1991 Toyota TownAce Super Extra 4wd 2.0 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland


Quirky, practicable, affordable quality!


On my first day driving it home, a rubber pipe carrying gearbox oil touched the propshaft and resulted in loss of oil and spectacular smoke effects as oil smouldered on exhaust! Repair was simple and cheap thankfully.

Recently, the vehicle has developed difficulty changing up from 1st to 2nd gear, when the engine/gearbox are cold or have, cooled for some hours. After 5 minutes running, there are no problems, and no other gears are affected. My concern is the 2 faults may be connected and the situation could worsen when we travel hundreds of miles up to Scotland in August!

General Comments:

As my 3rd Toyota Town-ace/Master-Ace in 8 months, there is a danger of addiction! As I am disabled on a limited income, these MPVs are excellent because of the high seating, easy driving and cheap availability. Great for the family and dogs too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2006

1990 Toyota TownAce Super Extra 4WD 2.0 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland


Truly outstanding value, comfort, space and all round enjoyment


Nothing yet.

General Comments:

Great family carrier.

Ideal for sunday trips out with the kids and in-laws.

Ideal for camping with a tent.

Unbelievable spacious interior.

Very quiet engine and comfortable drive.

You can turn it on a 50p!.

Miles of legroom.

Huge amount of boot space.

Great 4 sunroofs for ventilation, with visors too.

Excellent all round visibility.

Plenty of torque for a 2 litre turbo automatic.

This is the first one I've owned and I will never ever go back to a car.

For claustrophobics, this is a must.

Only had it a few weeks and I can't believe how remarkable everything is about it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th April, 2006

1990 Toyota TownAce Turbo Diesel from UK and Ireland


It is very bad


Always overheating from chislehurst to hastings had to stop twice.

Brake lights blew 3 times and indicators blew 4 times!

Head gasket blew at 79000 miles!

General Comments:

Good time first starter, but sometimes you finally get it started and you put it in drive or reverse and it cuts out. It's not a good car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th July, 2003

24th Dec 2004, 01:38

I think you were sold a lemon. Once the engine and electrics have been sorted, you will find that the vehicle will give many miles of driving pleasure.

I suspect these problems have clouded your view of this very adaptable vehicle.

5th Aug 2005, 04:53

I recently bought a townace and I agree it is very comfortable and very economical, but I'm having problems with it already, the heater plug light keeps coming and I haven't got a clue why it keeps coming on, has anyone got any ideas what the problem might be as the garage I bought it from don't wanna know.

1989 Toyota TownAce Royal Lounge 2.0 EFI petrol from UK and Ireland


Excellent value for money MPV.


Shortly after buying the car the ECU (electronic control unit) that controls the engine management failed.

Recently the engine cooling system developed a leak, but this was easily fixed.

Overall, the vehicle has been very reliable requiring normal servicing at regular intervals.

General Comments:

Excellent family vehicle.

My Royal Lounge is fitted with 7 plush captain chairs which in the rear can be turned around or taken out.

Hot and cold box with ice maker.

Electric curtains.

6 Skylight roof. (4 that open).

2 or 4 wheel drive.

Good sized boot area.

My Royal Lounge is fitted with T.E.M.S. (Toyota electronically modulated suspension) which softens and hardens the suspension under cornering or braking.

Front and rear air con and climate control.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th May, 2003

1991 Toyota TownAce MasterAce 2.0 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland


Very high spec. MPV at bargain prices


The only fault I have had so far is one of the springs in the ignition tumbler failed so I had to replace the ignition tumbler.

General Comments:

The best people carrier I have seen for the money.

I got one of the lowest spec variants, but even so it comes with two air conditioning units and a fridge.

Not particularly quick, but will cruise happily at 70mph.

The internal layout can be changed very quickly and easily.

The inboard engine means that the internal space is disproportionately large compared to its competitors.

Seats 8 comfortably with plenty of space for luggage and prams.

The 4WD and off road suspension is surprisingly good over rough ground although the overhangs prevent any serious off-roading.

Incredible turning circle combined with excellent mirrors and high/forward seating position make parking a dream.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2003

20th Aug 2013, 08:06

I have a Master Ace Surf; she's lovely. My five year old has named her Sophie :-)

I bought her with the understanding that she was overheating; possible head damage... but the owner also said the radiator cap is corroding. With a new cap and some K seal, she drove home around 400 miles beautifully.

Yesterday there was a strong smell of oil from her middle; possible gearbox?? Going to the garage now, am a single mum on a low income, but will strive to fix all her problems. Most enjoyable drive and the kids adore her.

Don't be disheartened by a few problems; they're all sortable and so worthwhile. This is my second one. Unfortunately she fell apart with rust and never received a name =(