2006 Volkswagen Jetta TDI 1.9 turbo diesel from North America


Very cute and fast!


Not a thing yet.

General Comments:

The car is very nice.

I am very happy thus far..

I was curious if anyone knows is the 06 model has a timing belt or a chain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2005

14th Sep 2005, 19:26

I was in a hurry and made a mistake thanks for your input. I HAD a buick century and now own a 2006 JETTA TDI.

10th Oct 2005, 22:59

I believe all of the new body style (2005+) jettas have timing chains on them.

3rd Jan 2006, 16:25

Only the Jetta 2.5 have timing chain. The Tdi and 2.0T retain the timing belt.

4th Jan 2006, 08:03

The 2.0t still has a timing chain that connects the camshafts. And the 1.8t & 2.0t has an expensive timing chain tensioner, too.

2006 Volkswagen Jetta 1.9 turbo diesel from North America


A lot of car for the money!


Not a thing I Love it!

General Comments:

I would recommend the new Jetta.

I just bought the new 2006 and I am so very happy.

This is my first new car and I think we are going to be very happy for a Long time!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2005

13th Sep 2005, 10:58

Glad to hear you have had good luck so far... mine was nothing, but trouble, typical of German cars. I traded mine in on a Pontiac Sunfire and it is twice the car for less money!

13th Sep 2005, 22:20

Yeah, I am very happy with it. My Hubby is able to work on it of anything goes wrong after the warranty is gone. I have no worries. I live in West palm beach Florida and my dealer is fantastic. Sorry to hear you got a bad one. Sometimes its the luck of the draw. I had read somewhere on here that the 05's they went to a timing chain instead of a belt.. Is this true? We have the 06 model. If anyone knows that reads this I would be grateful for the info. Thanks for you input. Glad you are happy with your car!! :) I love mine so far :)

2006 Volkswagen Jetta New Body Style 2.5 5 cylinder 2.5 from North America


I still need to see how it's made



- Before leaving the dealership right after purchasing it, the "refrigerated" glove compartment and center-arm console ain't working.

- Every time the engine starts cold, it sounded like rattle inside the engine. When it warms up, then it's quite.

- Foot-well light not working.

- 205/55/16 wheels has that "not sturdy" feeling.

- Got a major recall of fuel pump clamp replacement.


- Six-disc CD/mp3-readable front load player.

- Large trunk space.

- More standard features compared to other cars.

- Standard safety features.

- Descent fuel consumption.

General Comments:

I never had these many issues with my other vehicles and I'm now wondering if I made the right decision getting a new jetta. It's still early to judge what it is made of, but I'm keeping my fingers crossed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th September, 2005

7th Sep 2005, 18:44

That "rattle" on startup is normal. It's been discussed on VW websites, and is a known sound that the 2.5L makes when starting up cold. It's nothing to worry about, and all of the new Jettas do it.

8th Sep 2005, 07:30

This sounds like a manufacturer cover-up. I wonder if the above post is from that phantom VW damage-control unit???

Any modern engine should not make noise under any conditions... unless something is wrong.

I hope VW can figure this out before the remaining hopes to rebuild their reputation are gone.

Oh well, enjoy your Jetta and let us know what breaks next!