16th Feb 2010, 09:19

Can you tell me where I can find the interior light bulb for the Toyota Townace? Fluorescent 'u' shaped tube with four pin base, local car spares suppliers say they don't stock it, and I have been searching online to no avail.

13th Jan 2012, 05:15

Currently own a 95 Townace Super Extra. After owning a 90 Royal Lounge, it's a bit of a step down in the toys department, but still has the eccentric charm that makes owning one a pleasure. I would say that it is a home mechanic's bus, as servicing is frequent, but it's only likely to be an oil change, and checking a list of things.

Yes, it is slow, and yes dated, but takes 6 by 4 fence panels, a full flat pack kitchen, or 8 rugby players and luggage in its stride.

19th Feb 2013, 02:01

My son said that it was the same type he uses in his fish tank! He says they can be picked up on eBay for about £4 to £6.

I agree with all the comments I have seen about these vehicles; They are great! Had my 1999 Townace only two months, but it's a dream to drive.

If you can't get a correct bulb, you can always change the holder? (Worth it for the quality of the rest of the vehicle).

A fish tank light should do it though.

John Harrison. Wallasey, UK.

1987 Toyota TownAce SUPER EXTRA 1.9 TD from Pakistan

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9 TD Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired214000 kilometres

Summary:

Good for family and touring

Faults:

One of the front axle became noisy.

The engine is under power heats up very quickly to an alarming point it must have 2.2 engine.

Engine being under front seats not easy to work on for repairs very congested space it takes an extra hour to reach engine.

Electrical wiring and fuse box system is in close space.

Not easy to change flat tyre jack mounting are not secure specially when rear wheel is involved.

Mostly new parts are not available, but used one are available in junk yards.

General Comments:

This is my second Town ace in the span of ten years last one was 2x4 manual and this one is 4x4 automatic.

Recently repainted, engine rebuild by replacing old engine block with another used one having standard bores, replaced pistons and ring sets, crank grind, repair-service some other necessary part as I want to keep it for another few years.

Appearnce is impressive specially the SKY LITE gives the feeling of a convertible car.

Roomy enough for a family of six and still got space in the boot. Kids love to ride on this machine.

4x4 version makes it safe for the rough tracks.

Dual AC with a mini bar is worth in hot summer days.

Comfortable to drive with a long range visibility and easy to maneuver on tight turns.

Taking to a Toyota service centre is expensive for a 1987 model so I usually work my self or along with mechanic for repairs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2006

5th Sep 2006, 13:14

Do any Townaces have rear seat belts that go across your chest (not just across your lap)? I think they look great cars, but my children's car seats need 'proper' seat belts. If they don't have 'proper' seat belts, does anyone know how much it would cost to have them installed?

Also, is the Townace a particularly small MPV(we are a tall family)?

Does anyone know of a garage that is a good stockist of this kind of van?

Many thanks!

29th Sep 2006, 09:32

I have a Toyota Townace with rear lap belts. I have been looking for someone who would put shoulder strap seat belts in, but haven't had any luck. Does anyone know where I can get belts put in? I'm in Yorkshire. Is it even possible with a fibreglass van?

24th Dec 2008, 13:34

Thanks to the comments on this page. I believe I will stay away from the Town Ace. I wanted a touring mini and the moon roof was very appealing.

14th Apr 2010, 07:11

Heating problem is still there with the AIR CON ON, even after adding a third radiator, but without A/C it is fine in city driving, and not on the highway.

I also added water circulation pump, but it leaked, otherwise it may have worked. Can anyone give info about a 12V water circulation pump for car engines? I once read someone in Australia added a 12v water circulation pump.

The engine water pump does not have enough force to circulate water through 2+1 RADIATORS.

smtic at yahoo.com.

7th Feb 2014, 11:15

I used to have a Lucida and was advised by an old importer that due to Japan's horrendous traffic jams, the water works get seriously sludged up - hence the reason so many Lucida / Emina blow head gaskets. The cure is simple - completely flush out the entire cooling system (radflush then water), replace the thermostat (if it's overheated - it's buggered) and Bob's yer Uncle :)

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 14 reviews