2001 Volkswagen Polo Reviews - Page 6 of 6

2001 Volkswagen Polo 16V 1.4 16v from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired28 kilometres
Most recent distance3500 kilometres
Previous carHolden Barina

Summary:

Prestige motoring at a reasonable price

Faults:

There was a terrible squeak from the dashboard that was due to the Compact Disk player being ill-fitted. This was fixed with a comment of "Yes, we have the fix-up pack for that". Why weren't they checked? Other Polo cars in showroom had same problem.

General Comments:

Surprising performance for such a small engine.

Uses very little fuel.

Engine has a "growl" to it.

Interior quality is fantastic.

The car is rare here and distinctive.

Feels robust.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2002

23rd Apr 2006, 18:02

Thank you for your comments - I am in the process of purchasing a 2001 model Polo and I like to hear an insiders review of the car.

From what I have heard, it is a very reliable car and I am happy to say that thanks to this site I will purchase it!

Cheers.

Rae.

2001 Volkswagen Polo 16V 1.6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired8 kilometres
Most recent distance2800 kilometres
Previous carSubaru DL

Summary:

Outstanding value for money

Faults:

A small crack in the paint work between boot and bumper has appeared. No trouble for dealer to fix.

General Comments:

Handles beautifully.

Feels sporty.

Copes with Australian driving conditions very well.

Internal finish is excellent.

Unfortunately, it is difficult to obtain some accessories in Australia (bonnet protector).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2002

2001 Volkswagen Polo GTi 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance600 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Summary:

Fast, fun and value for money

Faults:

Engine temperature gauge stopped working after 3 weeks.

General Comments:

My dream car. Fast, looks good, very comfortable, reasonable boot, excellent brakes, excellent xenon gas headlights.

Dash looks brilliant lit up at night and best of all, it's masses of fun and I look forward to driving it each day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th August, 2001

28th Feb 2003, 06:19

Several Problems with the GTI, have driven one on several occasions, the gearbox is appalling, the fuel comsumption is bad even when you are cruising and the climate control turned off, the handling is average, engine needs to be really revved to get any decent progress, no steering feel/feedback.

Xenon headlights are good, climate control good, nice BBS alloys, nice space for front passengers, feels well screwed together.

Overpriced and insurance a joke, oh and servicing costs are stupid for such a small car.

2001 Volkswagen Polo SE 1.4 (75bhp) from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 (75bhp) Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance3500 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

A number of faults, some very serious, noting VW's claim of safety and reliability

Faults:

Engine keeps cutting out when driving.

Faulty alarm system.

Interior paneling came loose.

General Comments:

Very dangerous fault with the car which VW seem reluctant to address. It occurs in a number of circumstances including dual carriageways. Service department appears to guess at what is wrong. Problem brought to VW's attention 2 months ago. The fualt still occurs and little is being done to remedy the problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th May, 2001

5th Jul 2002, 04:31

I experience a problem with my 2001 Fabia 1.4, where the engine cuts out momentarily. Problem used to occur at high and low speeds. After the on board computer was swapped out, the problem still occurs, but less frequently, and only at low speeds, so far.

4th Feb 2003, 12:51

I have a Polo 1.4S (2000 W Reg) which also suffers from the 'engine cutting out' problem. It occurs when slowing down to take a roundabout of for traffic lights etc.

The VW service centre have said this is caused by a faulty speed sensor which they propose to replace for £182 but are they just guessing?

Has anyone had this problem successfully fixed?

27th May 2003, 05:06

Skoda mechanics tightened the earthing connections on my 2001 Fabia 1.4. This seemed to improve things.

2nd Mar 2006, 17:18

2001 Polo Match 1.4 35k

I bought the car from my dad about 12 months ago so, I know it's history

Everything was fine until mid February when I started to get a crunching noise as I was trying to engage reverse gear - this occurs almost every time, although sometimes I get a surprise when it goes in without a problem. I adjusted the clutch cable, this corrected the problem short term - sadly after 1 week we were back to crunching into reverse.

If I cut the engine it goes in fine - this is not the answer long term!

Has anybody had the same problem? and, if so, do you have suggestions for a way forward?

2001 Volkswagen Polo Classic 75 Comfortline 1.4 16v from Hungary

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired8 kilometres
Most recent distance0 kilometres

Summary:

Like in my dream

Faults:

First: Kuplung has a "cutting-metal sound" on SECOND day after I was take it home from the dealer.

Second: Automatic windows closer (lifter) wrong in the second week.

General Comments:

German car - Hungarian quality :-(

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th May, 2001

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 26 reviews