2006 Volkswagen Jetta Reviews - Page 13 of 13

2006 Volkswagen Jetta TDI 1.9 turbo diesel from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired39 miles
Most recent distance350 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Buik Century

Summary:

Very cute and fast!

Faults:

Not a thing yet.

General Comments:

The car is very nice.

I am very happy thus far..

I was curious if anyone knows is the 06 model has a timing belt or a chain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2005

14th Sep 2005, 19:26

I was in a hurry and made a mistake thanks for your input. I HAD a buick century and now own a 2006 JETTA TDI.

10th Oct 2005, 22:59

I believe all of the new body style (2005+) jettas have timing chains on them.

3rd Jan 2006, 16:25

Only the Jetta 2.5 have timing chain. The Tdi and 2.0T retain the timing belt.

4th Jan 2006, 08:03

The 2.0t still has a timing chain that connects the camshafts. And the 1.8t & 2.0t has an expensive timing chain tensioner, too.

2006 Volkswagen Jetta 1.9 turbo diesel from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired39 miles
Most recent distance225 miles

Summary:

A lot of car for the money!

Faults:

Not a thing I Love it!

General Comments:

I would recommend the new Jetta.

I just bought the new 2006 and I am so very happy.

This is my first new car and I think we are going to be very happy for a Long time!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2005

13th Sep 2005, 10:58

Glad to hear you have had good luck so far... mine was nothing, but trouble, typical of German cars. I traded mine in on a Pontiac Sunfire and it is twice the car for less money!

13th Sep 2005, 22:20

Yeah, I am very happy with it. My Hubby is able to work on it of anything goes wrong after the warranty is gone. I have no worries. I live in West palm beach Florida and my dealer is fantastic. Sorry to hear you got a bad one. Sometimes its the luck of the draw. I had read somewhere on here that the 05's they went to a timing chain instead of a belt.. Is this true? We have the 06 model. If anyone knows that reads this I would be grateful for the info. Thanks for you input. Glad you are happy with your car!! :) I love mine so far :)

2006 Volkswagen Jetta New Body Style 2.5 5 cylinder 2.5 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5 cylinder 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance1200 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz C-Class

Summary:

I still need to see how it's made

Faults:

CONS:

- Before leaving the dealership right after purchasing it, the "refrigerated" glove compartment and center-arm console ain't working.

- Every time the engine starts cold, it sounded like rattle inside the engine. When it warms up, then it's quite.

- Foot-well light not working.

- 205/55/16 wheels has that "not sturdy" feeling.

- Got a major recall of fuel pump clamp replacement.

PRO:

- Six-disc CD/mp3-readable front load player.

- Large trunk space.

- More standard features compared to other cars.

- Standard safety features.

- Descent fuel consumption.

General Comments:

I never had these many issues with my other vehicles and I'm now wondering if I made the right decision getting a new jetta. It's still early to judge what it is made of, but I'm keeping my fingers crossed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th September, 2005

7th Sep 2005, 18:44

That "rattle" on startup is normal. It's been discussed on VW websites, and is a known sound that the 2.5L makes when starting up cold. It's nothing to worry about, and all of the new Jettas do it.

8th Sep 2005, 07:30

This sounds like a manufacturer cover-up. I wonder if the above post is from that phantom VW damage-control unit???

Any modern engine should not make noise under any conditions... unless something is wrong.

I hope VW can figure this out before the remaining hopes to rebuild their reputation are gone.

Oh well, enjoy your Jetta and let us know what breaks next!

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 46 reviews