1995 Vauxhall Astra Reviews - Page 9 of 10

1995 Vauxhall Astra Sport 1.8 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carFiat Uno

Summary:

Have the mods done and it is an absolute flying machine that will say goodbye to turbo cars all day

Faults:

The only real fault I have experienced is poor idling... which the dealer where I live says is normal for the Sport model... Other than that I have had performance camshafts put in as well as a Superflow head and K&N air filter.

Now the car is super responsive.

I also have had a Magnex exhaust put on.

General Comments:

I urge anybody who owns one to have the modifications done that I have because you would seriously not believe the difference in power and torque, not to mention sound.

It used to do 120mph before, but will nearly do that in 4th gear.

It is like comparing the pull from an Escort 1.3 and a turbo... it really makes that much difference.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2001

5th Apr 2001, 09:00

When you said it will pull away from Turbo cars, did you include the Cavalier Turbo or Fiat Coupe 16v/20v Turbo in your list? You said your Astra will do 120mph in 4th, the Cavalier Turbo will do 135mph in 4th, 147mph in 5th and then there's a nice 6th gear to really top things off, by which time your little Astra with its 'mods' will have blown up. If you meant Turbo cars such as RS Turbo's and Fiestas, then fair enough though.

24th Oct 2001, 12:27

My 1.8 sport also has idle variations, did the K&N help? Did you fit an element or induction kit, the difference is £35 and did the K&N make much of a difference?

Love the car. Had a Cav V6 before and the Astra accelerates quicker!

28th Sep 2002, 06:29

Hi! I recently bought a sport 1.8 16v and want to put a decent exhaust on it! Any suggestions are gratefully received! As to 120mph I have had 130 clock reading at 5500rpm in fifth! I am very happy with my sport, but have got used to the poke and want a bit more! cheers.

1995 Vauxhall Astra Sport 1.8 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carPeugeot GTi

Summary:

A great car that's all round fun, just put your foot down and see for yourself!!

Faults:

Wrong leads when bought.

Stalling problem, fixed by an engine flush.

General Comments:

Leads changed by the garage at no cost.

Great acceleration.

Light handling.

Extremely comfortable drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2001

1995 Vauxhall Astra GLS 1.6i 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6i 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Belmont

Summary:

I'd definitely have another one!

Faults:

Nothing!!!

General Comments:

A very comfortable and economical car. Performance from the 1.6i 16v Ecotec engine is very brisk, just over 10 seconds to 60mph.

Handling could be better though, tramlining and wheelspin a problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 2001

1995 Vauxhall Astra Merit 1.4i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4i Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carCitroen AX

Summary:

A good value family car, you can't do better

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This car is good value for money.

Has silky acceleration.

Smooth gear change.

Smooth power steering.

Good MPG.

Good safety with air bags, side impact bars and seat belt tensioners.

A very easy car to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2001

1995 Vauxhall Astra Sport 1.8 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance44000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Faults:

I bought the car in August last year and so far (touch wood) I've had no problems. Although the onboard computer insists on telling me I need to check the coolant level, but apart from that it's been a enjoyable experience owning and driving an Astra Sport.

General Comments:

One thing about the performance of the 1.8 16v, over 3.5 x1000 revs the car is very responsive, but below that it seems to lack a bit of lustre and is a bit non descript.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2001

24th May 2001, 02:22

The coolant level indicator is in the header tank screw on cap - it corrodes away apparently - I'd think it's about £30ish quid from Vauxhall.

1995 Vauxhall Astra GLS Estate 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance39000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

A boring and unreliable load carrier

Faults:

I've had to use the breakdown service 4 times in 5 years!

Cam belt broke at 25,000 miles, completely destroying the engine. Although outside warranty, replaced free of charge by Vauxhall (quite right too).

Alternator belt auto-tensioner failed 6 months later. Vauxhall/dealer finally agreed to pay for it, as it was on a virtually new engine.

Exhaust gas recirculation valve and inlet manifold gasket failed (simultaneously?!) at 35,000 miles.

Brakes completely failed at 38,000 miles when the master cylinder broke. Thankfully my wife and kids weren't injured (or worse).

On light throttle the car "kangaroos" at least once on every journey. No dealer has ever been able to fix this.

One of the front indicators leaks water into behind the lens.

The wind screen washer pump casing has just split so all the liquid in the washer bottle leaks out.

General Comments:

I will never buy another Vauxhall again.

Although the design is reasonably good, and load-carrying excellent, it's just been so unreliable.

It's also so boring to drive.

Pickup on the engine below 3000rpm is so slow it can be dangerous when pulling out of junctions.

It's main plus point is that we can fit it up our narrow drive!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th January, 2001

9th Nov 2004, 12:33

I have the same problem with the kangarooing.

I think this is a common Vauxhall problem. I have an Astra GLS 16v. My previous Cavalier used to do it aswell.

Another annoying Vauxhall trait is the Squeaking clutch. A dealer told me it is a thing that Vauxhalls do.

Think we will go for a focus next.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 35 reviews