2000 Toyota Tundra Reviews - Page 7 of 8

2000 Toyota Tundra SR-5 4X4 4.7L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4.7L V8 Automatic
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 kilometres
Most recent distance37000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

My last vehicle for 10-15 years

Faults:

Warped front rotors.

General Comments:

I just bought it used with low low km's and it's beautiful.

Once I drove it I was sold! What a machine.

The seats are as comfortable as my 1995 Camry and the instruments are nice and easy to use.

Tonnes of power.

Handles the road very well.

My 6'th Toyota, they have never let me down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2003

2000 Toyota Tundra SR5 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance185000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

As comfortable as a Camry, but engineered like a Korean car..

Faults:

Front brake rotors fail every 5000 miles.

Engine knocks on cold days during warm up.

General Comments:

My tundra requires frequent brake repair because the truck shakes violently when brakes are applied.

After 85,000 miles my V-8 Tundra knocks on cold mornings until the engine comes to operating temperature.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd December, 2003

2000 Toyota Tundra SR5 4.7 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.7 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance92500 miles
Previous carToyota Tundra

Summary:

The best truck on the road!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this truck that requires any major attention. The seat belts did not retract automatically like they should so the dealer replaced them for free, the brakes are not the best, but replace the whole assembly once and they will last for a very long time.

General Comments:

This is by far the greatest truck on the road and will easily blow the doors off of the new Nissan titan as well as the American junk out there. Even though it has a smaller V8 than the competition, I guarentee you that it will easily out run any other truck out there. It will also tow almost anything with no hesitation at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2003

6th Apr 2006, 16:34

Oh no, another Toyota owner with ridiculous claims on towing ability out of a Toyota truck. I would hate to be stuck behind you with a 5,000 pound load behind your 4 banger Tacoma. Your Tacoma may move the load, but certainly not in a safe manner. Just like another Tundra thread on this site where the person states they tow a 10,000 pound load behind a Tundra. Just because your truck moves the trailer does not mean you should be doing it! Check the payload and towing limits established for your truck, because they exist for many good reasons, including keeping those who share the road with you safe.

2000 Toyota Tundra SR5 4.7L from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.7L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carDodge Ramcharger

Summary:

This truck is still the best overall truck out there

Faults:

The only thing that has required service on this truck in 53,000 miles is a leaky tie rod end. It was covered under warranty. I am extremely pleased with this truck in terms of performance and reliability.

The complaint made by one reviewer about the bumper being thin was misplaced. The bumper is identical to those found on Fords and Dodges.

The reference in one review to this truck being foreign junk is just wrong. The Tundra is actually more domestic than most other trucks, most of which are assembled in Mexico or Canada. Being assembled in the USA is a good thing. Being designed in Japan in also a good thing.

If the Tundra comes with defective brakes, just replace the whole assembly. This problem also occurs in the so-called domestic trucks. At least the Tundra has a reliable transmission, unlike the Dodge, which good for about 50,000 miles if you are very lucky.

General Comments:

Of all the trucks out there, Toyota is still the most reliable overall by a huge margin.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2003

2000 Toyota Tundra SR5 Acces Cab 4x4 4.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.7 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

A good Japanese truck.

Faults:

The brakes had to be replaced 2 times.

General Comments:

I wish I bought the car after it was out a couple of years. The bugs could have been worked out.

Although theres not too many bugs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th March, 2003

2000 Toyota Tundra sr5 4.7 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.7 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carToyota Tundra

Summary:

High power, great handling truck

Faults:

I had a dead battery, not Toyota's fault.

Nothing has gone wrong with this truck.

General Comments:

This is a super reliable truck.

The power that this truck puts out is unbelievable. I raced a ford mustang and won. (tundra is supercharged)

The truck is very comfortable and it handles super. Best vehicle that I have ever owned. Handling is awesome as well. I will never own anything, but a tundra again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2003

22nd Apr 2005, 22:22

Was the mustang a V-6?

25th Feb 2009, 08:47

Toyota Tundra is the best 1/2 ton truck built today hands down! Toyota decided to dive into the full-size market and look what they are doing to the competition. Tundra have set the bar.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 26 reviews