1988 Volvo 740 GL 2.0 from UK and Ireland


An ultra reliable workhorse


Front sidelight blew plus the fuse.

General Comments:

Not the fastest of cars, but is still very responsive for such a heavy vehicle.

It's fourteen years old now and there's not a spot of rust on it. The interior is also very well maintained, almost as new.

A very comfortable car to drive.

I'm only getting about 23 miles per gallon out of it at the moment, but I think that's partly due to the need for a service.

When parked next to my Fathers brand new V70 it puts the new models to shame. You can tell the REAL Volvo!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th April, 2002

13th Apr 2005, 14:19

I too used to be a proud owner of a 740 GLE -88. It truly is one of the best cars ever built, a genuine piece of motor history.

Volvo has continued building great cars, but without the personality that the 140-, 240- and 740-series consisted.

1988 Volvo 740 2.3 turbo from North America


Excellent value motoring. Buy a 10 year old and run it for another 10 years


Radiator at 200,000km.

Starter motor at 210,000 km.

Overdrive solenoid at 220,000 km.

Water pump at 230,000km.

Oxygen sensor at 275,000km.

General Comments:

Good, solid car with nice performance. Roomy (wagon) and comfortable. It's really too bad these rear wheelers are not made anymore.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th October, 2001

1988 Volvo 740 GL B230F from Sweden


A cheap reliable car with great seats


Replaced the water pump recently (never changed).

Changed the timing belt at 16000 km.

Changed the clutch at 14000 km (never changed).

General Comments:

This may be a boring car but it is reliable. The engine just runs and runs. The spare parts are cheap. The car is cheap to buy.

The seats are great and become even greater when R-Sport clothing is installed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2001

1988 Volvo 740 GL 4 cylinder from North America


A good buy if well maintained


When I purchased the car, I had the water pump and timing belt replaced.

I also had a larger radiator installed.

The A/C was leaking, but instead of repairing it, I had a non-freon system installed.

General Comments:

The car is comfortable and reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th June, 2001

15th Sep 2001, 13:34

You don't recommend this car, but you say it's reliable. I'm confused.

1988 Volvo 740 GLE 2.3 L from North America


Dependable and endearing - I love it


New brake rotors.

New strut rod bushings.

New timing belt (twice).

All new hoses.

New over-drive relay.

New flange yoke for transmission.


New water pump.

Resealed or rebuilt distributor.

New rack for rack and pinion steering.

Also, various interior plastic pieces have fallen off (ie - ceiling handles), the headliner is falling down, the power antenna doesn't work, the tape player is jammed, and the sun roof leaks.

General Comments:

I know I've listed a whole bunch of bad things about my car, but the truth is, it's a great car. It's only stranded me three times, and I put about 80-90 miles on it a day. It has a lot of miles and for the most part it still runs great. I'm hoping to get 300,000 miles out it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2001

19th May 2004, 11:05

There is no point in hopeing for your car to do that because it will do it and do it twice over,Volvo's eat up miles like petrol.

1988 Volvo 740 GLT 16V B234F from Sweden


A family car with 160hp


Power steering.

Gearbox worn out.

General Comments:

Fun engine, but the general impression is darkened by quality flaws in the bodywork.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st November, 2000

1988 Volvo 740 DL Estate 1989 from UK and Ireland


Excellent motor


Usual service items exhaust, tyres etc.

Fuel gauge & speedo.

Front running lights.

Niggling fault with the fuel injection system.

New front discs fitted.

General Comments:

I have had Volvos now for 20 years and wouldn't have anything else. Though I hope the acquisition by Ford doesn't make a difference.

Stay away from the little Volvos, they ain't Volvos as such. The only real Volvo is a big un!

Generally reliable, they go on forever but like all cars they do have niggling little faults.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th September, 2000

13th Jan 2004, 16:19

Well here we are 3 years later at 164000 miles and the car's still running like a dream, think I'll keep it until I retire! (then an 850 T5!!) Fixed the ignition problem which turned out to be the ignition module and the car's just had a new radiator, but at this age to be expected.

One or two jobs for the summer ie. the fuel gauge and the passenger auto window lift motor, but shouldn't take long.