1995 Vauxhall Cavalier Reviews - Page 3 of 9

1995 Vauxhall Cavalier lsi 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance155000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

An all round great car

Faults:

I can honestly say that nothing except for the down-pipe manifold keep coming loose. has gone wrong with the car in the 2 years that I have owned it.

General Comments:

The Cavalier is an all round quick and reliable car to own. The one thing I would recommend too any body that drives them hard is to up-rate the supension.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2005

1995 Vauxhall Cavalier 2.0 sri redtop from UK and Ireland

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 sri redtop Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Very fast, comfortable, cheap car

Faults:

Had to replace camshaft censor.

Had to replace crankshaft.

New Shocks.

Main brain blew up, hard to find new one, cost £500 for a new one off a crashed cavalier.

General Comments:

Very fast car.

0-60 in 8 seconds.

Good handling, but tends to under steer at fast, hard bends.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2005

7th Nov 2005, 20:21

Another overblown claim, try adding another 10 seconds or so.

4th Apr 2006, 17:58

If it's a 2L redtop then I wouldn't be surprised if it would do 60 in less than 8 seconds.

1995 Vauxhall Cavalier SRi 2.0 16v ecotec from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v ecotec Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired61000 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

A decent car - quick, reliable and good value

Faults:

Mostly wear and tear, but a few other minor faults as well:

Exhaust and heat shield had to be replaced had to be replaced shortly after the car was purchased.

Suspension bushes had to be replaced.

Brake pad warning light keeps coming on as the sensor has broken (I just ignore it tho as I know my brakes work!)

Sometimes suffers from rattly tappets for the first few seconds on cold starts (A common Ecotec / Red Top problem).

Driver's door lock broke.

General Comments:

Performance is very good considering the weight of the car, if you keep the revs up. 0-60 takes around 8 seconds so it's quicker than its closest rivals and it should top 130mph. The engine sounds really good, but the close ratio gear box could do with a 6th gear for quieter motorway cruising.

Ride and handling is quite good, but there's quite a lot of body roll and understeer when it's pushed really hard. The sports seats are very comfortable and supportive.

Build quality is very good and the whole car feels very solid - better than the Vectra B and Mondeo in my opinion.

Economy isn't too bad - it averages about 30mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th December, 2004

1995 Vauxhall Cavalier SRi 16v 2.0 Eco-tech from UK and Ireland

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Eco-tech Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Quick, comfy, and reliable

Faults:

The Cam speed sensor failed causing engine management light to pop up.

The I.A.L. valve went - caused erratic idling.

Keeps pulling to left especially when flooring it. Had tracking checked and brake callipers checked, but still pulling.

A few flat spots since I started modifying it.

The clutch has a very annoying squeak each time you use it.

General Comments:

Looks nice, in dark met. green with skirts and alloys.

Fairly quick with the short ratio gearbox, beats 2.0 Ford Mondeo and the TD-Ci variants with ease.

Quicker than it's replacement Sri, and looks much more sportier than Vauxhall Vectra.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th December, 2004

1995 Vauxhall Cavalier SRi 16v 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carNissan Primera

Summary:

Fast, but unreliable engine!

Faults:

Engine keeps stalling when at idle, sometimes engine will auto rev up to 2200 revs and eventually stall.

Coolant expansion tank seems to be leaking from the top, even though the lid is on tight, and I heard a bubbling noise coming from it after a fast run.

Something leaking - may be coolant tank.

Electric aerial bit weird, as it does it job, but when you swith the stereo off, and the aerial goes down, you can hear the motor still running from inside the unit!

General Comments:

It looks really sporty with the 15" alloys and body colour side skirts.

Had mine lowered 30mm all round, and handles brilliantly.

Can anyone tell me what needs sorting (engine wise) to sort out the stalling, and it does feel a bit hesitant sometimes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd August, 2004

30th Aug 2004, 02:17

Needs a new idle control valve, quite common, vauxhall charge £130+vat Leicester motor factors about £69+vat, they have a website.

27th Nov 2004, 14:23

We had a great cavalier which we sold in January 2003. Towards the end of the ownership, we experienced the same aerial problem you stated in your review. In the end it rectified itself.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 50 reviews