2000 Toyota Tundra Reviews - Page 8 of 8

2000 Toyota Tundra Limited 4.7L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.7L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired7000 miles
Most recent distance21000 miles
Previous carToyota Supra

Summary:

Wait for the full size Nissan pickup

Faults:

Toyota has never been know to produce cars with quality brakes. I would know I have had about 6 Toyota's. So, just to make sure you were a believer they produced the Tundra. I have a had 5 complete break job in the last 7,000 miles and the dealer admits no confidence in the repair.

The axle seal blew out twice

Molding falls off

They cannot fix the alignment. I need new tires every 10,000 miles.

And why can't I have a remote gas cap release. Is it too much to ask?

I only drive 4 miles to work in sunny southern California. I have never used the thing as a "truck".

General Comments:

I do have to admit that the truck has a lot of power, handles and rides great.

Toyota sales: Have to be the rudest, nastiest, most condescending people on the planet.

I have been a life long advocate of Toyota. I would like to announce my departure. Good luck Toyota you will need it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th September, 2002

2nd Oct 2002, 12:50

I agree about the Brakes. My Tundra had all the brakes TSB fixes @ 29000 and the Vibration came back @ 26500..out of warranty. Toyota told me that all cars rotors vibrate when they heat up. They will not fix my truck so I will now try and sell it and never buy another Toyota! Nissan and Honda are both coming out with a full size v-8 truck in 2004...I will have to wait. They just last month (9/02) came out with a redesigned front caliper... but I have to pay if I want it. And the dealers do suck and must think we are idiots. I will spend many hours telling world (internet) about the Brakes that need to be Recalled.

2000 Toyota Tundra SR5 Access Cab 4WD 4.7-liter i-Force V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.7-liter i-Force V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired14500 miles
Most recent distance15500 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

It's a Toyota, it'll still be running when the domestic competition is retired to the junkyard!

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong with this truck. It's been great so far.

General Comments:

My Tundra has a beautiful Imperial Jade Mica (dark green) paint job that is stunning when clean.

It has a bench seat interior with a fold down center console with a very useful coin holder to keep loose change from rattling around. The cupholders can hold a lot of beverage containers which is good. It also has alot of power outlets, but I have use for only one, radar detector, of course!

The radio is the best stock radio I have ever heard, clear crisp sound. I will still likely to upgrade it within a few months.

The V8 has to be one of the most powerful I've ever driven. For a truck, it accelerates with authority. The engine is also very quiet with a subdued rumble from the exhaust. I have been guilty of squealing the tires on this rig :-)!

My only complaint would have to be the gas mileage. But it's a truck, so I didn't expect Prius-like economy. It only requires 87 octane as well, another plus with gas prices as they are.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2001

16th Sep 2005, 19:38

Well I'll tell you what! I've towed, hauled, pushed & dragged as much as or even more than your domestic truck with my Tundra and as for the demolition derby, if you look at the crash test results for the so called "big 3" as compared to the Tundra then maybe you would think twice about putting your truck in one! Furthermore, your truck is built in Mexico in an uncontrolled environment so the truck can be made cheap and they can make big profits... the Tundra is made in USA in a controlled environment that employs Americans!

Quit fighting it and just go drive one, you will be sold I promise :-)

2000 Toyota Tundra from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance26000 miles
Previous carFord F250

Summary:

Loved my truck - now it is my worst nightmare

Faults:

The gaskets and rotors on the brakes need repairing every 1400-2000 miles. Got a real lemon.

General Comments:

Toyota told me to "sell" it privately and they would give me a $500 coupon to use toward a new truck. Sorry, I won't do that to someone else.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th June, 2001

24th Jul 2003, 10:00

I have owned only toyota's for 25 years. I now have a 2000 Tundra. With the brake problems and the O2 sensor problems this will be my last unless toyota steps in and does the right thing.

29th Sep 2004, 17:26

Hey, we've had O2 sensor problems too, causing us to replace the catalytic convertor. Unfortunately, the recall we received specifies a mileage, which we've exceeded, so we'll have to pay for replacement! Very costly!

2000 Toyota Tundra Access Cab 4WD Limited 4.7L I-Force V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.7L I-Force V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carToyota Truck

Summary:

Sets the standard for value, performance, comfort and CLASS in full size trucks

Faults:

1. Front rotors warped at 10,000 miles - replaced by the dealer (no cost to me under 36,000 mile bumper to bumper warranty).

2. Front rotors warped again at 30,000 miles - went to a different dealer becuase the first one was expensive, unresponsive and arrogant - this time they gave me redesigned brake pads from Toyota, again at no cost to me.

3. A horrible musty smell coming out of the door panels every time it rains in warm weather.

4. Pieces of molded black plastic that cover the front bucket seat mounting bolts simply won't stay attached. And they often fall out of the vehicle and onto the ground when you're getting in and out of it. A surprising oversight from Toyota.

Everything else on the vehicle is perfect, as expected from a Toyota.

General Comments:

Pros:

Nearly everything - top notch build quality, power, handling & ride (for a full size pickup), excellent stereo, climate controls, ergonomics, etc.

Cons:

1. Needs heavier rear springs if you plan on hauling heavy loads in the cargo area.

2. No adjustable lumbar, side or front leg support on the front seats. Toyota is often guilty of plain-Jane styling and appointments, but they really ought to offer a better set of bucket seats in their "Limited" trucks.

3. Those silly pieces of molded plastic that cover the front bucket seat mounting bolts.

4. The back seat is extremely small and uncomfortable.

5. Please, Toyota, please - beat the competition and start supplying more tie-down points in the cargo areas of your trucks. The 50 year-old "standard" of one metal hoop in each corner of the bed really ought to become obsolete. I could use about ten or fifteen more tie down points for securing different sized loads in different positions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2001

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 26 reviews