4th Sep 2007, 17:32

08:37 What I said WAS correct; you just can't seem to realize that for some reason.

5th Sep 2007, 10:59

The new Silverado is decades ahead of the Tundra. Just look at the August sales figures... GM is up 6% and Toyota is down 2%. Guess that's the last word.

5th Sep 2007, 17:28

10:59 No, that's just a hiccup in sales. The last word is that Toyota as a whole has passed GM to take the highest worldwide sales spot, and are widening the gap. That is the last word.

5th Sep 2007, 22:12

I heard sales were down for the Silverado. Also a vehicle does not have to be light years ahead to be better selling. The Ford Ranger was a top seller on its 10 year old plus chassis.

6th Sep 2007, 02:53

Maybe the original reviewer should sell his Tundra. Read the review again. Why are we also talking about Tacomas and Rangers on a large truck review?

6th Sep 2007, 18:24

I think it's great that Toyota is out-selling everyone else. That way, when everyone in the world find out their engine blew at 30,000 miles because of sludge build-up, Toyota will evaporate over night. Yaaaaay!!! There, that's the last word.

12th Sep 2007, 11:15

I agree with 23:42. I drive long distances across the country, a thousand miles on the interstates at a time, and I see 20 American cars for every one Japanese car. It must be that nobody buys Toyotas except in southern California. It's true, they are nothing, but cramped little rattle-traps. I don't know how their marketing geniuses ever convinced people that they were being "smart" by paying more for less, but you have to hand it to them.

The people that go on and on about Toyota and Honda quality must have bought a 15-year old Oldsmobile when they were young and poor, and the first time it needed an oil change that they couldn't afford, in their ignorance they decided that "American cars are junk." Now they have condemned themselves to driving Japanese crap boxes for the rest of their lives. How sad.

17th Sep 2007, 11:31

No Tundra can pull my boat, but both GM and Ford can easily handle it. Far superior trucks in my opinion... better warranty, power, performance, people carrying if you can afford one I highly recommend them.

9th Oct 2007, 13:07

You are all crazy!!! Toyota, Ford, Chevy, Dodge etc... all suck when it comes to giving you the quality you expect for the money you spent. They have you all by the balls! By the way, I own a 2003 Tundra with 120,000 and it's never had a problem and I tow my 3000lb boat everywhere with it. Happy Trails.

3rd Apr 2008, 10:22

I have admit I am on the fence about making this comment but here goes. My 2003 Tundra is having some issues and I am becoming more and more uncomfortable with owning this thing by the day. The transmission is slipping and brakes seem to have a constant chirping sound, the mileage is fair to poor and the ride is similar to a buckboard. I bought this truck because my friend has a Tundra and has been without a single problem for three years. I don't know if this a manufacturing location issue or just luck of the draw? My Fords and Chevey's were good trucks but not without their own issues. This Tundra gets treated very well and is only asked to pull a small boat or two four wheelers occasionally. Just not happy with this one!

4th Apr 2008, 16:11

13:07 how many miles do you tow with your 1/2 ton truck? Going cheap isn't the way to go; in my case I tow 2 tons 100 miles with my boat consistently with no issues... and it's not pushing it with a 1/2 ton. You are much better owning a higher quality more durable Ford F-250 or GM Duramax diesel... I'd rather not shell out $6k for a drivetrain. I would be interested how many miles your towing comment is nonetheless...

5th Apr 2008, 21:14


3000 pounds is nothing. You could tow that with a front wheel drive minivan on the way to soccer practice. We're talking about full size trucks here. The bar is quite a bit higher than you are obviously used to with your Tundra.

Try towing 10000 pounds plus, assuming you have the nerve and think your Tundra would not twist itself apart if it could even get that kind of a load moving. Actually, don't try it. I do not want you to hurt yourself or anybody else on the road.

I am in several circles where people tow antique and race cars in enclosed car trailers. Guess how many people have Tundra's...absolutely none. Aside from the embarrassment if they ever showed up in one, it simply cannot be done and would be suicide to try.

These trucks (all domestic) do not just travel across town; they travel cross country, coast to coast with these kinds of loads. They rack up the miles very quickly. 100,000 heavy towing miles in 2-3 years is not at all uncommon. But they all run just fine and deliver bulletproof reliability

Sorry, but you simply cannot do that with your Tundra, contrary to what you may think. It is just not a real truck, much less designed to do any serious work. It would be a mangled mess with a melted heap of pot metal under the hood for what used to be the engine on the first attempt. It is an abomination that Toyota even makes the contention that the Tundra is remotely a viable contender to be a domestic truck, and even more disconcerting that people actually buy into it.

If Toyota actually think they have a real truck on their hands, they should challenge the domestic manufacturers to an endurance contest. I am sure the domestic manufacturers would be ecstatic to accept. Then we can dismiss this myth that the Tundra is a truck once and for all. That obviously is why it will never happen.

6th Apr 2008, 10:56

To add to what "April 5th, 2008, 21:14" said, my dad bought a 1984 Toyota motorhome on e-bay, and of course it would not run. My uncle towed it from Milwaukee to Minneapolis (300 miles) with his Dodge Ram, doing 75 the whole way like that dead Toyota motorhome wasn't even there. Toyota "trucks" are for hauling a couple of bags of mulch home from Wal-Mart, or bringing a new deck ensemble home from Lowe's. They are not for real work, like hauling loaded hay wagons in from the field, or bringing a cord of oak out of the woods. For these kids who talk about how they drive their Toyota pickup so "hard", guys, using a garden hose to make a few inches of mud in Grandma's back yard and whipping a few Rockfords is NOT the same as going off-road.

7th Apr 2008, 17:21

10:56 Toyota can't be touched off road. Plain and simple. They're made for it. My Tacoma is stock. Try following me in a stock Ranger or (and this one is laughable) a GM 'Canyon' or whatever that thing is called. Your truck will break and mine won't. Because Toyota builds them right.

7th Apr 2008, 18:54

True 10:56.

I would also add that an afternoon of play off road is not the purpose of a truck. I know Toyota's do well off road just tearing around without any loads in or behind them, but so do dune buggies and dirt bikes.

We need to make the distinction a toy, even as in Toyota's case when such a toy happens to cosmetically resemble a truck, verses an actual truck built from heavy duty components capable of doing serious work.

Sure the Toyota might take you out exploring, and unlike a dune buggy, you can do so in air conditioned comfort and drive it on the road when you are finished.

But as 10:56 points out, if you want to pull a stump or drag back a section of timber while while you are out there, you will need a real truck - a domestic. You just cannot do those types of things with a Toyota.