2006 Volkswagen Jetta Reviews - Page 6 of 13

2006 Volkswagen Jetta 2.0T from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0T Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance6000 miles
Previous carNissan D21 Pickup

Summary:

Expensive to own and very unreliable

Faults:

Check engine light comes on repeatedly for various reasons. Dealer is no help. Spent several thousand dollars in repairs already.

Headliner peeling.

Plastic interior trim parts wear quickly.

Radio station presets reset when starting car.

Trunk lid would not close.

General Comments:

Would not consider another Jetta or VW. Expensive to own and very unreliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th August, 2009

31st Aug 2009, 08:31

Umm, how can it be very unreliable when it hasn't broken down yet?

2nd Nov 2009, 20:16

Gee, you don't thing the several thousand dollars worth of repairs might lead someone to think their car is unreliable? Volkswagen owners have really swallowed the marketing lines if they think they bought great cars. They are rolling money pits!

26th Mar 2010, 23:36

Just bought a 2006 Jetta 2.0 turbo 2 months ago. Traded in a 2008 Honda Accord. The Jetta has much more power better gas mileage, and has many more options. This is the fastest European car I have ever driven, this 2.0 turbo is a beast, drive one and you will be hooked.

The workmanship could be better, the Honda's and other European cars feel more better built. But for fun and speed, the Jetta is one to try.

Buy a used one, the new prices are too much for what you get.

2006 Volkswagen Jetta from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance130000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Worst car I've ever owned

Faults:

Replaced the clutch 3 times, the first time within a month of having the NEW car.

Transmission blew twice.

General Comments:

No reliability, horrible service, will never buy another VW.

Awful experience overall.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st August, 2009

2nd Jun 2010, 14:16

I will not buy another VW again... such a cute car and fun to drive, but really is disappointing.

I recently spent three thousand dollars at the dealership for a problem that was already fixed about a year later supposedly for 1,200 dollars... so upsetting. No customer service... I really would not mind all the expensive repairs if I could just trust the dealerships that work on them, they just don't care. Wow. I have owned two Honda cars, Accord and Civic and always had good luck with them.

I love the look of the Jettas, but they're not worth all the expensive repairs. Please Volkswagen, you can do better, you have a great looking product, but just do better with the customer service.

2006 Volkswagen Jetta TDI turbo diesel from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles

Summary:

Awesome!

Faults:

Electric seat harness, but covered under warranty.

General Comments:

This has by far been the best car we have ever owned. TDI is the way to go. But you people that are on the fence about buying one, you have got to remember that you are buying a import, something that is different from others. The look, the feel in the seats, and tjust plain a tighter car. We average 45mpg on highway!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2009

2006 Volkswagen Jetta 2.0 turbo from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Most recent distance32000 kilometres
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Awesome power and fun to drive!!!

Faults:

Squeaky front shocks at 5000 km, covered by warranty.

General Comments:

The car is really fast and handles really well.

The only "negative" thing I got to say is that it's too thirsty (and it's Premium also). I get about 450km per full tank driving normal, and 350 km per tank driving fast, but I still LOVE it!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2009

2006 Volkswagen Jetta TDI from North America

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

I'm not happy!

Faults:

I purchased my 2006 Jetta TDI in 2006. I have had every required maintenance/service performed on my vehicle.

I just completed the 80K mile tune up, which cost me $1,600 US dollars. 3 weeks later my clutch went out. It took 3 weeks of my repair shop ordering parts to find out that the 2006 Jetta TDI already has an upgraded clutch kit. Which to me indicates there are serious malfunction issues with clutches that were installed on 2006 TDI's.

I am looking for other owners that have experienced similar problems. Otherwise why would there be an upgrade for a clutch kit on a 2 year old car?? Advice anyone?? I am curious to know how many other owners are in the same boat as me.

General Comments:

I am happy with my car's fuel efficiency, however the repair costs are fast becoming insurmountable! Help!!

You can email me at wendyosborne70@yahoo.com

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th September, 2008

16th Oct 2008, 17:36

I am driving an '06 Jetta TDI which I had modified to 133 Hp /237 lbs/ft torque, and my clutch is giving me problems after 80,000 miles as well.

I also blew out the turbo hose on the pressure side :) That took 5 weeks for a part to arrive via boat.

Due to all my abusive driving... (we were just recently regulated to cap it at 92 mph... the OPP takes away our cars in Ontario after that speed.. LOL) I have also noticed that the VW wastegates gum up with our inferior North American diesel fuel.. $2000 fix because you have to replace the turbo to fix the wastegate..

My advice (after driving 2 Jetta TDIs 500,000 km since 2001... drive it to 100,000 kms and then sell it and get a new one... otherwise... just expect some annoying fixes..

I hope the new ones are better sorted..

Chris.

I ordered a new TDI wagon 140 HP that I plan on boosting to 175 HP... we'll see if that is any better..

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 46 reviews