2001 Volkswagen Golf GTi 1.8T 1.8T from UK and Ireland


A very poorly built car with poor after service


I had 2 coils changed after 10000 miles, apparently this was a problem across the range, which also affected Skoda, Seat and Audi; all the 1.8T engines. The after that I have had 1 lambda sensor changed. 1 EGR Valve changed, Some parts on the injection were changed after a very strange whistling sound was coming from the turbo. Recently I have had 4 more coils changed after the car was misfiring badly once again.

General Comments:

This car is easily the worst I have ever had.

The reliability is 0, I have worked out that it breaks down every 3 months without fail.

I bought the car because I thought VW had a good name for reliability, but I am not sure what went wrong with this model.

It looks good and feels comfortable when it is working, but you really do not know what you are going to get when you start the car in the morning and that is not good enough for a car of this age and price.

VW customer service is horrendous, they simply do not care and they are very expensive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd March, 2004

25th Mar 2006, 22:41

I disagree with you. I have a Volkswagen Golf 1990 1.8.

Although I have had a few problems which is normal for an old car which has done a lot of mileage. It hasn't broken down. It is better than the cheap Japanese cars.e.g. KIA.

27th Mar 2006, 12:16

KIA is Korean, not Japanese.

27th Jun 2007, 15:30

I agree with every comment in here. I have a 2003 gti 1.8T I bought used. Upon doing so, I was given a receipt showing the new mass air flow sensor, new set of plug coils,and a replaced stock turbo.

Since then I have only put 5000 miles on it, and have had to replace the coils 3 times, the mass air flow sensor is going bad, and the bearings in my turbo are starting to grind.

This is truly the most unreliable car I've ever owned.

2001 Volkswagen Golf GL 2.0 from North America


If you are even thinking of buying this car...RUN!


Automatic Transmission failure- VW had to replaced the entire transmission at 64K due to the Large and Small Sun Gear Failing in the vehicle. Also, VW listed a recall on the Mass Air Flow sensor that I have sent for reimbursement for after my failed, but 3 months later have yet to receive my money back. Next, there was an automatic door lock failure that also had to be replaced out. If you thought I was done just wait for the water pump failure because VW places a "plastic" fan in their water pump that is designed to fail. The replacement part of course was made of metal, but you have to buy the entire water pump. The third break light also went out and this is a VW only part that will cost around $150. Would I buy one again? Never.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th February, 2004

2001 Volkswagen Golf GTi 1.8T 1.8 turbo from UK and Ireland


Overpriced, overrated, unreliable, rubbish


Problems started within a week of taking delivery. It was difficult to engage first or reverse gears. The dealer took 2 attempts to find that the gear linkage was mis-aligned.

A month later the engine started to misfire. Back to the dealers and the air flow unit was replaced.

Heavy oil consumption - normal said dealer

Another few weeks later one of the windows went down and refused to come back up. The motor was faulty. This was replaced along with the switch.

Then the sunroof switch broke leaving the roof stuck half open.

The brakes started to judder and the front discs and pads were replaced at 3000 miles. Eventually done under warranty after a major row with the service manager at the local dealers.

Everything was fine then for a couple of months and we thought that we had got over the teething problems until the first time the car was left out overnight in a rain storm. We found wet carpets on the passenger side. The door seal was replaced and the door re-fitted.

A week later one of the horns stopped working - another trip to the dealer and an hour wait while they fitted a new one.

Then the engine overheated on the motorway and we had to be towed home. Evidently there is a known problem with the water pump on this model.

Then a Lamda sensor went causing fuel consumption to drop below 20 mpg.

Engine management system packed in. Another tow home.

New EMS developed a stutter when hot. Replaced again.

Brake judder came back at 10000 miles. The dealer said we braked too hard!

We went to another dealer. Discs and pads replaced, but we had to pay for new pads (which were only half worn).

Another electric window switch broke and was replaced.

Another misfire developed. This time a coil pack and we spent three weeks driving a 1.2 Polo courtesy car waiting for new parts. The dealer showed us 5 more 1.8 Turbos also waiting for the same part. Another known design fault.

We had it back a week when another Lamda sensor went. Evidently another known design problem in the USA they have all been replaced under a recall.

Finally the turbo bearings went in a cloud of blue smoke. At this point I gave the car back as I was leaving my company car scheme.

General Comments:

This was one of the worst built cars I have ever seen. It looks good at first sight, but reliability was woeful.

It wasn't much fun to drive, OK on the motorway, but rolled and lurched around corners. Handled more like a Ford Transit than a GTI

A huge disappointment. I would never have another one of these.

Even worse was the treatment by the dealers who just don't care.

Customer service is terrible. Prices are too high and courtesy cars are almost impossible to get.

The whole experience made me feel like a valued customer - not

Bought a new shape Saab 9-3 which has been impeccable for reliability and goes round corners.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th February, 2004

31st Jan 2008, 23:04

I had half of the problems, but exactly the same as him. Even the leak at the passenger door. Always my carpet soaked after rain and I complain with my girlfriend. Poor of her. I have a 1.8t golf 2001. Unhappy!

15th Oct 2008, 21:59

75% of this problem, I had in my 2002 GTI 1.8T. Early January of last year my GTI "jumped" as a result, I had to replaced a whole bunch of parts ie, coil packs, valves, timing belt, turbo to name a few (cost me $5K). Then last month, the head gasket blew, cost me $2K. Don't know why I still have this vehicle but one thig for sure: will not get this type of car or anything similar for a very long time.