1995 Vauxhall Cavalier Reviews - Page 5 of 9

1995 Vauxhall Cavalier GLS 1.7 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.7 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

An economical, sturdy, reliable car

Faults:

Tappets in starter motor

Suspension bushels.

General Comments:

A lot of car for the money, the Cavalier has proved to be both steadfastly reliable & a pleasure to own. It is remarkably powerful for the size of engine, and is extremely reliable. This car averages up to 50 miles on one gallon of diesel, where a similarly powerful petrol car of the size would struggle to make 35. The Cavalier is comforatable to drive and amply equiped. It shows all the signs that it will run forever!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2004

1995 Vauxhall Cavalier GLSi 1.8i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

An economical, smooth, reliable bargain, that runs forever

Faults:

Drivers Door Lock has broken

Water Pipe split at 175000

2 Roll Bar Links at 174000

Track Rod End at 175000

Exhaust Blowing

Water entering cylinder somewhere - have not sorted this as it is not desperate.

General Comments:

The car is a pleasure to drive. It starts first time and has never let me down. It has done high miles, I admit, but I paid £520 for it and will be prepared to spend £150 to keep it going. A few little faults need to be sorted then the car will be like new. The engine is superb, quite remarkable how well it runs for the miles. Bodywork is superb, kept polished it looks showroom condition. The interior is mint, all electrics function as new and it is spotless. The car is hoovered weekly and is a credit to the cavalier to look at inside and out. The equipment level is good - electric windows and heated mirrors, Power steering, sunroof, central locking and temp display. I have had a cavalier previously and this one has been just as good.

I'm 17 and having a Cavalier as a first car is quite unheard of, but I do get comments about it being a lovely looking car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2003

10th Feb 2004, 11:59

Having had a Cavalier as a first car when I was 17, I agree with you wholeheartedly. For most people it's an ideal first car.

Shame about the insurance though...

When I was 19, I swapped my Cavalier for a Vectra and haven't looked back since.

2nd Oct 2004, 14:16

When you said you had one before, what do you mean? as you later said your current one was your first cavalier.

25th Feb 2007, 04:29

This is probebly hes second cavalier I've just bought my first it looks and gos great well done vauxhall.

24th Nov 2009, 16:38

Vectra? Just a Cav with its soul ripped out. Harsher ride, uncomfortable seats, dreary slabs of dark plastic instead of the Cav's curves. Aside from that, a lot of my mates had mk2 Cavs as first cars. My mk3 was my second car. Insurance is cheap for the size of them.

1995 Vauxhall Cavalier LSi 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Nova

Summary:

Cheap reliable under rated car

Faults:

The water pump was leaking when I bought the car.

The inlet manifold gasket got brittle and started leaking at 90,000 miles.

The radiator expansion tank cracked at 90,500 miles.

General Comments:

The car has been very reliable on the whole and always starts first time no matter how cold or wet the weather is.

It is cheap to run and insure.

The car returns over 40 mpg on a long run.

I have no complaints with it and am very happy with the way it has behaved while I have owned it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2003

9th Feb 2004, 16:45

I just got a second hand Cavalier today, 1.8 Auto LS, and I've noticed that it seems a bit slow to pull away from a standing stop, also, the accelerator pedal seems a lot less sensitive than my old Nissan Bluebird.

Is this normal? Also, there's a 'Sports mode' on the gearbox, how do you switch it off?

Otherwise, so far I'm very happy with a well maintained, comfortable car. An M plate, 71000 for £850.

1995 Vauxhall Cavalier SRi 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired107000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

They don't make 'em like this anymore

Faults:

Fuel tank is leaking.

Engine developed mystery misfire.

Shocks were worn, but that's to be expected really, considering the mileage.

General Comments:

Car is really quick for its size. It will leave any similar modern day saloon for dead. It will keep up with most so called 'hot hatches'

Brakes are good with discs all round.

It handles really well now I've replaced worn shocks.

Parts are cheap and there are loads of cavaliers in breakers yards.

Boot is cavernous.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th September, 2003

16th Sep 2003, 12:26

I have too agree my Cavalier is still going strong. it's recent MOT was a breeze like everyone since ownership back in 1997.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 50 reviews