2003 Toyota Tundra limited from North America - Comments

11th Feb 2007, 20:02

Toyota is having entirely too many problems in some very MAJOR areas (such as steering, brakes, sticking accelerators and non-deploying airbags). I'm afraid to trust a Tundra. I'll wait to see if there is any improvement in Toyota's rather spotty build quality before looking at another one.

5th Mar 2007, 05:09

I'm willing to bet that this truck was beaten badly in the mountains he mentioned. I've done enough off-roading to know the signs: front end alignment, ruined power steering pump, broken exhaust mounts!? (these don't just break), transfer case issues, squeaks and rattles... don't blame the truck. You're lucky you weren't driving a Ford or Chevy, or you probably wouldn't have gotten home, or most likely you wouldn't have gotten to wherever you were in the first place.

5th Mar 2007, 13:27

Wow...He sure is lucky read his problems with this vehicle on this review. I agree buy a new Chevrolet or Ford 2007 are great.

5th Mar 2007, 15:27

Well hello there! Assuming much are we? Remember, assuming makes an ass out of you and me!

So, wrong wrong and hey, wrong. This truck has only seen the off-road maybe four times, and all were on a routine camping trip. By off road I mean 100 yards down a dirt trail to a camp site. It's funny how you can make excuses so easily! "Ohh my, but it was ABUSED!!!" NOPE, no abuse here!

If you'd read, I stated clearly how much I maintained it.

5th Mar 2007, 15:57

Fine then, you weren't off-roading; but there have been a lot of bogus review here lately in this "domestic-import" dispute, or whatever word fits what's going on here.

I've NEVER heard of any Toyota truck having that many problems in its lifetime. TWO waterpumps and TWO sensors, in a 4 year old Toyota is unheard of, much less transmission AND transfer case troubles, as well as all the other stuff. Are you sure your truck doesn't have F-O-R-D on the front? Maybe somebody swapped emblems and you're actually driving an F-150, because if not, you have the worst Toyota truck I've ever heard of, and they RARELY have lemons.

5th Mar 2007, 16:45

Theres better choices... better performance, handling, cost to own, interior, room, carrying capacity and towing capacity,100,000 mile warranty standard instead of 36,000 miles. Get out of this trap and buy Motor Trends Vehicle of the Year, North American Truck of the year..2007 SILVERADO.. or a new F Series which has all these elements that a Tundra does not. Good luck... I found out on late model imports and refuse to be burned again.

6th Mar 2007, 12:08

Anyone who buys a Tundra without test driving the new Silverado or F-150 is not making a very wise decision. Even the new Tundra, which has copied many of the rugged F-150's structural features, is still a far cry from the unbeatable Ford and Chevy. Also, based on the mountains of major problems the old Tundras had, I'd expect even more in the 2007, as Toyota build quality continues to plummet.

7th Mar 2007, 15:25

The Tundra is worth the price of any two Chevy or Ford trucks on the road, as it will last twice as long, because it doesn't have a poorly built engine and drivetrain like all Fords and Chevy's do.

7th Mar 2007, 21:53

I've owed:

1 chevy, NEVER AGAIN!

1 Ford, That was a joke!

2 Toyota's. Best trucks I have ever owed!

1991 285,232 miles and still running and only changed tires, battery, and brakes!

2003 Tundra with 155,872 miles change tires and ball joint recall last year.

8th Mar 2007, 08:07

I agree, but its 2007...check out the latest quality issues. If I went again I would never sold my pre 2000 imports. They were more reliable and lasted. I switched to domestics this year. You will eventually become aware of this perhaps...

8th Mar 2007, 11:33

Man this review reminds me of my Tundra. I got rid of it almost a year ago and got me a F-150. Now the Tundra was a bit better on gas mileage, but the F-150 hasn't had any problems.

My brother has an old F-150 and it has over 320k miles on it. STILL original engine & transmission.

14th Mar 2007, 21:05

With all the Tundra's problems I'm sure you will NEVER see a Tundra with 320,000 miles on it unless someone has swapped the drive train for a Ford engine, transmission and rear end. Even at that, the defective body and front suspension will have disintegrated before 200,000 miles. One of our Fords went 325,000 miles with ZERO repairs except for a muffler, hoses and brake jobs. The engine and transmission were 100% original and untouched.

15th Mar 2007, 10:32

Boy, the %#@* just keeps getting deeper and deeper around here.

Toyota are well known for being reliable. Ford are known for being found on the road dead.

No need to go into all the mechanics of why this happens. You can put way more miles on a Toyota engine and drivetrain than you can a Ford, because the Ford is built much more cheaply and will wear out much sooner, which is why they sell for less. Common sense, really.

Yeah, there probably are a FEW exceptions somewhere in the country, but the well known rule is that Toyota runs longer. Every Ford owner that writes in says his Ford has 300,000 miles on it with no repairs. Baloney. Maybe you had a dream where your Ford went that far with no repairs, but not in reality. Maybe one Ford in 50,000 might do this. Most Toyotas will do this. Not Fords.

Don't be naive enough to think that you can buy a Ranger more cheaply than a Tacoma, and the Ranger will be as good a truck. Get serious.

22nd Mar 2007, 21:45

Well, looking at the Tundra and Camry reviews (and comments) makes you wonder if ANY of them ever make 100,000 miles, let alone 300,000.

I've never seen a Toyota with 300,000 miles on it, and if there are any, they must be VERY RARE.

I have seen Fords with over ONE MILLION miles on them with no engine rebuilds (in the "million mile club").

There will NEVER be a million mile Toyota... EVER. Japanese companies just don't build cars to last much more than 200,000 miles at most. After that even the sub-frame components start to fail from metal fatigue. That is why there are a number of American cars, several German cars, and several Swedish cars (Volvos) in the million mile club, but NO JAPANESE CARS.

23rd Mar 2007, 13:49

I have seen some rusted out smoking Toyota trucks in my travels.

1st Apr 2007, 11:39

Toyota made the million mile club a long time ago with a two wheel drive truck. Toyota did it in the first 20 or so years of their existence, and it only took Ford about 90 years to do the same thing.

The worst Toyota is better built than the best Ford. Ford's are garbage. They have the most recalls, the most FIRES, the most engine failures, and the most trips to the service shop of any manufacturer.

Ford is the laughing stock of the automotive community. 'Ford tough' is the best joke I can think of.

16th Aug 2007, 22:10

Yes, you pay less for a Ford because they don't let their prices get driven up by hype. The Japanese think they deserve an extra 10,000 dollars just because of the emblem on the front of the vehicle.

By the way, I drive a "rare" F-150 with 290,000 miles on it as of today. Original 4.2L V6, transmission changed @ 220,000 miles. Has been treated like crap by myself and my co-workers. They're tanks. Frame does not flex, squeak, or anything else. Been used to haul thousand pound loads numerous times over the past 6 years. Gets 200+ miles added to the odometer daily. Still can burn tires on take-off if desired. Starting the engine is never a question or a worry; it fires up, fires up, and fires up again. The engine gets turned on and shut off at least 30 or more times a day as I make my deliveries, and never lets me down; never worries me. Still has all of the low-end torque I'll ever need. Still gets 20 miles to the gallon. Still provides my company with endless service. Yep, these F-150's are just soooooo awful. LOL!