2007 Toyota Yaris Reviews - Page 4 of 8

2007 Toyota Yaris 3 door 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.5 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance39000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

You get more than you pay for

Faults:

There is not a single thing that has failed or needed adjustment on my Yaris in its first 39k miles. There has not even been a need to adjust a belt or add oil.

General Comments:

The Yaris is the most economical real car to operate.

I bought it knowing when I would sell it. Yaris is a fine tool for exactly what it does.

Toyota should be strutting with pride for producing such a nice car for such little money. It's fantastic value.

Is the Yaris as nice a design as my 1990 Civic DX? No. But it's 3 grand less money, uses 10% less fuel, and goes a lot faster.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2008

2007 Toyota Yaris Sedan from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles

Summary:

Fine deal for the price

Faults:

The car is so light that it is horrid in the snow. It's all over the road. Drivers should put sand bags in the trunk to gain better traction.

The car locks up easily.

General Comments:

Great on gas.

The front cup holders are right in front of the heat vents. Very poor design.

The seats are semi-comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st May, 2008

16th Jun 2008, 15:45

I picked up my Yaris sedan in May 08... after just a little over a month now... I'm quite happy and have put just over 4000 kilometres. Great on gas... get over 600kms to a tank (40litres)

13th Jan 2009, 12:04

Putting sandbags or weight of any kind in the trunk of a front wheel drive car makes no sense; you need the traction in the front not the rear. If it were rear wheel drive that's a different story..

18th Dec 2010, 05:32

The cup holders are in front of the vents to keep your drink warm / cold - great design!

2007 Toyota Yaris Hatchback 1.5 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Fun on wheels

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This is a great car; very zippy and fun to drive. It's gotten a little scary a couple times when I was going way too fast around curves; the car doesn't handle that well, but of course it's not made to either.

I have a lot of storage compartments in this car.

I guess the one thing I don't like about the car is the instrument cluster being in the center; I thought I would get used to it, but I haven't yet.

This is a really fun car to drive. I hope it's as good as the Tercel I had several years ago.

I would recommend this car to anyone wanting a frugal vehicle that's fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2008

2007 Toyota Yaris 3 door 1.5L Gasoline from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.5L Gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Great mileage, good comfort, poor reliability

Faults:

Transmission replacement at 28000 miles.

Drivers side CV axle rebuild at 30000 miles.

Drivers front wheel bearing replacement at 31000 miles.

General Comments:

This car was a great purchase until failures started at about 28000 miles.

Since then I have lost all respect for Toyota. I should have purchased another civic.

Transmission failure was a bearing in the differential.

CV axle failure was a boot failure which resulted in complete axle rebuild.

Wheel bearing failure was???

My point is that these failures were not a result of an accident or some other outside influence. failures seem to be unrelated and too often for my comfort.

The wheel bearing will be fixed tonight and I hope that the future failures of any kind will cease. if they do continue, I may trade off the car even though I will take a financial hit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th December, 2007

24th May 2008, 22:29

I guess these things are why Yaris is on some "10 Worst Cars" lists. Next to be added to the list will most likely be the Tundra and Camry. The days of Toyota being a reliable vehicle are long past.

2nd Nov 2008, 23:26

10 worst car list? Where? You must have never had a toyota.. I'm an owner of two; a Corolla that is 17 and a 07 Yaris - best cars ever!

11th Nov 2008, 16:49

Toyota BRILLIANT... My Yaris is the best car I have ever had.

I choose Toyota, because, I have owned too many poorly built, and down right... NAFF cars.

My car has YET to let me down. Sorry don't agree.

Toyota HAVE always built great cars, reliable, durable, and above all, dependable.

7th Jan 2009, 01:18

My brother has Toyota Yaris 07 hatch for 2 years already. Car has 41k miles on it and no problems at all, just usual maintenance. I am going to buy that Yaris from him!

10th Feb 2009, 18:06

Should try another yaris. Probably a defect.

21st Feb 2009, 16:23

I would like to point out that the Yaris hatchback is made in France whereas the sedan is made in Japan. This may indicate a difference in quality between the two models.

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 28 reviews