2007 Toyota Yaris Reviews - Page 6 of 8

2007 Toyota Yaris from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Previous carToyota 2002 ford explorer

Faults:

None so far. gas mileage is awesome! although I ran out of gas twice since the gas light doesn't make noise and I'm just so used to never getting gas.

Speaker sucks and you can feel every bump on the road. other than that it's great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2007

2007 Toyota Yaris LE 1.5L 105 hp from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.5L 105 hp Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance200 kilometres
Previous carGMC Jimmy

Summary:

Awesome

Faults:

There is nothing wrong with this car.

General Comments:

The Yaris is a wonderful car, reliable and with wonderful gas mileage who can complain. If you are considering this car I would recommend it for sure.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2007

20th Jun 2007, 19:18

Canada. It is Wednesday, June 19th, 2007 and I am very close to buying a Yaris. I love the look and I think it is really cool that one can make a statement about climate change by driving a small car. I am downsizing from a Honda Accord to a Yaris and I have 3 teenage girls. We seem to fit in fine. Hopefully we won't regret the smaller size.

In Europe they all drive small cars so we are doing our bit for the environment. The side benefit is that it is economical! I know it is not normal to downsize like this. On my street the average homeowner owns 3 cars.

Cheers,

2007 Toyota Yaris from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Manual
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance6000 miles
Previous carHonda Element

Summary:

Just OK and expected better gas mileage

Faults:

Nice little in-town car, but I have not received the advertised 34-40 MPG. I get on average, 30.2 MPG. That's from just over 6,000 miles and meticulous records. I drive the Yaris like I did my previous car, a Honda Element, and I got an average 24 MPG with that car.

The Yaris corners nice and has an overdrive for acceleration, but not a freeway cruiser. Just a nice little in-town car.

I checked Kelly Bluebook re trade-in value and the value was $11,200, but a Hyundai dealer offered me $7,500 because he said that is what he could get the Yaris for at auction. Not sure if the Yaris is overpriced against the current field, the market, or Hyundai dealer is blowing smoke.

In any case, I would expect the mileage to be at least 35 MPG.

General Comments:

Appears overpriced against the rest of the field, and the gas mileage is not as advertised - 30 vs 34/40.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th June, 2007

8th Jun 2007, 11:51

I have the '07 yaris sedan automatic. I average 36mpg combined city and hwy. I have done 43mpg on hwy alone. check your tire pressure. I increased my tire pressure and got better gas mileage. I hope this helps.

8th Jun 2007, 17:21

Your gas mileage will get increasingly better as the engine breaks in a little bit. It takes a while. I don't know if they make one for that car, but if they do, get yourself a K@N air filter, it's a lifetime air filter that you clean about every 20,000 miles. It WILL increase your mileage and even your horsepower a little bit, as well as catching more dirt than a disposable air filter. I've bought them for each of my last 3 vehicles, and mileage went up 2-4 mpg every time. Also remember that running the a/c, if your car has it, decreases mileage, as does driving on the highway with the windows down. Try shifting a little sooner on flat ground and downhill. All of these things will make a big difference.

2007 Toyota Yaris from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Manual
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance5300 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

One of the best of the 'low-end' cars out there

Faults:

Nothing's gone wrong with it so far. I've had it about seven months.

General Comments:

Handles very well; and avoids feeling underpowered.

Really good fuel economy.

On the outside, it's smaller than most cars, yet on the inside seems at least as big as most others. Its small size makes parallel parking easy.

It's a little noisy at freeway speed, but not extremely so; city driving is normal.

While it's at the low end price-wise, it doesn't feel "cheap" at all. The hood, trunk, and doors all close with a solid, pleasing, "closed" sound. Toyota made the wise choice of making a lot of things standard and building them into the price (radio, A/C, etc) rather than optioning them out to make it seem like they were nickel-and-diming you for pretty standard stuff. My previous car was a small pickup, in which the rear bumper was an option; I mean, come on!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2007

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 28 reviews