2000 Volkswagen Beetle Reviews - Page 9 of 18

2000 Volkswagen Beetle GLX 1.8 turbo gasoline from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo gasoline Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance59000 miles
Previous carSubaru Impreza

Summary:

This car is a harsh ride, but the engine is magnificent, and the reliability has been excellent

Faults:

Headlight needed to be replaced at 50,000 miles.

Sway bar links were worn at around 50,000.

General Comments:

The engine is superb; quick acceleration with little turbo lag.

The handling is responsive, although there is some body lean.

The car is incredibly harsh over uneven pavement or bumps. The dealer says it is normal, but it feels like the shocks are shot, although their handling characteristics are still good. This makes the car a real chore in urban driving.

Hard interior pieces are loud over bumps, providing no sound dampening. The car has been extremely reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th September, 2005

1st Nov 2006, 00:27

I haven't experienced any of these problems. My 2000 Beetle handles great. One of the best handling cars I've ever owned.

2000 Volkswagen Beetle GLX 1.8t from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8t Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carChrysler Concorde

Summary:

Don't buy this car

Faults:

When I purchased the car I bought a warranty that I found out does not cover anything. I had the timing belt replaced within the first month of owning the car. Now less than a year later the timing belt broke and ruined my engine.

General Comments:

This car has been a fun car to drive. The power is awsome. I just wish VW was more reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th August, 2005

2000 Volkswagen Beetle GLS 1.8T from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8T Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.2 / 10
Distance when acquired300 miles
Previous carDodge Colt

Summary:

No more VW for me!

Faults:

Within first 6 months, gasket around rear spoiler controls cracked and entire rear interior was soaked in a rain storm, leading to replacement of hatch interior and rear seats.

Engine would cut out while driving and car would need to be turned off and restarted. Try doing that on the highway...

Horn had to be replaced.

Airbag light came on multiple times, requiring service.

Engine light came on multiple times, requiring service.

Paint flaked badly on exterior.

Gas port door/cable had to be repaired twice.

Gaskets around taillights cracked.

Underbody shields had to be replaced.

Hatch mechanism would repeatedly stick.

I'm sure there's more that I don't remember at the moment. The service guys and I were on first name basis.

General Comments:

With the recurring engine problems, this car was a serious safety risk. I am so glad this was only a lease and I was able to turn this lemon back in.

VW showed no concern for driver well-being and safety, and no commitment to customer safety or satisfaction. What a horrible experience this was. The dealerships (dealt with two) were reluctant at best to try and solve problems. The major problem, engine failure, never was fixed.

Outside all the problems, it could be fun to drive, but I will never own another VW product again.

I really feel sorry for whoever ended up with this car after my lease expired.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th May, 2005

16th May 2007, 16:33

I think I got your car and the maintenance continues.

15th Aug 2008, 15:35

My daughter must of ended up with that car. Although we still have it, as soon as we figure out why it doesn't want to run sometimes, it's good bye and hello to a GM car.

2000 Volkswagen Beetle GLX 1.8 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired41000 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carToyota Tacoma

Summary:

I likek the car, but has way too many problems

Faults:

This car has a lot of issue, the oil keeps leaking everytime the oil is changed.

Now the oil is leaking from the engine.

The airbag light has come on three times.

The car stalls going 75 down the freeway, then after a few seconds it comes back on.

They say I need the mas air flow changed, but the dealer won't fix it until the engine light comes on.

My window wouldn't roll back up and fell on the inside of the door, recall issue.

General Comments:

I would never buy another Volkswagen again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th May, 2005

27th Apr 2006, 14:46

I have had similar problems with my beetle. I love this car, but need something more reliable. The windows have fallen off the track, plastic door handles are peeling, window knobs have broken off and been replaced only to break again! Engine light comes on all the time, airbag light won't shut off, water pump had to be replaced earlier than expected, it stalls or won't turn on and then a few minutes later it starts up again... will never buy another VW again. This has been an awful experience. Nothing but a headache!

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 62 reviews