2000 Toyota Tundra Limited from North America - Comments

15th Nov 2002, 18:47

I too have witnessed first hand Toyota's handling of the Tundra brake problem. My 2000 Tundra has been in over 9 times and has had 4 complete brake jobs. The dealerships (except for one) have been trying to do a permanent fix, but the corporation has it head in the sand and will not admit it made a mistake in initial design. There should never had put drums in the back and front discs should have been vented for better heat dissipation for a truck of this size. This problem is not going to go away and anybody who is experiencing this should voraciously let Toyota know and contact a lemon law attorney.

16th Dec 2002, 00:12

My 2001 Tundra has had 3 complete brake overhauls (new drums, rotors, pads etc). Supposedly they installed "new updated parts". However it is back to shaking already after 5000 more miles. The dealer was fairly courteous about it, but told me "your warranty does not cover brakes". When I mentioned that I saw all kinds of forum postings about the brakes having problems, they quickly fixed them. Now I am out of warranty and probably up s--t creek without a paddle now. I drive the thing like a baby, not a truck. This is really a shame because the truck is awesome otherwise.

17th Jan 2003, 23:53

DO NOT accept Toyota's bunk about the bad brakes not being covered under warranty. I have 70300 miles on my 2000 tundra and they, as I write this, are putting the 8th set of front rotors on, UNDER Warranty. The key is to go after Toyota Corporate and tell them this. The failure of the braking system is causing an unsafe braking condition and you are fearful of operating the truck until this is corrected. I am in the process of pursing arbitration to force Toyota to deal with this. DO NOT ACCEPT THEIR STORY ABOUT THE Warranty. This is a product safety issue and they must face up to it.

12th Feb 2003, 15:37

I too am getting the run around regarding Toyota's warranty regarding moving parts not being covered!

My local dealer will not cover the brakes at under 17000 miles and since I live on the island of Maui, it is difficult to refer to another dealership for repair.

Frustrating as the brakes are definitely a safety issue, otherwise the best truck I've ever owned.

20th Feb 2003, 16:46

The 2000 Tundra has been one of the best trucks I have ever owned. In this instance I include Chevrolet, Ford, Nissan and GMC. However, a recent replacement of pads to reduce the mushy brake pedal feel was most ineffective at solving the problem. The mechanic at a local Lexus dealership where it was worked on said "all Toyota Tundras" have the mushy feel upon brake application and nothing could be done. Clearly this is an engineering problem that can be resolved with Toyota attention to detail. To bring to market a vehicle with the need to pump the brakes to stop, because I and or you sense an inability to STOP timely is rather scary, and potentially a serious potential legal liability.

Hello Toyota please help us resolve and solve the problem.

24th Apr 2003, 18:47

I am an attorney specializing in Lemon Law in San Diego. I have a case with about 13 repairs to a Tundra for pulsation/vibration in the brakes. Toyota refuses to honor the warranty and buy it back. I am looking for persons who would be willing to testify about similar problems in their Tundras. Please contact me at.

Mike Lindsey

619 220-7177

mlindsey@nethere.com.

Thank you very much.

30th May 2003, 14:06

I bought a 2000 Toyota Tundra SR5 V8 2WD, and it has been a great truck. I have noticed for some time that when I applied the brakes there was a vibration in the front end, but not knowing much about brakes I overlooked it. I now have 57,000 miles on my Tundra and have noticed a metallic sound coming from the front end while driving without the brake applied. I recently took my truck in to an auto repair shop for a free brake inspection. I was told the front brake pads need to be replaced because they are 75% worn, but the back is only worn about 25%. Why have the front worn more than the back? I'm not sure if they could tell if there were any problems with the rotors upon there inspection. I am very worried I will have a big surprise when they go to replace the front pads. I've had one other major problem, and that was an O2 sensor that went bad and had to be replaced just past 36,000 miles. That repair cost close to $200 parts and labor. A minor problem I've had that seems to be very common is my driver's side seat belt does not retract fully. Other than that, it has been a great truck. It is sharp looking, has great power for every day driving, handles well, car-like ride, and a pleasure to drive.

2nd Jun 2003, 08:59

After driving Ford and Dodge trucks for 14 years I decided to take the plunge and purchase a Tundra. I have been extremely pleased with everything about my truck except the vibrating braking system. I was told by the dealership at 37,000 that if I had brought the truck in at 36,000 Toyota would have repaired the brakes. But since I was 1,000 miles too late the repair would cost me in excess of $1,200. It sounds like I'm in for a few years of braking and dealership headaches. Fortunately, I still love the truck and am willing to fight the fight.

9th Jun 2003, 19:12

Bought my Tundra in January, 2000. Didn't notice the brake vibration problem until a year or so later. It wasn't really that bad and upon research figured that Toyota had a design problem and would do a recall to correct. Well, I am still waiting. I will be visiting the Toyota dealer soon so any updates on factory service bulletins would be appreciated. wsr2day@yahoo.com.

19th Jun 2003, 11:41

Does anyone know if they have fixed the brake problem for the 2002 or the 2003 tundras?

Thanks Dale.

5th Aug 2003, 12:25

I own a 2000 Tundra and at 54,000 miles began having the braking problem. I applied the brakes at 50 MPH and the whole truck shook like an earthquake. I have been battling Toyota for 2 weeks on the repair. Their first try was $700 for new rotors, pads and adjusters. After questioning the service manager, they wouldn't guarantee that would fix it, turns out $2400 would fix it for good. We went as high up in Toyota as we could and their final offer is $300. I am debating to have it done or just trade it in for fear of future problems. Any suggestions???

15th Feb 2004, 10:20

It is obvious that the combination of the small brake pad surface and the non-vented nature of the rotors is causing a serious problem on these trucks. The soft pedal feel is not at all normal and is usually also a sign of slightly warped rotors. I will be curious if Toyota does come out with an engineered solution to this problem of if lip service will be their only course of action.

In the meantime I will be happy to buy a truck from anyone looking to sell their V8 4x4 Tundra to me... high miles not an issue!