1995 Vauxhall Cavalier Reviews - Page 4 of 9

1995 Vauxhall Cavalier GLX 2.0 16v ecotec from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v ecotec Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Omega

Summary:

A good, cheap and tidy, work horse

Faults:

When I first brought it the right front spring was broken and the rear exhaust had blown an hole. both where replaced for just £50,cheap secondhand parts.

Now cam sensor has failed and the engine management light keeps coming on whenever it pleases sending the car into a wild frenzy of cutting out and loss of power, very head doing don't you agree fellow owners?

General Comments:

I don't mind vauxhall at all really because the parts are cheap and you can pick them up just about anywhere. the cavalier though aint too bad, but its looking too dated now I think. i would like to see adjustable steering in all the cavaliers too, (mine isn't).although I only payed £425 for mine and its genuine mileage at 47000,plus full service history and also 1 owner from new, so as you can see you can pick the up cheap too. If you are considering buying a vauxhall I would go for an Omega instead because of comfort and gadgets.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2004

1995 Vauxhall Cavalier LSi 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired146000 miles
Most recent distance193386 miles
Previous carFord Scorpio

Summary:

The most reliable car I've ever owned

Faults:

In nearly 50,000 miles driven this year had to replace the radiator just after buying the car, 2 sets front tyres and 2 sets front pads and 1 set at the rear that's all apart from oil and filter changes every 5000 miles!

General Comments:

Not a hot rod, but will hold 95 all day and totally reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2004

2nd Dec 2006, 11:06

I agree, I own a 1995 Cavalier 1.8 LS 5 dorr hatch in Glacier White, I have owned the car since 1998, it is in mint condition and is very clean a tidy, I use it every day and look forward too many years motoring.

1995 Vauxhall Cavalier Expression 1.8i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Great!!

Faults:

New brake pads and front tyres.

Camb Belt at 73,000 miles.

General Comments:

This is a great car, quick reliable and very comfortable. Lots of great extras such as Airbag, front electrics, central locking and alloy wheels.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th March, 2004

1995 Vauxhall Cavalier LSi 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired71000 miles
Most recent distance71048 miles
Previous carNissan Bluebird

Summary:

A decent car though not the fastest on the block

Faults:

The Exhaust was rattling, this was sorted due to a mismatched exhaust chamber.

The Hazard Lights are not working.

The Internal clock resets every time the doors are opened.

The internal light is not working.

I suspect the above three problems are all related to the electrics modules.

The gearbox appears to be stuck in 'Sports' mode.

The Thermostat has went resulting in smoke from the engine.

General Comments:

This car seems a bit slow to pull away from a standing start like a traffic lights set or at a roundabout, especially compared to my previous car.

The seats are very comfortable.

The bonnet release is in a very awkward place to reach.

Overall, the car seems well equipped, comfortable and fairly economical.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th February, 2004

21st Feb 2004, 14:17

Addendum, I am the owner of the above car, and the thermostat was not the problem.

The thermostat cut-in switch was the problem, this was the part that failed, meaning that the fan did not start when the engine was heating up.

This has now been sorted. The Sports settings on the gear box are still to be looked at, but if I pull away with the gears set at '1' on the auto box it is a lot nippier.

25th Feb 2004, 16:55

What did you do to sort out your overheating problem? I have a Cavalier with an overheating problem due to the fan cutting in to late. I am thinking of fitting a switch to the fan so I can bypass the thermostat?

26th Feb 2004, 11:58

Hi, what happened to me was the fan just was not working, the temperature gauge redlined and fortunately I was near a turn off point to stop the car.

The garage that inspected the car said that the switch that starts the fan when the temperature reaches a certain level wasn't working, hence the overheating.

The garage fit a new switch which cost me about £50, this could be your best bet.

25th Nov 2004, 06:53

Okay, a further update on this car.

It's just been for its MOT, now it only cost £850 and had done just about 72,000 miles which really isn't much for a car that age.

The MOT cost £400 to repair including replacement of the entire fuel tank, the brake pipes and numerous other parts. Some might say "You get that with an old car", but the previous Nissan Bluebird I had never was that bad and when I got rid of it it was 18 years old.

The temperature gauge STILL seems to climb rather rapidly, I've never known a car like it for overheating.

All in all, I'd be wary of buying another Cavalier and intend to get rid of this ASAP and look for a good Japanese motor.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 50 reviews