1988 Volvo 740 Reviews - Page 8 of 11

1988 Volvo 740 GLE 2.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired149000 miles
Most recent distance169000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen GTI

Summary:

A geek-chic inexpensive workhorse

Faults:

As a novice mechanic, regular maintenance is pain free.

Sagging headliner and cracked turn signal lenses are common.

Brake pedal effort is often, too light.

Electrical problems with distributor, hall effect sensor, and fuel pump relay.

General Comments:

This car has a nearly bulletproof engine and transmission. Power and handling are excellent for a 4 door "family car." The leather seats have outstanding comfort and support. The only downfall is the electrical system; it can be difficult to find mechanics to work on a Volvo of this age.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th November, 2003

1988 Volvo 740 GL 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired118000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 106

Summary:

A high quality car that is very good value for money

Faults:

Head gasket needed replacing because of slight water leak down the side of the engine block.

Water pump needed replacing due to slight water leak.

Noisy fuel pump.

General Comments:

Although I was surprised that the head gasket went, the quality of the car is amazing. It is 15 years old and there is hardly a spot of rust anywhere. It looks like it should last for years to come. I thought I was mad paying £2400 for it 4 years ago, but it is the best value car I have ever bought. Using a good back-street Volvo mechanic has helped in keeping the cost of repairs low.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2003

1988 Volvo 740 GLE 2.3 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.3 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired174000 miles
Most recent distance176300 miles
Previous carChrysler LeBaron

Summary:

A purely whimsical automobile!!!

Faults:

Absolutely nothing. I only replaced the timing belt which is normal car maintenance.

General Comments:

Very reliable. On average these cars will last between 200000 and 400000 miles. Some have been known to go higher. Very comfortable leather interior. I Definitely have nothing to complain about and probably never will!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2003

15th Jun 2005, 11:50

Hi I have placed an advert on my Volvo 740 gle estate on hear a wile ago and my Volvo has now reached the 350,000 mark, but it is showing, but even tho it looks a bit tired its still fighting and won't give up I would expect another 50,000 out of her be4 she gives in as we purely use her as a work horse, but I'm sure she will reach the 400,000 mark be4 she gives up I'm sure your Volvo has years of live left in her yet!

1988 Volvo 740 GLE 2.3L B230F from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.3L B230F Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance178000 miles
Previous carVolvo 240

Summary:

Excellent, I'll keep it until the wheels fall off!

Faults:

My A/C leak at compressor at 168,000miles. Did repair myself for $330.00.

At 170,000 miles I replaced real main seal trans seals output bushing and drive shaft components and suspension rubber.

General Comments:

My first Volvo went to 490,000 mile with small repairs.

This 740 just keeps going.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2003

1988 Volvo 740 GL 2.3 petrol from Sweden

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired350000 kilometres
Most recent distance427000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 140

Summary:

Best car, ever made!

Faults:

Nearly nothing.

The parking-brake-wire has been replaced.

I recently replaced the front brakes. They had never been replaced before!

I had to fix the exhaust-system.

General Comments:

Probably the best car, ever made.

My father bought this car new, in 1988. So I know its whole history. After nearly 430000km, its still a very good car. And the problems have been very few, through the years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2003

1988 Volvo 740 GL Estate 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired174000 miles
Most recent distance177562 miles
Previous carCitroen Xantia

Summary:

A greatly underrated motor

Faults:

Oil leaks due to blocked breather.

Tailgate struts renewed.

Rear shocks renewed.

Injector seals renewed.

General Comments:

This is one solid comfortable motor.

Very roomy and has the best seats I have ever known in a car.

The downsides are, mediocre performance and a great liking for petrol.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2003

1988 Volvo 740 GLE Estate 2.3L petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.3L petrol Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired175000 miles
Most recent distance206000 miles
Previous carn/a n/a

Summary:

Nobody has ever made a better people mover

Faults:

A couple of minor things that I didn't notice when I bought it. These included drivers side heated seat and rear window wiper. I have since fixed the rear wiper (the motor just needed lubricating - I used motorbike chain lube).

The 'in gear' engine safety switch blew once which prevented the engine from starting even though not in drive. This cost 150 quid to fix.

The fuel pump also makes a lot of noise, but still works.

General Comments:

I bought this car (1,300GBP), with the intention of keeping it 6 months as I had just opted out of a company car scheme and was waiting for a new car on order. I was doing a lot of Do It Yourself also, so needed a big car.

It's been absolutely fantastic, very comfortable and extremely well made (more comfortable than my Merc SLK!). Even after 15 years there are no squeeks and rattles. I've done 31,000 miles and serviced it once myself. It does 500 miles a week at the moment and still cruises well at 85. I've been trying to run it into the ground for the last 18 months, but it just won't give up.

The only downside that goes with a car like this is the fuel economy, but then when you drive a 2 tonne brick at motorway speeds, it's not really surprising that it avg 25-28mpg.

The fuel tank is also a bit small for a car of this size

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2003

29th Oct 2005, 21:08

My '88 740 gle with 218000 just won't die. It's a 2nd car and was given to me with 135000 miles on the clock. I put 2500 dollars into it then...suspension, full tune, new used front seats and since then an alternator outside of normal maintenance. its the most comfortable car I've ever driven.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 47 reviews