2006 Volkswagen Jetta Reviews - Page 5 of 13

2006 Volkswagen Jetta 2.5 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.5 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance79500 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Very poorly manufactured

Faults:

Transmission failed at only 3000 miles.

Headliner peeling.

Have had to replace numerous bulbs (more than normal).

Dash coating peeling off.

General Comments:

While on a trip several hundred miles from home, the transmission locked into 3rd gear. It was replaced with a refurbished transmission.

The headliner began peeling, and the service manager said VW has had several problems with this model and problem. He said VW used substandard glue. VW will not repair the problem.

I have had to replace several headlights, turnlights and interior lights.

The black coating on the stereo, dash and arm rest near the controls is peeling off, displaying the white plastic beneath the black coating.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th January, 2010

2006 Volkswagen Jetta TDI 1.9 turbo diesel from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance188000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Was a good car, but not by another one!

Faults:

Camshaft, lifters, lobes failure. This is common at around 100,000 miles (160,000km) for the "BRM" engine code. Issues with the dual Mass fly-wheel. This is also common. A diesel engine should last more than a gas, and this is not the case for the 2004-2006 TDI's. Reviewing the web has shown this is a VW defect, and VW is not helping its customers.

General Comments:

This car is fun to drive on long trips, 1000km per fuel tank. Very good fit and finish.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd January, 2010

2006 Volkswagen Jetta TDI 1.9 turbo diesel from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Fun to drive, but slowly falling apart

Faults:

The buttons on the radio started to peel. Fortunately my mileage was low and the radio was replaced under warranty. Dealership stated that the radio buttons peeling is a very common problem.

The fabric on the headliner started to separate and fall (currently in the shop getting the headliner replaced under warranty). The dealership also stated the falling headliner is a very common problem, you would think after so many years of building cars they would have figured out what type of glue to use!

The hose that supplies wiper washer fluid to the nozzles broke near the hood hinge. The hose is strained when the hood is opened, the broken hose is another common problem according to the dealership.

All of the above started to happen after 3 years and 36,000 miles. I had to replace the original tires after about 25,000 miles.

General Comments:

I purchased the car new, and having been driving it for about three years. I purchased it for the great mileage. I find it fun to drive and the city and purrs right along on the highway. I am averaging about 37 mpg in the city.

So far no major mechanical problems, but some of the cosmetic items are starting to fall apart (thankfully still under warranty or they would have been expensive to fix). With some very basic items starting to fall apart on the car, I am a little nervous about what to the future will bring. My previous car was a Honda Accord and I put about 250,000 miles on it with no major mechanical or cosmetic problems. If asked right now, I would switch back to a Honda.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th December, 2009

9th Dec 2009, 12:18

Many car makers are now using "environmentally-friendly" glue. Very common now on SAABs, Volvos, and older BMWs. Not surprising if the Japanese start using these too. Your 250,000 mile car is a totally different animal built in a different way in a different time. Not the same Honda as today.

2006 Volkswagen Jetta TDI 1.9 turbo diesel from North America

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Most recent distance84000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

VW quality and good service

Faults:

My electronic compass kept disappearing, lucky it was when it was still on warranty. Happened 3 separate times. My latest issue has been when the vent is on, it fogs up. I am forced to drive with my AC on at all times to mitigate the issue.

General Comments:

Overall we have been happy with the car. We drive it 105 kms per day round trip to work and are getting about 51 MPG, a little less now that I have to have the A/C on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2009

2006 Volkswagen Jetta TDI 1.9 turbo diesel from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carFord Bronco

Summary:

Not what you would think of as 'German Engineering'

Faults:

Electrical malfunction with door and trunk sensors.

Windshield leaks.

Clutch worn out at 55000.

Suspension out on front drivers side.

What I believe to be a blown head gasket at 62000.

Throughout the life of the car, the interior design (the plastic and fake leather) is slowly falling apart. Stereo knobs falling off, middle console door broke and various other minor things.

General Comments:

It is a cool looking and semi-fun car (it's a sedan, not too sporty) to drive, but it has been terribly unreliable, and it seems with every mile I drive it, more problems and issues are occurring.

I have right now what I believe to be a blown head gasket. I'm not too knowledgeable in the mechanical field, but from what I have learned from what I have read online and talked about with friends, there was nothing that could have prevented this. I guess you can be the judge of what happened to it me (I drive like a grandma) or the VW factory in Mexico. Same kind of thing with the clutch. Just after the car was out of warranty, the clutch went out. There was a service order on a part in the clutch that would have fixed the problem, but that was only for cars in warranty. It seems VW just wants you to buy a new car every time something happened.

I plan on spending about $2000 to fix this current problem (head gasket) and getting rid of the car. I would like to drive it more, but I have an itch that something else is on the brink of disaster with this car. This car has spent the last 9 of 12 months in the shop getting diagnosed and repaired. It also seems others are displeased with VW. Just look at the ratings Ford and Chevy are getting compared to VW.

Also, there are not many shops that have the correct oil or equipment to properly service the car, which makes it almost mandatory to take it to the dealership.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th September, 2009

4th Sep 2009, 21:02

A clutch will not wear out until about 120,000 miles on ANY car if it is driven properly.

29th Sep 2009, 18:49

I've got to disagree with the previous poster. There are numerous complaints on this site regarding short-lived clutches, and not just on VWs. Hyundais, Mazdas and others have worn out in as little as 25,000 miles! There are poor clutches out there driven by people who regularly get 100-200,000 out of a clutch. You CAN'T always blame the driver!

13th Oct 2009, 18:59

I have a 1997 Passat TDI. I rebuilt the clutch on it at about 180K miles. It was the original clutch and it was still 75% good. The only reason I change it was that the synchros went out on the trans, so I had to pull it. So I figured I might as well change the clutch at the same time.

Unfortunately, the trans does not appear to be as durable as the clutch and engine. These are definitely the best attributes of the TDI. The 1997 TDI's were all built in Germany, and I have to agree that the VW does not meet the myth of German Engineering.

15th Dec 2010, 14:34

Known Issues:

Dual mass flywheel failure (manual transmission), single mass flywheel replacement is recommended.

TDI 2006 BRM Engine Issues:

- Camshaft unsuitable Fit-for-Merchantability (means - bad engineering, sold the car knowing it was faulty).

Cam and (8) followers (valve lifters) FAIL (puncture) Avg Costs: $2000 at a semi-OK dealership..!

- Codes/Loss of Power: due to cam lobes wearing out, not striking the valve followers.

Call VW of America and see if they CARE! (Chirpy "casemanager" will be glad to tell you: sounds like you need a new car (VW?) )

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 46 reviews