1995 Vauxhall Cavalier Reviews - Page 6 of 9

1995 Vauxhall Cavalier 1.7TD GLS 1.7TD from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.7TD Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

A cheap to run car

Faults:

Anti Roll Bar below engine £30.

General Comments:

This is a great cheap car, and very cheap to run. It would do 50mpg on the motorway and being a diesel was easy to drive.

I would recommend you get a Turbo Diesel rather than a plain Diesel.

If you want cheap transport with plenty of boot space the Cav is a great buy.

The GLS model came with electric front windows, ABS, electric/heated wing mirrors, manual sunroof, electric aerial, central locking and built in alarm, fog lights, alloy wheels, front & rear head restraints.

90mph @ 3000 rpm is a great motorway cruiser!

I would recommend it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2003

3rd Dec 2005, 09:54

I agree, mine has 167,000 miles on it and there is absolutely nothing wrong with it, average 48 mpg, should go onto at least 300,000 miles! These really are excellent cars.

13th Dec 2005, 04:05

I have a Vauxhall Cavalier LS 1.7TD with 167,000 miles on it and still going strong. The only thing it has needed it new disks in the last year as they warp. Still getting 50 MPG and performing even better after a addertive was added to the fuel and Slick 50 in the oil. This increased it's acceleration and MPG up to 55 MPG.

I'm so amazed how good thing old car is.

1995 Vauxhall Cavalier V6 Ceasaro 2.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carAcura NSX

Summary:

A dream to own, and race

Faults:

Nothing at all apart from the engine management light coming on this week and the ABS light now and again.

General Comments:

Star car, most reliable, cost effective big engined car I've had up to date.

Performance not to be sniffed at I've taken this car all over england and down to Madrid with one hiccup.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2003

1995 Vauxhall Cavalier GLS 2.5 V6 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

A top car for the money

Faults:

Handbrake cable in the first week...no problem. A few bulbs etc. No Major problems or bills for a year and a half.

Until now! Out of the blue the front of the wishbone of the front nearside collapsed and the car was uncontronable. Fortunately no other car or people were involved, but this could have killed me! The car is now an insurance right off - purely on the cost of insurance parts.

General Comments:

I am sad to write this. I really, really liked this car. It was main dealer maintained and I had planned on keeping it for three more years. The performance for the money is unbeatable and it works as a family car as well. Its great fun to blow BMW's out of the water with a family saloon costing a quarter of the price. Maybe I was unlucky...given a choice I would still be driving this car - but I would have uprated the suspension.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th February, 2003

12th Mar 2003, 16:53

A foot note to the review...it was my car! apparently if you have the wishbone bushes changed...as you will.. the bolts that secure the bushes can be overtightened by guys using air tools. I'm not sure how you can check this short of watching to see if a torque wrench is used. There does seem to be a history of this so watch this space.

1995 Vauxhall Cavalier LSi 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carFord Orion

Summary:

A very good reliable family car, with ample space for buggies and shopping trips

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong, only the front electric windows were rather sluggish, I found that cleaning the outer window rubber seal with household wax polish helped.

General Comments:

I found that the car was cheap to insure, If over the 25 age. and that the overall running costs are fine, which includes the running around town trips too.

The heater is very good too, sometimes too good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th January, 2003

1995 Vauxhall Cavalier LS 1.7 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.7 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired141125 miles
Most recent distance145520 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Very bad handling car

Faults:

Nothing major has gone wrong with the car so far, the only trouble I have had with it is the starter motor, the glow plugs and injectors.

General Comments:

The car is pretty nippy, but doesn`t really hold the road very well.

Even with the ABS, the car still skids, and if to much pressure is put on the break pedal the back of the car slides, causing you to lose control at a low speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2003

14th Jan 2003, 11:36

I would suggest that there may be a fault with your ABS.

I have a 1990 2.0i CD with ABS, but have never had the problems you mention.

I reckon that it would be possible to slide the back even if the ABS is working properly, if you turn at the same time as braking hard. ABS will stop the wheels locking, but won't prevent them sliding sideways. Hope this helps.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 50 reviews