2000 Toyota Tundra Limited from North America - Comments

16th Oct 2004, 22:50

I too have that braking vibration problem. I have a 2000 Tundra Limited 4x4 TRD, and @ 25K, the rotors were warped and the pads were worn. The previous owne had them replaced because it was still under warranty. Now @ 51K miles, it is no longer under warranty. I went to the Toyota dealership here in Huntington Beach, Toyota of HB, and they told me it's not under warranty anymore, that I would have to fork out the money to have this fixed. I love my truck, but to drive the truck to Mammoth, about a 5 hour drive, with my family, makes me hesitant. I am glad that I did a little research and saw this website. I would like more info if anyone has any, regarding Toyota and recalling this. Thanks so much!

Ladycrex@yahoo.com.

18th Jan 2005, 14:59

I have a 2003 Tundra with a bad vibration when the brakes are applied. I went 32000 miles on the original brakes with no problem. I had the front brakes done at a national tire and auto repair franchise and the vibration started after 100 miles. I took the truck back and they turned the rotors again, after another 100 miles the problem returned. I called Toyota and they said they have a service bulletin on the problem. Calipers are to small and they heat up and warp the rotors. The fix is to replace the rotors with larger ones. Toyota will do this only if truck still under warranty. I just want to know why the problem didn't surface the first 32000 miles.

8th Jul 2005, 14:56

I own a 2002 Tundra that has the brake vibration problem now at 50,000 miles. The truck had 20,000 miles when the problem first surfaced and then took it to the dealer and got fixed, but the problem off course started again around 40,000 miles and when I contacted the dealer they told me that Toyota will only cover the problem till 36,000 miles. So now I am hoping that Toyota (or someone will force Toyota) for a recall for this problem. If anyone has new info on this problem or contact then please post it.

Thanks,

24th Nov 2008, 10:14

I just purchased a 2001 Tundra Limited and the brakes vibrate too. I am surely going to have to replace the rotors and pads with something better. Toyota should have a fix for this.

Tim Olson

sailandcan@centurytel.net

8th Feb 2009, 00:55

I am having the same shaking problem on my 2000 Tundra, and now have become very much frustrated as to see all these complaints from others facing the same issues! I just love this truck and its performance, except for this vibrating factor! Now, I just wanted to know if this could be fixed permanently or not, and what steps should I take in this regard? I live in Orange County, is there any recommended place? I would greatly appreciate any sort of help.

3rd Mar 2009, 16:55

OK for you guys out there that think this is a Toyota engineering problem, you're kinda wrong. I'm a Toyota Master Tech and I drive an 02 Tundra. I have 60k on the clock and just replaced my brakes for the first time, never had a vibration, and probably never will.

5th Mar 2009, 08:58

16:55.

How does that prove that there isn't an engineering problem? An engineering problem doesn't necessarily show up on EVERY vehicle. It can just show up on vehicles that are operated in certain warmer climates or ones that are routinely driven in hilly, mountainous terrain. Those were just examples... but the point is that engineers design systems that are supposed to work within a reasonable range of conditions. So when there is an error (in what "reasonable" includes), the problems will only show up in those systems that are operated in the fashion that the engineers should have, but didn't, include in their calculations.

I owned a 2000 Tundra until it had 109,000 miles on it. It suffered from an intermittent shudder in the braking. My dad has a 2001 Tundra with approx 90,000 miles on it. His has never had any brake problems.

So engineering problems are identified by the PERCENTAGE of vehicles with a given problem. Even 5% is way too high if the system in question is fundamental to the safety of the operator.

Vehicles have 3 main dynamic traits... They go. They stop. They turn. If there is a serious fault in any of these systems, a buyer should be careful about their purchase.

17th Apr 2009, 17:44

To Mr Toyota Master Tech guy. By your logic, because your ball joints have not failed either, then there must not be a problem with them. Yet there is a recall out there...

18th Apr 2009, 22:29

60,000 miles isn't even out of warranty for a GM or Dodge truck, and barely for an F-150. If I EVER had to replace the brakes, or for that matter ANYTHING other than tires and batteries, on my Fords or Chevys by 60,000 miles I'd regard it as an obvious (rare) lemon. I routinely do brake jobs at 100,000 miles and have NEVER had an alignment, shocks replaced or any other repairs done to my domestics before then, if ever. My imports required far more frequent repairs because they are, purely and simply, under-engineered.

16th May 2009, 19:02

I have a 2004 double cab Tundra 4x4 4.7l truck that's having vibration problems when braking. The only fix is to buy an upgrade kit (larger rotor, larger caliper and pads) to correct this problem. Hope not to find other design shortcoming with my truck. Good luck folks!

17th May 2009, 12:42

We've given our friend who owns a 2002 Tundra several rides to pick up his truck because of numerous brake and front end issues. The truck has averaged being in the shop at least twice a year for something since it was new. I don't mind giving our friend rides, and I try to restrain myself from rubbing it in that our GMC has not seen the inside of a repair shop since it was purchased in early 2003.

27th May 2009, 14:23

Toyota Service Center claims to have a upgraded brake rotor that will fix this problem. Has anyone replaced their rotor using Toyota replacement part? If so, did it fix the problem or simply just mask the problem.

3rd Sep 2011, 19:50

I've had the same problems with about 125K on the truck. I'm having to replace the forth set of brakes, and the third set of rotors. The O2 sensor went early and I replaced it, but I didn't think much about that. I also have the same problem with the driver's side seat belt. It doesn't retract all the way by itself. I'm ready to look for a new truck, and I really like the 2011 Tundra, but I'm not sure I want to take a chance after this whole brake issue. It may not seem like a lot, but up here in the Northern California Redwood country, I need this truck to be a truck, not a highway pickup.

4th Sep 2011, 13:19

I find the title of this review confusing. After the disaster that the Nissan Titan and Armada proved to be, why on Earth would someone want yet another unreliable truck built by them OR Toyota?

Toyota has had more problems since 2008 than any auto maker on the planet. The "Recall King" has steadily dropped in sales, and is now outsold in the U.S. by GM, Ford and Chrysler. They have dropped to third place in world sales (behind no. 1 GM and no. 2 Volkswagen). Any domestic truck is light years ahead of anything Japan makes and always has been. The Ford F-150 is in its fourth DECADE as the world's best-selling truck.

We have friends who based their buying decision on ad hype, and ended up with Tundras that had constant problems. There are virtually no Titans here because they were discovered to be unreliable nightmares before more than a handful were sold.

Our GMC just hit 100,000 miles with not a single problem. It hasn't even had the original brake pads replaced yet. When people are looking for a "real truck", they certainly don't need to look at anything from a Japanese maker.